Image result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Related image

Voyage of the Basilisk: A Memoir by Lady Trent (The Lady Trent Memoirs #3) (Paperback)

Voyage of the Basilisk: A Memoir by Lady Trent (The Lady Trent Memoirs #3) Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Sep 23 6:20am
(Science Fiction Fantasy)


Description


The thrilling adventure of Lady Trent continues in Marie Brennan's Voyage of the Basilisk . . .

Devoted readers of Lady Trent's earlier memoirs, A Natural History of Dragons and The Tropic of Serpents, may believe themselves already acquainted with the particulars of her historic voyage aboard the Royal Survey Ship Basilisk, but the true story of that illuminating, harrowing, and scandalous journey has never been revealed—until now.

Six years after her perilous exploits in Eriga, Isabella embarks on her most ambitious expedition yet: a two-year trip around the world to study all manner of dragons in every place they might be found. From feathered serpents sunning themselves in the ruins of a fallen civilization to the mighty sea serpents of the tropics, these creatures are a source of both endless fascination and frequent peril. Accompanying her is not only her young son, Jake, but a chivalrous foreign archaeologist whose interests converge with Isabella's in ways both professional and personal.

Science is, of course, the primary objective of the voyage, but Isabella's life is rarely so simple. She must cope with storms, shipwrecks, intrigue, and warfare, even as she makes a discovery that offers a revolutionary new insight into the ancient history of dragons.


The Lady Trent Memoirs
1. A Natural History of Dragons
2. The Tropic of Serpents
3. Voyage of the Basilisk
4. In the Labyrinth of Drakes
5. Within the Sanctuary of Wings

About the Author


Marie Brennan is Professor of Education at Victoria University, Australia, and a former Dean of Education at the University of South Australia. She is currently leading the final year of a major Australian Research Council grant (LP100200499) Renewing the teaching profession in regional areas through community partnerships and participating in the Australian study of the Work of Teacher Educators (WOTE).

Praise For…


"A thoroughly absorbing conclusion to this refreshingly different and consistently intriguing pentalogy"—Kirkus Reviews on Within the Sanctuary of Wings

"This mix of scientific and fantastic creatures remains in fine form." —Publishers Weekly, on In the Labyrinth of Drakes

"These chronicles have the power of fabulous and historic voyages, along with a wry wit that refuses to accept the standard notions of any era—past, present, or future."—Locus on The Memoirs of Lady Trent series

“Isabella, Lady Trent, narrates her astounding adventures from volume to volume, blending Victorian pastiche and alternate-world fantasy with a distinctly pulp sensibility…now is the time to get acquainted.”—NPR on The Voyage of the Basilisk

"Discoveries about the connections between dragons and humans mix with bone-punk technology, and revelations crash like waves in a satisfying conclusion." —Publisher's Weekly on Voyage of the Basilisk

"Smart and nuanced...Overwhelmingly fun and a perfectly delightful [summer] read."—io9 on The Tropic of Serpents

"Uncompromisingly honest and forthright [and] narrated in Brennan's usual crisp, vivid style.... Reader, lose no time in making Isabella's acquaintance." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review, on The Tropic of Serpents

"If you've ever secretly wished dragons were real, this story is for you. Fans of Naomi Novik and Mary Robinette Kowal will especially enjoy this book." —RT Book Reviews on A Natural History of Dragons
"These chronicles have the power of fabulous and historic voyages, along with a wry wit that refuses to accept the standard notions of any era—past, present, or future."—Locus on The Memoirs of Lady Trent series

“Isabella, Lady Trent, narrates her astounding adventures from volume to volume, blending Victorian pastiche and alternate-world fantasy with a distinctly pulp sensibility…now is the time to get acquainted.”—NPR on The Voyage of the Basilisk

"Smart and nuanced...Overwhelmingly fun and a perfectly delightful [summer] read."—io9 on The Tropic of Serpents

"Uncompromisingly honest and forthright [and] narrated in Brennan's usual crisp, vivid style.... Reader, lose no time in making Isabella's acquaintance." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review, on The Tropic of Serpents

"If you've ever secretly wished dragons were real, this story is for you. Fans of Naomi Novik and Mary Robinette Kowal will especially enjoy this book." —RT Book Reviews on A Natural History of Dragons

Product Details
ISBN: 9780765375094
ISBN-10: 0765375095
Publisher: Tor Books
Publication Date: February 2nd, 2016
Pages: 368
Language: English
Series: The Lady Trent Memoirs