Image result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Related image

Back to YA School in San Diego

In the tradition of Before I Fall and If I Stay, this tour de force from acclaimed author Adam Silvera, whose debut More Happy Than Not the New York Times called “profound,” reminds us that there’s no life without death, no love without loss—and that it’s possible to change your whole world in a day. Best-selling author Adam Silvera's background in bookselling includes working in the publishing industry as a children's bookseller, marketing assistant at a literary development company, and book reviewer of children's and young adult novels.
Laura Tims is a mental health advocate living in San Diego with a love for arts & crafts as well as her bunny, Noodle. Her first book, Please Don’t Tell, was a gripping debut YA novel with a dark narrative that delved into a complicated relationship between two sister, one night that went horrible wrong, and a blackmailer looking to expose the whole town’s secrets. Tims will be at the Galaxy for her newest novel, The Art of Feeling, which explores the relationship between a girl named Sam constantly in pain after a car accident and a boy who can’t feel pain at all. With the help of one another they just might be able to begin healing from their pasts and discover truths about what really happened the day the accident happened and Sam’s mother was killed.   
Adam and Laura will be joined at thier event by Kiersten White, and it will be hosted by Mysterious Galaxy bookseller and vlogger Kaitlyn Foster. 

 

Staff Pick Badge
They Both Die at the End Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062457790
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperTeen - September 5th, 2017

On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They're going to die today. Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they're both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There's an app for that. It's called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure--to live a lifetime in a single day.


Staff Pick Badge
History Is All You Left Me Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781616956929
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Soho Teen - January 17th, 2017

When Griffin's first love and ex-boyfriend, Theo, dies in a drowning accident, his universe implodes. Even though Theo had moved to California for college and started seeing Jackson, Griffin never doubted Theo would come back to him when the time was right. But now, the future he's been imagining for himself has gone far off course. 
To make things worse, the only person who truly understands his heartache is Jackson. But no matter how much they open up to each other, Griffin's downward spiral continues. He's losing himself in his obsessive compulsions and destructive choices, and the secrets he's been keeping are tearing him apart. 
If Griffin is ever to rebuild his future, he must first confront his history, every last heartbreaking piece in the puzzle of his life.


The Art of Feeling Cover Image
$19.79
ISBN: 9780062317353
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperTeen - August 15th, 2017

Samantha Herring has been in constant pain ever since the car accident that injured her leg and killed her mother. After pushing her friends away, Sam has receded into a fog of depression until she meets Eliot, a carefree, impulsive loner who, is unable to feel any pain at all. At first, Sam is jealous. She would give anything to not feel the pain she's felt for the past year. But the more she learns about Eliot's medical condition, the more she notices his self-destructive tendencies.

In fact, Eliot doesn't seem to care about anything--except Sam. And as they grow closer, they begin to confront Sam's painful memories of the accident, memories that hold a startling truth about what really happened that day.

 


Staff Pick Badge
And I Darken Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780553522341
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ember - May 30th, 2017

"Lada is not beautiful nor charming. Her brother Radu was blessed with those traits and is loved for them. Lada is cold, calculating, deadly, and possessed by a wild fierceness that scares everyone away. Abandoned in the Ottomon Empire to be raised by strangers in a foreign court they will have to rediscover who they are and fight tooth and nail for what's most important to them.  

This is a book that makes you read it, not just flip through the pages, with a heroine who is refreshingly atypical and claws her way into your heart. You live in each moment, caught up in the turmoil of each character who struggles with the same question we all struggle with, what is the price you are wiling to pay for your dreams?The characters is this book are devastatingly real and will connect with everyone on some note. I was a part of each character while I read this and when it ended my heart broke that there were no more pages to turn."

--- Constance

Enter the 15th century Ottoman Empire, where Lada and her brother Radu are wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia from a young age and cast into Ottoman rule. Together they learn to not only survive, but help Mehmed, the son of the Sultan, claim his title and conquer the lands. Lada, who is a re-imagined Vlad the Impaler, is a brutal, fierce, unfeeling—and compulsively readable character. I loved the dual perspectives of both Lada to Radu, which lets us fully experience the tensions of religion, politics, war, and love in 15th century eastern rule. This is a novel rich in setting and thoughtful in narrative, and ultimately one I loved every minute of.

-Kelly


More Happy Than Not Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781616956776
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Soho Teen - April 26th, 2016

In the months after his father's suicide, it's been tough for sixteen-year-old Aaron Soto to find happiness again--but he's still gunning for it. With the support of his girlfriend Genevieve and his overworked mom, he's slowly remembering what that might feel like. But grief and the smile-shaped scar on his wrist prevent him from forgetting completely. 
When Genevieve leaves for a couple of weeks, Aaron spends all his time hanging out with this new guy, Thomas. Aaron's crew notices, and they're not exactly thrilled. But Aaron can't deny the happiness Thomas brings or how Thomas makes him feel safe from himself, despite the tensions their friendship is stirring with his girlfriend and friends. Since Aaron can't stay away from Thomas or turn off his newfound feelings for him, he considers turning to the Leteo Institute's revolutionary memory-alteration procedure to straighten himself out, even if it means forgetting who he truly is. 
Why does happiness have to be so hard? 


Because You Love to Hate Me: 13 Tales of Villainy Cover Image
By Amerie, Amerie (Editor)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781681193649
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury USA Childrens - July 11th, 2017

Leave it to the heroes to save the world--villains just want to rule the world.

In this unique YA anthology, thirteen acclaimed, bestselling authors team up with thirteen influential BookTubers to reimagine fairy tales from the oft-misunderstood villains' points of view.

These fractured, unconventional spins on classics like "Medusa," Sherlock Holmes, and "Jack and the Beanstalk" provide a behind-the-curtain look at villains' acts of vengeance, defiance, and rage--and the pain, heartbreak, and sorrow that spurned them on. No fairy tale will ever seem quite the same again

Featuring writing from . . .

Authors: Renee Ahdieh, Ameriie, Soman Chainani, Susan Dennard, Sarah Enni, Marissa Meyer, Cindy Pon, Victoria Schwab, Samantha Shannon, Adam Silvera, Andrew Smith, April Genevieve Tucholke, and Nicola Yoon

BookTubers: Benjamin Alderson (Benjaminoftomes), Sasha Alsberg (abookutopia), Whitney Atkinson (WhittyNovels), Tina Burke (ChristinaReadsYA blog and TheLushables), Catriona Feeney (LittleBookOwl), Jesse George (JessetheReader), Zoe Herdt (readbyzoe), Samantha Lane (Thoughts on Tomes), Sophia Lee (thebookbasement), Raeleen Lemay (padfootandprongs07), Regan Perusse (PeruseProject), Christine Riccio (polandbananasBOOKS), and Steph Sinclair & Kat Kennedy (Cuddlebuggery blog and channel)


Please Don't Tell Cover Image
$19.79
ISBN: 9780062317322
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperTeen - May 24th, 2016

Joy killed Adam Gordon for what he did to her sister, Grace. At least, that's what she thinks happened. Now Adam can't hurt anyone ever again, and her sister can be free from the boy who harmed her.

But someone else knows what Joy did, and they're going to out her as a cold-blooded killer if she doesn't expose the scandalous secrets bubbling just below the surface of her mundane town. As the demands escalate, and she finds herself falling for Adam's half brother, Joy must figure out the blackmailer's identity before everything spirals out of control.


Event address: 
5943 Balboa Ave
Suite 100
San Diego, CA 92111
Event Category: