Gregg Hurwitz signs in San Diego

Who is Orphan X? Dial 1.855.2.NOWHERE for a disturbing hint. Gregg Hurwitz’s peers praised the introduction of Evan Smoak, including Robert Crais; “This isn’t simply Hurwitz’s ‘best thriller yet’ or ‘a terrific new thriller’—Orphan X is an order-of-magnitude leap into stardom. It’s the most exciting thriller I’ve read since The Bourne Identity. Fans of Jack Reacher, Mitch Rapp, and Jason Bourne will LOVE Evan Smoak, and the deadly, secret world of the Orphan Program. A new thriller superstar is born!

Event date: 
Saturday, January 30, 2016 - 5:00pm
Event address: 
5943 Balboa Ave
Suite 100
San Diego, CA 92111
Orphan X (Evan Smoak) Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250067845
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - January 19th, 2016

The Nowhere Man is a legendary figure spoken about only in whispers. It's said that when he's reached by the truly desperate and deserving, the Nowhere Man can and will do anything to protect and save them.

But he's no legend.

Evan Smoak is a man with skills, resources, and a personal mission to help those with nowhere else to turn. He's also a man with a dangerous past. Chosen as a child, he was raised and trained as part of the off-the-books black box Orphan program, designed to create the perfect deniable intelligence assets---i.e. assassins. He was Orphan X. Evan broke with the program, using everything he learned to disappear.

Now, however, someone is on his tail. Someone with similar skills and training. Someone who knows Orphan X. Someone who is getting closer and closer. And will exploit Evan's weakness---his work as The Nowhere Man---to find him and eliminate him. 


Don't Look Back Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781250068316
Availability: Special Order
Published: St. Martin's Press - December 1st, 2015

Eve Hardaway, newly single mother of one, is on a trip she's long dreamed of-a rafting and hiking tour through the jungles and mountains of Oaxaca, Mexico. Eve wanders off the trail, coming upon a shack among the trees, where she spies a man throwing machetes at a human-shaped target. Disturbed by the sight, Eve rushes back to her group...only to stumble upon a broken digital camera, marked with the name Theresa Hamilton. Later that night, clicking through the photos, Eve discovers a snapshot of that same menacing-looking man in the woods. Th eresa Hamilton has since disappeared...


Staff Pick Logo
Tell No Lies Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781250051141
Availability: Special Order
Published: St. Martin's Press - July 1st, 2014

Daniel Brasher left a high-paying job as a money manager to marry his community-organizer wife and do the work he loves, leading group counseling sessions with recently paroled ex-cons. Now he's about to start a private practice. But just before his last day on the job, Daniel finds an envelope in his department mailbox one intended for someone else that was placed in his slot by accident. Inside it is an unsigned piece of paper, a note that says only "admit what you've done or you will bleed for it." along with a midnight deadline which has passed. And the person to whom the envelope was addressed was found brutally murdered.


Event Category: