Image result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Related image

The Will of the Many (Hierarchy #1) (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Will of the Many (Hierarchy #1) By James Islington Cover Image
On Our Shelves Now
15 on hand, as of Apr 17 3:45am
(Staff Picks (SciFi & Fantasy))

Staff Reviews

This is absolutely one of the best fantasy books I have ever read. Full of vengeance, injustice and greed, The Will of the Many is a complex and mind blowing epic dark academia political fantasy. The worldbuilding is amazing and the fact that it is deeply inspired by ancient Roman culture is just icing on the cake. Islington created a unique pyramidal magic system where each person is required to lend a portion of their energy or “Will” to those in power above them. At the top of the pyramids, with the most physical power, is the senate.
Vis’s family spoke out against the use of will and the hierarchy and they were killed for it. To survive, the lost prince must keep himself separate from a growing rebellion, excel in his studies, solve a murder, uncover the secrets of an ancient pre-cataclysm magic and above all, keep his identity hidden. This book has it all.

— From Stephen's Picks


At the elite Catenan Academy, a young fugitive uncovers layered mysteries and world-changing secrets in this new fantasy series by internationally bestselling author of The Licanius Trilogy, James Islington.


The Catenan Republic—the Hierarchy—may rule the world now, but they do not know everything.

I tell them my name is Vis Telimus. I tell them I was orphaned after a tragic accident three years ago, and that good fortune alone has led to my acceptance into their most prestigious school. I tell them that once I graduate, I will gladly join the rest of civilised society in allowing my strength, my drive and my focus—what they call Will—to be leeched away and added to the power of those above me, as millions already do. As all must eventually do.

I tell them that I belong, and they believe me.

But the truth is that I have been sent to the Academy to find answers. To solve a murder. To search for an ancient weapon. To uncover secrets that may tear the Republic apart.

And that I will never, ever cede my Will to the empire that executed my family.

To survive, though, I will still have to rise through the Academy’s ranks. I will have to smile, and make friends, and pretend to be one of them and win. Because if I cannot, then those who want to control me, who know my real name, will no longer have any use for me.

And if the Hierarchy finds out who I truly am, they will kill me.

About the Author

James Islington was born and raised in southern Victoria, Australia. An avid fantasy reader for many years, it was only when he read Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn series that he was finally inspired to write something of his own. He now lives with his wife and daughter on the Mornington Peninsula in Victoria. He is the author of The Licanius Trilogy and The Will of Many.

Praise For…

“One of the best books I’ve ever read!”
— —Petrik Leo

"Fans of Pierce Brown's Red Rising will enjoy this book, but it’s darker, deeper, and takes unexpected paths worth traveling. Trust that the author will get you there in the end." 
— —Kirkus, *starred*

“Ancient Roman politics, dark academia, and epic fantasy coalesce in this brilliant and gut-churning masterpiece from Islington… This is powerful storytelling at its finest, and the mind-blowing ending opens the series to so much more potential.” 
— —Library Journal, *starred*

"Islington’s worldbuilding is exceptionally detailed and thoughtful, making suspending disbelief effortless. Perfectly balancing character development and plot momentum, this will have fantasy fans clamoring for more.” 
— —Publishers Weekly, *starred*

“Readers that love watching a world slowly unfold with lots of political intrigue will thoroughly enjoy this book.” 
Product Details
ISBN: 9781982141172
ISBN-10: 1982141174
Publisher: S&S/Saga Press
Publication Date: May 23rd, 2023
Pages: 640
Language: English
Series: Hierarchy