Image result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Image result for email logo black and white

The Wolves of Winter: A Novel (Paperback)

The Wolves of Winter: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
On Our Shelves Now
Mysterious Galaxy Books
6 on hand, as of Dec 15 4:45am
(Science Fiction & Fantasy)

January 2018 Indie Next List


“When all the terrible things imaginable - and unimaginable - happen, all that is left is your family, whether blood or those you bond with in the aftermath of devastation. Teenager Lynn McBride remembers the world before - before nuclear war, before the flu, and even before her family moved to the Canadian Yukon - and those memories tease and haunt her while giving us clues to her history. While her family struggles daily for food and warmth, they are together and they watch out for each other, never encountering strangers - until Jax shows up...”
— Eileen McGervey, One More Page, Arlington, VA

Description


A post-apocalyptic debut novel in a tradition that includes The Hunger Games and Station Eleven, this vision of a possible future shows humanity pushed beyond its breaking point, the forging of vital bonds when everything is lost, and, most centrally, a heroic young woman who crosses a frozen landscape to find her destiny.

Lynn McBride has learned much since society collapsed in the face of nuclear war and the relentless spread of disease. As the memories of her old life continue to surface, she’s forced to forge ahead in the snow-drifted Canadian Yukon, learning how to hunt and trap and slaughter. Forget the old days. Forget summer. Forget warmth. Forget anything that doesn’t help you survive in the endless white wilderness beyond the edges of a fallen world.

Shadows of the world before have found her tiny community—most prominently in the enigmatic figure of Jax, who brings with him dark secrets of the past and sets in motion a chain of events that will call Lynn to a role she never imagined.

“With elements of Cormac McCarthy’s The Road and TV’s The Walking Dead, (Kirkus Reviews) The Wolves of Winter is both a heartbreaking, sympathetic portrait of a young woman searching for the answer to who she's meant to be and a frightening vision of a merciless new world in which desperation rules. It is enthralling, propulsive, and poignant.

About the Author


Tyrell Johnson is a twenty-nine-year-old writer and editor who grew up in Bellingham, Washington. He received his MFA from the University of California, Riverside, where he studied fiction and poetry. An avid outdoorsman, he currently lives in Kelowna, British Columbia, northeast of Vancouver with his wife, two kids, and a Siberian husky. The Wolves of Winter is his first novel.

Praise For…


An Indie Next Selection
A BookNet Canada Loan Stars Pick

A PopSugar "Best New Book of Winter"
A Vogue.com Winter Reading Selection


“Exciting, fast paced…The novel is full of action, suspense, and plot twists as the resilient characters fight for survival in a harsh winter wilderness.”
Publishers Weekly

“A cracking futuristic adventure, told with pace and panache and packed with vivid, shiver-inducing description.”
The Daily Mail (UK)

“[A] thrilling, post-apocalyptic debut.”
PopSugar

For fans of postapocalyptic stories like Station Eleven, this is the next book you won’t be able to put down.”
Bookstr

“Intriguing…This dystopian thriller feels a little too possible.”
Elle (CA)

“Deeply satisfying.”
The Guardian

“A very strong debut… Johnson has created a fascinating universe rich with intriguing characters.”
The Real Book Spy

“[Contains] elements of Cormac McCarthy's The Road and TV's ‘The Walking Dead”…stylishly written…Johnson's outdoor adventure novel is lifted by his command of natural settings and his understanding of family bonding under extreme duress.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Graceful and visually evocative.”
Booklist

“A stylish post-apocalyptic, coming-of-age thriller.... Fans of The Walking Dead and The Hunger Games will love this engrossing page turner.”
BookRiot (UK)

“Lynn is an intriguing heroine in a compelling environment…[The novel] sings.”
Sci-Fi Now (UK)

“An intense, emotional thriller with a propulsive narrative…the perfect fireplace read.”
Toronto Life (CA)

“Great absorbing fiction.”
Blake Crouch, author of the New York Times bestselling Dark Matter

“Here is prose that demands to be read. Read it.”
Jill Alexander Essbaum, New York Times bestselling author of Hausfrau

“Visceral and consuming, The Wolves of Winter depicts a frigid dystopian future where compassion has become the ultimate luxury.”
Claire Vaye Watkins, author of Gold Fame Citrus and Battleborn
Product Details
ISBN: 9781501155680
ISBN-10: 1501155687
Publisher: Scribner
Publication Date: December 4th, 2018
Pages: 320
Language: English