Image result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Related image

The Age of Treachery: Duncan Forrester Mystery 1 (Paperback)

The Age of Treachery: Duncan Forrester Mystery 1 Cover Image
Email or call for price.
Special Order

Description


It is the winter of 1946, and after years of war, ex-Special Operations Executive agent Duncan Forrester is back at his Oxford college as a junior Ancient History Fellow. But his peace is shattered when a much-disliked Fellow is found dead in the quad, stabbed and pushed from an upper window. A don is suspected and arrested for the murder, but Forrester is not convinced of his friend’s guilt. On the hunt for the true killer, he finds himself plunged into a mystery involving lost Viking sagas, Satanic rituals and wartime espionage.

About the Author


Gavin Scott is a British Hollywood screenwriter who spent twenty years as a radio and television reporter for BBC and ITN, and has worked in film and television with Steven Spielberg and George Lucas. His films include Small Soldiers and The Borrowers; among his television series are The Young Indiana Jones Chronicles and War and Peace: his next project is Dunkirk for Working Title. He lives in California.

Praise For…


"References to J.R.R. Tolkien and C.S. Lewis ground this book firmly in the postwar period in Oxford. Forrester has to cast aside his PTSD and rely on the skills developed from his espionage experience to ferret out the culprit and motive. A dashing new hero has been born; recommend for readers of Jack Higgins and Joseph Kanon." - Library Journal starred review

"vivid...non-stop action... promising postwar series" - Booklist

“‘Gavin Scott’s debut offers a lively mix of espionage, post-war Oxford college politics, a classic murder mystery situation (the body is surrounded by unmarked snow) and a dizzying supporting cast of characters which includes Ian Fleming, C.S. Lewis, Thor Heyerdahl and even the young Margaret Thatcher.” - MARTIN EDWARDS


“A wonderful book that opens so many intriguing doors into Britain’s recent past.” - TERRY JONES (Monty Python)

“Hugely entertaining: An intelligent, fast moving whodunit set in the depths of a post-war winter. Packed with satisfying twists and turns as the plot moves from snow bound Oxford to Berlin and on to Norway, Fans of Morse will love it! Intelligently plotted and elegantly written, it will delight mystery fans.” - MARK OLDFIELD, bestselling author of THE SENTINEL


“A wonderful historical setting; Gavin Scott brilliantly captures this unsettled time. The writing is elegant throughout and the character of Forrester is most appealing. A most enjoyable read.” - MAUREEN JENNINGS, bestselling author of THE MURDOCH MYSTERIES


“A suspenseful murder mystery that holds the reader’s interest to the last page. This one is a page turner.” - MICHAEL KURLAND, author of THE INFERNAL DEVICE

“A prime example of how to write compelling mystery fiction” - Rising Shadow

 “Packed with historical detail and people, and with a satisfyingly complex series of mysteries to solve” - The Crime Review

 “A fun summer read” - Retrenders

“A complex novel of suspense...blends actual historical characters with his fictional ones exceptionally well.” -  Historical Novel Society

 “At times, reading his (Scott’s) descriptions of the European cityscape, in particular, I kept flashing on scenes from Carol Reed’s The Third Man.” - Blog Critics

"an intriguing, memorable, page turner. " - Atomic Moo
Product Details
ISBN: 9781783297801
ISBN-10: 1783297808
Publisher: Titan Books
Publication Date: April 12th, 2016
Pages: 352
Language: English
Series: Duncan Forrester Mystery