Image result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Related image

Land of Broken Promises (Compact Disc)

Land of Broken Promises By Jane Kuo, Catherine Ho (Read by) Cover Image
By Jane Kuo, Catherine Ho (Read by)
$24.99
Currently unavailable, email or call for more information.

Description


Taiwanese immigrant Anna and her family make a shocking discovery that puts their American dreams at risk in this searing companion to In the Beautiful Country, which Gene Luen Yang called "vivid and hopeful."

After a rocky first year, Anna's family have settled into life in California--their small restaurant is even turning a profit. Then her parents make a shattering discovery: their visas have expired.

Anna's world is quickly overwhelmed by unfamiliar words like "undocumented" and "inequality." She longs to share the towering secret that looms over every aspect of her life with a friend, but her parents strictly forbid her from telling anyone.

As Anna grapples with the complexities of being undocumented, the strain that it places on her family, and the loneliness of keeping it all to herself, she has to wonder--if America is the promised land, why does everything she's hoped for feel like a lie?

Perfect for fans of Kelly Yang, Reem Faruqi, and Jasmine Warga, this middle grade novel in verse, inspired by the author's own experiences, focuses on themes of legal documentation, identity, and language's ability to divide and unite.

Product Details
ISBN: 9798212690089
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: June 6th, 2023
Language: English