Image result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Related image

In the Labyrinth of Drakes: A Memoir by Lady Trent (The Lady Trent Memoirs #4) (Hardcover)

In the Labyrinth of Drakes: A Memoir by Lady Trent (The Lady Trent Memoirs #4) Cover Image
$28.59
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


In the Labyrinth of Drakes, the thrilling new book in the acclaimed fantasy series from Marie Brennan, the glamorous Lady Trent takes her adventurous explorations to the deserts of Akhia.

Even those who take no interest in the field of dragon naturalism have heard of Lady Trent's expedition to the inhospitable deserts of Akhia. Her discoveries there are the stuff of romantic legend, catapulting her from scholarly obscurity to worldwide fame. The details of her personal life during that time are hardly less private, having provided fodder for gossips in several countries.

As is so often the case in the career of this illustrious woman, the public story is far from complete. In this, the fourth volume of her memoirs, Lady Trent relates how she acquired her position with the Royal Scirling Army; how foreign saboteurs imperiled both her work and her well-being; and how her determined pursuit of knowledge took her into the deepest reaches of the Labyrinth of Drakes, where the chance action of a dragon set the stage for her greatest achievement yet.

The Lady Trent Memoirs
1. A Natural History of Dragons
2. The Tropic of Serpents
3. Voyage of the Basilisk
4. In the Labyrinth of Drakes
5. Within the Sanctuary of Wings

About the Author


MARIE BRENNAN is an anthropologist and folklorist who shamelessly pillages her academic fields for material. She is the author of several acclaimed fantasy novels including A Natural History of Dragons; The Onyx Court Series: Midnight Never Come, In Ashes Lie, A Star Shall Fall, and With Fate Conspire; Warrior; and Witch. Her short stories have appeared in more than a dozen print and online publications.

Praise For…


"A thoroughly absorbing conclusion to this refreshingly different and consistently intriguing pentalogy"—Kirkus Reviews on Within the Sanctuary of Wings

"This mix of scientific and fantastic creatures remains in fine form." —Publishers Weekly, on In the Labyrinth of Drakes

"These chronicles have the power of fabulous and historic voyages, along with a wry wit that refuses to accept the standard notions of any era—past, present, or future."—Locus on The Memoirs of Lady Trent series

“Isabella, Lady Trent, narrates her astounding adventures from volume to volume, blending Victorian pastiche and alternate-world fantasy with a distinctly pulp sensibility…now is the time to get acquainted.”—NPR on The Voyage of the Basilisk

"Discoveries about the connections between dragons and humans mix with bone-punk technology, and revelations crash like waves in a satisfying conclusion." —Publisher's Weekly on Voyage of the Basilisk

"Smart and nuanced...Overwhelmingly fun and a perfectly delightful [summer] read."—io9 on The Tropic of Serpents

"Uncompromisingly honest and forthright [and] narrated in Brennan's usual crisp, vivid style.... Reader, lose no time in making Isabella's acquaintance." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review, on The Tropic of Serpents

"If you've ever secretly wished dragons were real, this story is for you. Fans of Naomi Novik and Mary Robinette Kowal will especially enjoy this book." —RT Book Reviews on A Natural History of Dragons

Product Details
ISBN: 9780765377630
ISBN-10: 0765377632
Publisher: Tor Books
Publication Date: April 5th, 2016
Pages: 352
Language: English
Series: The Lady Trent Memoirs