Image result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Related image

A Market of Dreams and Destiny (Paperback)

A Market of Dreams and Destiny By Trip Galey Cover Image
$16.95
On Our Shelves Now
2 on hand, as of May 25 11:00am
(Science Fiction Fantasy)

Description


Enter the bazaar of the bizarre—where fate and fortunes are for sale just beneath Covent Garden—in this high-stakes historical fantasy debut set in 19th-century London, perfect for fans of Neverwhere and The Night Circus.

Below Covent Garden lies the Untermarkt, where anything and everything has a price: a lover’s first blush, a month of honesty, a wisp of fortune. As a child, Deri was sold to one of the Market’s most powerful merchants. Now, after years of watchful servitude, Deri finally spots a chance to buy not only his freedom but also his place amongst the Market’s elite when he stumbles into the path of a runaway princess desperate to sell her royal destiny.

But news of the missing princess and her wayward destiny spreads. Royal enforcers and Master Merchants alike are after it. Outmanoeuvring them all would all be hard enough had Deri not just also met the love of his life, a young man called Owain, whose employers are using the Market for their own nefarious schemes.

Deri soon finds that the price of selling the royal destiny, making a name for himself, and saving the man he loves is dear. The cost of it all might just change the destiny of London forever..

About the Author


Trip Galey is a debut author whose first novel, A Market of Dreams and Destiny, is launching in 2023. His interactive novel, Faerie's Bargain, was published in 2021 and is set in the same world. Trip has degrees in English and Theatre, Shakespeare, Acting and Creative Writing. He works as a lecturer and was published in the Lambda, Ignyte and Locus award-nominated Glitter + Ashes: Queer Tales of A World That Wouldn’t Die. He lives in London and can be found digitally at linktr.ee/tripgaley

Praise For…


‘A book as rich with wonder as the market in its pages. Galey’s London is a world where anything – anything – is for sale: a glance, the feeling of moonlight, true love. Careful or you might end up bartering your heart away.’ Patrick Ness, bestselling author of The Chaos Walking Trilogy


‘Magical and literary, A Market of Dreams and Destiny ensnares you in layers and webs of fantasy and alternate history. Galey weaves a fae-touched world where anything can be bought or sold, leaving you to wonder what you would trade to visit it.’ David R. Slayton, author of the Adam Binder novels


‘You’re in for the fantasy thrill of the year with A Market of Dreams and Destiny! Deri is our heroic queer navigator through a fascinating, frightening world, like the lead of some eighties dark fantasy film we never got (but always deserved). More, please, Trip Galey!’ Adam Sass, award-winning author of Surrender Your Sons and Your Lonely Nights Are Over


‘Intriguing and atmospheric, this compelling tale of drama and danger in the shadows of a goblin market under an alternate Victorian London more than delivers on its promises.’ Juliet E. McKenna, author of The Cleaving and The Thief’s Gamble

'A perfect balance of romance, risk, and magic, come buy come buy this enchanting debut.' Fantasy Hive

‘If, like me, you have ever longed to nibble on forbidden fruit, if you have ever wished to enter into your own foolish faerie bargain, then read this book. Deliciously written and drenched in imagination, A Market of Dreams and Destiny builds on the wicked allure of Christina Rossetti’s Goblin Market while examining what happens in a world when literally everything can be bottled and sold for the right price.’ Shveta Thakrar, author of the Andre Norton Nebula Award finalist Star Daughter and The Dream Runners


‘An astonishing feat of the imagination, every page bursting with fantastical detail. Trip Galey’s debut is striking, and deserves to be celebrated.’ Oliver K. Langmead, author of Birds of Paradise and Glitterat


‘I traded a handful of hours for Galey’s beautiful epic of an other-London full of magical deals, audacious schemes, outrageous romance and a talking cat. Trip’s birthed something really rather extraordinary.’ J.L. Worrad, author of Pennyblade and The Keep Within


‘Intoxicating. A thrilling mix of the magical, the monstrous and the mercantile. Set in an ingenious alternative London with a main character pairing you can’t help but love, Galey’s cocktail of enchantment, romance and dangerous bargains swept me away.’ Tom Pollock, author of The Skyscraper Throne trilogy


‘I was enthralled by this world, where fairy merchants strike bargains with the precision of contract lawyers. The goblin market shines like enchanted gold, whimsical with dark undercurrents. The tension ratchets up with every trade, and Deri is the loophole-finding rogue we all wish we could be.’ A.J. Lancaster, author of The Lord of Stariel


‘Galey has created a world you can step inside, full of texture and descriptions so rich you can almost experience the market for yourself... A cracking read all round!’ Courtney Smyth, author of The Undetectables
Product Details
ISBN: 9781803363684
ISBN-10: 1803363681
Publisher: Titan Books
Publication Date: September 12th, 2023
Pages: 432
Language: English