Image result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Related image

Worldshaker (Hardcover)

Worldshaker Cover Image
$18.69
Currently unavailable, email or call for more information.

Description


Col is a wealthy child of privilege. Raised to succeed his grandfather as the Supreme Commander of the juggernaut Worldshaker, he has lived a pampered life on the Upper Decks. He has never questioned his place in the world or his bright and illustrious future. But when a Filthy girl stows away in his cabin, suddenly nothing is clear anymore. Quick and clever, Riff is nothing like the Filthies that Col always learned about—the dumb, slow, less-than-human folk who toil away Below, keeping Worldshaker moving. Filthies are supposed to be animal-like, without the power of speech or the ability to think for themselves—but Riff is clever and quick and outspoken, and Col is drawn to her despite himself.

As Col begins to secretly spend more time with Riff, he begins to question everything he was raised to believe was true, and realizes that if Riff is right, then everything he was raised to believe is a lie. And Col himself may be the only person in a position to do something about it—even if it means risking his future.

About the Author


Richard Harland is the author of many fantasy, horror, and science fiction novels for young readers, including Worldshaker, Liberator, the Eddon and Vail series, the Heaven and Earth Trilogy, and the Wolf Kingdom quartet, which won the Aurealis Award. He lives in Australia. Visit him at RichardHarland.net.

Praise For…


"Aurealis Award winner Harland has a deft hand for balancing the icky and creepy...with fast plotting, family rivalries and dashing heroics. The climax provides a page-turning, pulse-pounding read."--Kirkus Reviews

"Readers looking for their next adventure in steampunk will most certainly find it here...Fans of Philip Reeve's Mortal Engines and Kenneth Oppel's Airborn will find themselves fully engrossed in the rich setting and thrilling action."--The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
Product Details
ISBN: 9781416995524
ISBN-10: 1416995528
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: May 18th, 2010
Pages: 400
Language: English