Image result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Related image

Mother Knows Best: A Novel of Suspense (Hardcover)

Mother Knows Best: A Novel of Suspense Cover Image
$26.99
On Our Shelves Now
Mysterious Galaxy Books
3 on hand, as of Sep 19 3:30am
(Mystery Suspense)

Description


A mother's worst nightmare, a chance at redemption, and a deadly secret that haunts a family across the generations.

There's only room for one mother in this family.

Claire Abrams's dreams became a nightmare when she passed on a genetic mutation that killed her little boy. Now she wants a second chance to be a mother, and finds it in Robert Nash, a maverick fertility doctor who works under the radar with Jillian Hendricks, a cunning young scientist bent on making her mark--and seducing her boss.

Claire, Robert, and Jillian work together to create the world's first baby with three genetic parents--an unprecedented feat that could eliminate inherited disease. But when word of their illegal experiment leaks to the wrong person, Robert escapes into hiding with the now-pregnant Claire, leaving Jillian to serve out a prison sentence that destroys her future.

Ten years later, a spunky girl named Abigail begins to understand that all is not right with the reclusive man and woman she knows as her parents. But the family's problems are only beginning. Jillian, hardened by a decade of jealousy and loss, has returned--and nothing will stop her from reuniting with the man and daughter who should have been hers.

Past, present, and future converge in this mesmerizing psychological thriller from critically acclaimed author Kira Peikoff.

About the Author


Kira Peikoff is the author of Living Proof, No Time to Die, and Die Again Tomorrow. She has a degree in journalism from New York University and a master's in bioethics from Columbia. By day, she is the editor-in-chief of leapsmag.com, a digital magazine about innovation and ethics in the life sciences. She has also contributed articles to the science section of the New York Times, Newsweek, Popular Mechanics, Nautilus, Slate, Cosmopolitan.com, and other mainstream media outlets. Peikoff is a proud member of The Authors Guild, International Thriller Writers, and Mystery Writers of America. She lives in New Jersey with her husband and young son.

Praise For…


Praise for Mother Knows Best:

"The psychological thriller everyone will be talking about...Don't miss it!
—Lisa Scottoline, New York Times bestselling and award-winning author of After Anna

"A story about female identity just as much as motherhood...Quite the page turner."
Cultured Vultures 

"[A] propulsive, page-turning thriller...the pace hardly stops for a breath."
The Nerd Daily

"[A] fascinating psychological thriller...Peikoff expertly exposes the dark side of contemporary medical science”
Publishers Weekly

"Peikoff (Living Proof, 2012, etc.) deftly juggles past and present and multiple voices in short, punchy chapters that create a sense of urgency while exploring grief, motherhood, the bonds of family...An engaging and timely thriller that offers lots of food for thought.
Kirkus Reviews

"[Peikoff] can make complex scientific procedures comprehensible for even the non-scientist...Fans of Michael Palmer and Robin Cook will want to check this out."
Library Journal

"[Mother Knows Best] had me compulsively turning the pages to find out what happens next!...This novel does a terrific job of presenting controversies in bioethics in the easily accessible prose of a psychological thriller."
Criminal Element

"A compelling tale....Peikoff knows what she’s talking about as she weaves a believable yarn that includes gaslighting, manipulating (of cells and minds) and how a mother’s love can triumph."
NJ.com

"Kira Peikoff has crafted a smart, pulse-pounding, and achingly human story of a family in the cross hairs of where ethics and science converge. A totally satisfying read."
—Andrew Gross, New York Times bestselling author of Button Man

"A rocket-paced thriller that dives deep into questions about science, family, and how far we'll go to protect the people we love the most."
—Lisa Unger, New York Times bestselling author of The Stranger Inside

"Mother Know Best is thought-provoking, nail-biting, and heartfelt...I couldn't put it down."
—Meg Gardiner, award-winning author of UNSUB

"Timely, tense, and trailblazing...Peikoff's seamless prose, very human, voice, and whiplash pacing makes this psychological thriller one of the must-reads of 2019. Two mothers is one too many."
—K. J. Howe, international bestselling author of The Freedom Broker

"Pekioff's work is always a joy to read. This is a smart, original and compelling thriller."
—Peter James, #1 bestselling author of the Roy Grace series

"Kira Pekioff hasn't just done her research, she's spun it into a real-life bioelthical dilemma that could be coming soon to a doctor's office near you. Perfect for a book group—or to race through all by yourself...flat-out fantastic."
—Brad Parks, international bestselling author of The Last Act
Product Details
ISBN: 9781643850405
ISBN-10: 1643850407
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: September 10th, 2019
Pages: 288