Image result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Related image

The Great Mathemachicken 1: Hide and Go Beak (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Great Mathemachicken 1: Hide and Go Beak By Nancy Krulik, Charlie Alder (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Nancy Krulik, Charlie Alder (Illustrator)
$6.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


Available in paperback! A young chapter book series starter about a chicken who loves math, science, and learning new things—by New York Times bestselling author Nancy Krulik. Perfect for fans of Unlimited Squirrels and Bumble and Bee.

Chirpy is a young chicken stuck in the family coop. But she's not like the other chickens who just sit around peck peck pecking all day. She's intrigued by the children who come home from a place called school. They always look so happy! (Well, most days.) 

So Chirpy sneaks onto the bus one morning, hides in the classroom . . . and discovers a true love of math. When she shares what she's learned with the other chickens, they think she's one kernel short of a cob. 

Even so, Chirpy is determined to find a formula for fowl success by pecking away. But when a hungry fox tries to attack the coop, can she find the equation for a simple solution?

With lively two-color art throughout, plus a fun hands-on simple machine activity, this eggs-ellent young chapter book series starter is a Grade-A pick to get emerging readers eggs-ited about science and math.

About the Author


Nancy Krulik is the author of more than 200 books for children and young adults, three of them New York Times bestsellers. Her series, including How I Survived Middle School, Katie Kazoo Switcheroo, George Brown Class Clown, Magic Bone, Project Droid, Princess Pulverizer, and Ms. Frogbottom's Field Trips are beloved around the world.

Nancy lives in Manhattan with her husband, composer Daniel Burwasser. Visit her online at www.realnancykrulik.com.

Charlie Alder has written and illustrated many books for children, including Daredevil Duck and Chicken Break! She lives in Devon, England, with her husband and son. When not drawing chickens, Charlie can be found in her studio drinking coffee, arranging her crayons, and inventing more accidental animal heroes.

Visit her online at www.charliealder.com.

Praise For…


"This STEM series debut for newly independent readers provides a light but engaging look at simple machines."—School Library Journal

"[A] smart, sprightly chapter book series starter. . . . Short, dialogue-driven paragraphs by Krulik (the Princess Pulverizer series) are peppered with 'eggs-tra' humor and chicken wordplay . . . while Alder’s (Doggo and Pupper) cartoon spot illustrations, rendered in tones of yellow, gray, and black, provide plenty of visual characterization"Publishers Weekly
Product Details
ISBN: 9781645952367
ISBN-10: 1645952363
Publisher: Pixel+Ink
Publication Date: March 12th, 2024
Pages: 96
Language: English
Series: The Great Mathemachicken