The Land of Dreams (Hardcover)

The Land of Dreams Cover Image
By Vidar Sundstol, Tiina Nunnally (Translator)
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days


Winner of the Riverton Prize for best Norwegian crime novel and named by "Dagbladet" as one of the top twenty-five Norwegian crime novels of all time, "The Land of Dreams" is the chilling first installment in Vidar Sundstol's critically acclaimed Minnesota Trilogy, set on the rugged north shore of Lake Superior and in the region's small towns and deep forests.

The grandson of Norwegian immigrants, Lance Hansen is a U.S. Forest Service officer and has a nearly all-consuming passion for local genealogy and history. But his quiet routines are shattered one morning when he comes upon a Norwegian tourist brutally murdered near a stone cross on the shore of Lake Superior. Another Norwegian man is nearby; covered in blood and staring out across the lake, he can only utter the word kjaerlighet. Love.

FBI agent Bob Lecuyer is assigned to the case, as is Norwegian detective Eirik Nyland, who is immediately flown in from Oslo. As the investigation progresses, Lance begins to make shocking discoveries including one that involves the murder of an Ojibwe man on the very same site more than one hundred years ago. As Lance digs into two murders separated by a century, he finds the clues may in fact lead toward someone much closer to home than he could have imagined.

"The Land of Dreams" is the opening chapter in a sweeping chronicle from one of Norway's leading crime writers a portrait of an extraordinary landscape, an exploration of hidden traumas and paths of silence that trouble history, and a haunting study in guilt and the bonds of blood.

About the Author

Vidar Sundstol is the acclaimed Norwegian author of six novels, including the Minnesota Trilogy, written after he and his wife lived for two years on the north shore of Lake Superior. "The Land of Dreams" was nominated for the Glass Key for best Scandinavian crime novel of the year, and the series has been translated into eight languages. The remaining novels in the trilogy "Only the Dead" and "The Ravens" are both forthcoming from Minnesota.

Product Details
ISBN: 9780816689408
ISBN-10: 0816689407
Publisher: University of Minnesota Press
Publication Date: October 7th, 2013
Pages: 284
Language: English