Image result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Related image

The Dead Cat Tail Assassins (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Dead Cat Tail Assassins By P. Djèlí Clark Cover Image
$20.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Staff Reviews


Undead assassins, doppelgängers out of time, and a healthy dose of frank yet sometimes dark humor drive this fast paced adventure rich in both magic and mystery. Eveen is an assassin (some call her the Eviscerator even though it was only that one time…). When her newest target has an all too familiar face, it becomes a race against sunrise to unravel the connections leading to this moment and find who orchestrated the hit. P. Djèlí Clark’s writing is innovative and imaginative, spinning a profoundly original tale that I couldn’t help but devour. The Dead Cat Tail Assassins is a compact juggernaut of a novella that weaves together a little something for everyone.

— From Jenni's Picks

Description


The Dead Cat Tail Assassins are not cats.

Nor do they have tails.

But they are most assuredly dead.

Nebula and Alex Award winner P. Djèlí Clark introduces a brand-new world and a fantastical city full of gods and assassins.


A Most Anticipated Book of 2024 According to Bookish, She Reads, Civilian Reader, and FanFiAddict

Eveen the Eviscerator is skilled, discreet, professional, and here for your most pressing needs in the ancient city of Tal Abisi. Her guild is strong, her blades are sharp, and her rules are simple. Those sworn to the Matron of Assassins—resurrected, deadly, wiped of their memories—have only three unbreakable vows.

First, the contract must be just. That’s above Eveen’s pay grade.

Second, even the most powerful assassin may only kill the contracted. Eveen’s a professional. She’s never missed her mark.

The third and the simplest: once you accept a job, you must carry it out. And if you stray? A final death would be a mercy. When the Festival of the Clockwork King turns the city upside down, Eveen’s newest mission brings her face-to-face with a past she isn’t supposed to remember and a vow she can’t forget.

About the Author


Born in New York and raised mostly in Houston, P. DJÈLÍ CLARK (he/him) spent part of his childhood in Trinidad and Tobago, the homeland of his parents. He is the author of the novel A Master of Djinn and the novellas Ring Shout, The Black God’s Drums, and The Haunting of Tram Car 015. He has won the Nebula, Locus, and Alex Awards and been nominated for the Hugo, World Fantasy, and Sturgeon Awards. His stories have appeared in online venues such as Tor.com, Daily Science Fiction, Heroic Fantasy Quarterly, Apex, Lightspeed, Beneath Ceaseless Skies, and in print anthologies, including Griots, Hidden Youth, and Clockwork Cairo. He is also a founding member of FIYAH Magazine of Black Speculative Fiction and an infrequent reviewer at Strange Horizons.

Praise For…


"Clark has created another memorable and intriguing fantasy setting in this fast-paced novella, which will be a hit with fans and newcomers alike."Booklist, starred review

"This wildly surprising caper fantasy from Clark (A Master of Djinn) will keep readers on the edge of their seats working out who “dunit,” and how and why, as they explore the gritty underbelly of this world of living contracts, dead gods, and legal necromancy, reminiscent of Max Gladstone’s “Craft Sequence” and “Craft Wars” series. This will appeal to all lovers of urban fantasy."—Library Journal, starred review

"Well crafted, exciting, darkly comic, and just gory enough."—Kirkus

"Clark’s plot moves at a breakneck clip with quick wit, offbeat characters, and plenty of intrigue. This is pure entertainment."—Publishers Weekly

“I first discovered P. Djèlí Clark’s work via his Dead Djinn Universe, and have been a happy follower of his work ever since. I was especially looking forward to trying this new novella, given how much I’ve enjoyed his past work. This book introduces a new world/setting, and it is excellent . . . . it exceeded my high expectations.”—Civilian Reader

Praise for P. Djèlí Clark

"A breathtaking tale of cities, spirits, friendship, and society.”—Daniel José Older on A Master of Djinn

“A thrilling and provocative inferno of a story."—Tochi Onyebuchi on Ring Shout

“P. Djèlí Clark couldn't write a bad book if he tried.”—Victor LaValle on Ring Shout

“Slyly told and laced with dark humor, this haunting tale pulled me into a richly realized world I didn't want to leave.”—Rivers Solomon on Ring Shout

“A clever, wickedly fun steampunk mystery with an excellent balance of humor and heart.” - S. A. Chakraborty on A Master of Djinn

“A fantastical, brutal and thrilling triumph of the imagination."—The New York Times, Editor's Choice, on Ring Shout

“What a wonderful world P. Djélì Clark has created.”—NPR on the Dead Djinn Universe

“This is a story of Black female power, drawn from both the old and new worlds, a tale that honors the Black American experience in all its complexity, and yet also delivers in its Lovecraftian delight.” —Library Journal, starred review, on Ring Shout

“Brutal and hopeful, farcical and factual."—Justina Ireland on Ring Shout

"Explodes into vivid color with a voice that's both joyous and harrowing."—Bethany C. Morrow on Ring Shout

“With its richly imagined world and characters and its high-stakes and thrilling plot, this novel would make such a fantastic show in the vein of The Nevers and Carnival Row, but better.”—Buzzfeed on A Master of Djinn

"Lush and magical."—Kwame Mbalia on Abeni’s Song

“Cinematic action, a radical reimagining of real history, and magic on every page.”—Alix E. Harrow on A Master of Djinn

"Simply unlike anything else in the field. An astonishing adventure that managed to thrill, scare, and delight, all while telling a story that is beautifully complicated and moving."—Mark Oshiro, award winning author of Anger is a Gift on Abeni's Song

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250767042
ISBN-10: 1250767040
Publisher: Tordotcom
Publication Date: August 6th, 2024
Pages: 224
Language: English