Heartless (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Heartless Cover Image
On Our Shelves Now
Mysterious Galaxy Books
2 on hand, as of Jun 19 2:30am
(Young Adult Novels 12 and up)

Staff Reviews

In her first stand-alone teen novel, Marissa tells the story—and what a story it is—of the young Lady Catherine Pinkerton who will live on to become the infamous and terrifying Queen of Hearts. Set in Lewis Carroll’s one hundred and fifty-year old Wonderland, Meyer brings his characters to life with her own original blend of madness, magic and monsters. The squat silly king has decided young Cath should be his bride, however, she has dreams of opening the best bakery in Wonderland and has fallen quite in love with the new, enigmatic and handsome court jester. Enjoy the Mad hatter, Cheshire cat, Jack the Knave of Hearts, the White Rabbit and all the well-loved inhabitants of Wonderland as the story turns deliciously dark and no one lives happily ever after. Just too much fun to miss!

— From Bunny's Books


The #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestseller that Gregory Maguire (Wicked and After Alice) calls "full of heart."

Long before she was the terror of Wonderland, she was just a girl who wanted to fall in love.

Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland, and a favorite of the unmarried King of Hearts, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, all she wants is to open a shop with her best friend. But according to her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for the young woman who could be the next queen.

Then Cath meets Jest, the handsome and mysterious court joker. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the king and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into an intense, secret courtship. Cath is determined to define her own destiny and fall in love on her terms. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

In her first stand-alone teen novel, the New York Times-bestselling author dazzles us with a prequel to Alice's Adventures in Wonderland.

About the Author

Marissa Meyer is the USA Today- and New York Times-bestselling author of the Lunar Chronicles: Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, Winter, Fairest: Levana's Story, and Stars Above: A Lunar Chronicles Collection.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781250044655
ISBN-10: 1250044650
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Publication Date: November 8th, 2016
Pages: 464
Language: English