Image result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Image result for email logo black and white

Mysterious Galaxy Book Discussion Group

adult book clubThe Mysterious Galaxy Book Discussion Group is a book club that reads a little bit of everything. They alternate between reading science fiction, fantasy, mystery, thrillers, and horror so there is something for everyone in this club and it is also a great way to discover and talk about books that might be outside of your normal genre. 

This club meets once a month on the third Wednesday at 7:00pm. Please bear in mind that with all the author events Mysterious Galaxy hosts we'll need to be a little flexible with this date. Make sure you check this page for updates on when the next meeting is and which book has been selected. Members will receive a 20% discount on each month's selected read.

How to Join:  Call us at 858.268.4747, email us at mgbooks [@] mystgalaxy (dot) com, or come on into the store and a bookseller will sign you up. 

Upcoming Meetings

Wednesday, April 17 - Discussing Station 11

 

 

The Utterly Uninteresting and Unadventurous Tales of Fred, the Vampire Accountant Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9780989649995
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Reuts Publications - August 12th, 2014

Some people are born boring. Some live boring. Some even die boring. Fred managed to do all three, and when he woke up as a vampire, he did so as a boring one. Timid, socially awkward, and plagued by self-esteem issues, Fred has never been the adventurous sort. One fateful night - different from the night he died, which was more inconvenient than fateful - Fred reconnects with an old friend at his high school reunion. This rekindled relationship sets off a chain of events thrusting him right into the chaos that is the parahuman world, a world with chipper zombies, truck driver wereponies, maniacal necromancers, ancient dragons, and now one undead accountant trying his best to "survive." Because even after it's over, life can still be a downright bloody mess.


Night Film: A Novel Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780812979787
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks - July 2014

A page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious death of a troubled prodigy--the daughter of an iconic, reclusive filmmaker.

On a damp October night, beautiful young Ashley Cordova is found dead in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Though her death is ruled a suicide, veteran investigative journalist Scott McGrath suspects otherwise. As he probes the strange circumstances surrounding Ashley's life and death, McGrath comes face-to-face with the legacy of her father: the legendary, reclusive cult-horror-film director Stanislas Cordova--a man who hasn't been seen in public for more than thirty years.

For McGrath, another death connected to this seemingly cursed family dynasty seems more than just a coincidence. Though much has been written about Cordova's dark and unsettling films, very little is known about the man himself.

Driven by revenge, curiosity, and a need for the truth, McGrath, with the aid of two strangers, is drawn deeper and deeper into Cordova's eerie, hypnotic world.

The last time he got close to exposing the director, McGrath lost his marriage and his career. This time he might lose even more.

Night Film, the gorgeously written, spellbinding new novel by the dazzlingly inventive Marisha Pessl, will hold you in suspense until you turn the final page.