Image result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Image result for email logo black and white

I Love You So Mochi (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
I Love You So Mochi Cover Image
$17.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Staff Reviews


Japanese-American high school senior Kimi Nakamura is supposed to be spending her spring break completing paintings that will cement her continued education at the prestigious Liu art academy. What Kimi’s parents don’t know is that Kimi hasn’t painted in months, dropping her high school Advanced Fine Arts class, and hiding her lack of progress at home by asserting that she’s striving to find her artistic point of view. Following her mother’s discovery that Kimi’s off the predetermined path, Kimi takes advantage of the fortuitously-timed gift of a paid ticket to visit her largely estranged grandparents in Kyoto during the break. While in Kyoto, she has the opportunity to get to know more about her grandparents and Japanese culture and the many ways it differs from Japanese-American culture. There’s also a meet cute with a giant mochi mascot, tons of description of delicious food, and a strong supportive girl gang – because this is a Sarah Kuhn novel, after all. A great summertime romance! – Maryelizabeth

— From Sarah Kuhn, Cindy Pon, & Maurene Goo In Conversation

Description


Perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Kasie West, I Love You So Mochi is a delightfully sweet and irrepressibly funny novel from accomplished author Sarah Kuhn.

"As sweet and satisfying as actual mochi... a tender love story wrapped up in food, fashion, and family. I gobbled it up." -- Maurene Goo, author of The Way You Make Me Feel

Kimi Nakamura loves a good fashion statement.

She's obsessed with transforming everyday ephemera into Kimi Originals: bold outfits that make her and her friends feel like the Ultimate versions of themselves. But her mother disapproves, and when they get into an explosive fight, Kimi's entire future seems on the verge of falling apart. So when a surprise letter comes in the mail from Kimi's estranged grandparents, inviting her to Kyoto for spring break, she seizes the opportunity to get away from the disaster of her life.

When she arrives in Japan, she's met with a culture both familiar and completely foreign to her. She loses herself in the city's outdoor markets, art installations, and cherry blossom festival -- and meets Akira, a cute aspiring med student who moonlights as a costumed mochi mascot. And what begins as a trip to escape her problems quickly becomes a way for Kimi to learn more about the mother she left behind, and to figure out where her own heart lies.

In I Love You So Mochi, author Sarah Kuhn has penned a delightfully sweet and irrepressibly funny novel that will make you squee at the cute, cringe at the awkward, and show that sometimes you have to lose yourself in something you love to find your Ultimate self.

About the Author


Sarah Kuhn is on a quest to eat every kind of mochi in the greater Los Angeles area. She is the author of the Heroine Complex series and has penned a variety of comics and short fiction about geeks, aliens, romance, and Barbie (yes, that Barbie). Additionally, Sarah is a finalist for the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer. In her spare time, she thinks way too much about one day adopting a pug and the lasting legacy of Claudia Kishi. A third-generation Japanese American, she lives in LA with her husband and an overflowing closet of vintage treasures. You can find Sarah online at heroinecomplex.com.

Praise For…


"As sweet and satisfying as actual mochi... a tender love story wrapped up in food, fashion, and family. I gobbled it up." -- Maurene Goo, author of The Way You Make Me Feel

"A walk through Japan, a swoon-worthy boy, and an amazing journey of self-discovery. It was adorably perfect!" -- Kasie West, author of P.S. I Like You

"Filled with fashion, heart, family, and romance... Sarah Kuhn is a bright new voice in YA." -- Cecil Castellucci, New York Times bestselling author of Don't Cosplay with My Heart

"As delightful as its title, I Love You So Mochi is a nuanced exploration of the struggle between where you come from and who you are, and how together they define where you're going. I connected with this book so mochi!" -- Gloria Chao, author of American Panda

"Just as sweet and delectable as mochi! This book is a delightful, tender romance full of humor and humanity that will take you on a heart-warming journey through the streets and dishes of Kyoto." -- Britta Lundin, writer on CW's Riverdale and author of Ship It

"Travel! Fashion! Romance! I Love You So Mochi has it all. Sarah Kuhn combines flirty fun with the deep questions of purpose and familial loyalty. Filled with wonderfully unique characters and the equally intricate and varied relationships between them, this book is a dish you want to keep diving into." -- Keiko Agena, actress, and author of No Mistakes

"A deft, fun, and heartfelt coming-of-age story about finding yourself even when you don't know where to start looking. There is a real depth here that - when balanced with Sarah Kuhn's tart sense of humor - creates a transcendent, compelling read." -- Amber Benson, actress, director, and author of The Witches of Echo Park series

"Whimsically fresh, funny and heartfelt... A treasure trove of charming characters and delicious adventures, this book is one you won't be able to put down!" -- Ally Maki, actress on Cloak & Dagger and Wrecked

"I Love You So Mochi is a sassy, delightful, heartwarming love story about navigating familial expectations, finding yourself in-between two cultures, and following your true happiness... while eating delicious Japanese food along the way. I wish I could travel back in time to gift this book to my teenage self." -- Yumi Sakagawa, author of The Little Book of Life Hacks

"[A] frothy romance as sweet as mochi with a heaping side of satisfying self-discovery." -- School Library Journal

"An incredibly sweet and heartwarming coming-of-age romantic comedy... Strong characters and a story with real depth make this a worthy read." -- Kirkus Reviews
Product Details
ISBN: 9781338302882
ISBN-10: 1338302884
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Date: May 28th, 2019
Pages: 320