Image result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Related image

Emily Eternal (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Emily Eternal Cover Image
$27.00
On Our Shelves Now
Mysterious Galaxy Books
9 on hand, as of Sep 19 3:30am
(Science Fiction Fantasy)

Staff Reviews


Emily Eternal begins with the end of the world.  The sun is going out, and humanity only has six months left...which is bad news for the revolutionary artificial consciousness-turned-therapist Emily, who is just starting to figure humans, and herself, out.  When she comes across an anomaly in her genetic database, her lab is brutally attacked and her servers taken offline. Emily ends up on the run with two new friends, Jason, her crush from the university, and Mayra, a small-town sheriff.  Emily wants answers, and not just for what happened at the lab — she wants to figure out how she can save humankind from obliteration, and why anyone in their right mind would want to stop her. With Emily Eternal, M.G. Wheaton raises interesting questions about the nature of memory, perception, and personhood, all against a backdrop of trying to preserve humanity while still staying true to what makes humanity human.  Emily’s conversational internal monologue keeps the themes and science accessible, making this perfect for adults and teens alike.

— Darcy

Description


Meet Emily, "the best AI character since HAL 9000" (Blake Crouch). She can solve advanced mathematical problems, unlock the mind's deepest secrets, but unfortunately, even she can't restart the sun.

Emily is an artificial consciousness, designed in a lab to help humans process trauma, which is particularly helpful when the sun begins to die 5 billion years before scientists agreed it was supposed to.

Her beloved human race is screwed, and so is Emily. That is, until she finds a potential answer buried deep in the human genome that may save them all. But not everyone is convinced Emily has the best solution--or the best intentions. Before her theory can be tested, the lab is brutally attacked, and Emily's servers are taken hostage.

Narrowly escaping, Emily is forced to go on the run with two human companions--college student Jason and small-town Sheriff, Mayra. As the sun's death draws near, Emily and her friends must race against time to save humanity. Soon it becomes clear not just the species is at stake, but also that which makes us most human.

About the Author


M. G. Wheaton is a screenwriter, producer, and journalist, writing for the Hollywood Reporter, Total Film, and more. He lives in Los Angeles with his wife and children.

Praise For…


"Visionary. The best AI character since HAL 9000."—Blake Crouch, New York Times bestselling author of DARK MATTER

"Innovative...a quirky mix of melancholy, irreverence, and romance."—Kirkus




"No small feat to make a nonhuman character relatable, but Wheaton manages it with aplomb... cleverly written, with sci-fi concepts that are accessible to nonreaders of the genre. Fans of Andy Weir and Blake Crouch will enjoy the wit and action of Emily's story."— Booklist




"Readers will finish this suspenseful speculation about the next step in human evolution hoping that Wheaton has enough material left over for a second foray into speculative fiction, and perhaps even a third and a fourth. Emily Eternal is a novel you'll be glad you read, and M. G. Wheaton is an author who is obviously perfectly comfortable writing in this genre."— New York Review of Books




"Wheaton's fast-paced engrossing novel explores the possibility of being able to exist away from our home planet, whether as humans or something new and evolutionarily distinctive."— Library Journal




"[Emily Eternal] will feel familiar to cyberpunk fans."— Publishers Weekly
Product Details
ISBN: 9781538730393
ISBN-10: 1538730391
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Publication Date: April 23rd, 2019
Pages: 304
Language: English