Image result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Related image

Blood Over Bright Haven: A Novel (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Blood Over Bright Haven: A Novel By M. L. Wang Cover Image
$29.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Staff Reviews


For fans of R.F. Kuang and Olivie Blake, M.L. Wang's new standalone novel is an ambitious and jarring masterpiece. BLOOD OVER BRIGHT HAVEN is a dark academia fantasy that scrutinizes the institution built within it and examines questions of social class, race, and morality with devastating consequences. As the first woman to be admitted into a prestigious order of highmages, Sciona is used to putting in twice as much work for a fraction of the recognition and respect given to her male peers. Despite multiple attempts at sabotage, including assigning her Thomil, a janitor, as her lab assistant, Sciona is fiercely determined to make her mark on history, and has the academic brilliance to follow through. But when the unlikely pair makes a discovery that unveils a terrible conspiracy and sheds light on a tragedy from Thomil's past, Sciona is forced to confront the truth of magic and the world as she's known it. --KelleyAnn

Description


The first woman ever admitted to a prestigious order of mages unravels a secret conspiracy that could change the practice of magic forever, in this standalone dark fantasy from the author of The Sword of Kaigen.

The stunning first edition hardcover will feature red stained edges, gold and red foil on the jacket, a full-color endpaper map, and an interior illustration of an in-world magical item

For twenty years, Sciona has devoted every waking moment to the study of magic, fueled by a mad desire to achieve the impossible: to be the first woman ever admitted to the High Magistry at the University of Magics and Industry.

When Sciona finally passes the qualifying exam and becomes a highmage, she finds her challenges have just begun. Her new colleagues are determined to make her feel unwelcome—and, instead of a qualified lab assistant, they give her a janitor.

What neither Sciona nor her peers realize is that her taciturn assistant was not always a janitor. Ten years ago, he was a nomadic hunter who lost his family on their perilous journey from the wild plains to the city. But now he sees the opportunity to understand the forces that decimated his tribe, drove him from his homeland, and keep the privileged in power.

At first, mage and outsider have a fractious relationship. But working together, they uncover an ancient secret that could change the course of magic forever—if it doesn’t get them killed first.

About the Author


M. L. Wang is an author, martial artist, and weird recluse currently hiding somewhere in Wisconsin with her maroon-bellied parakeet, Sulu. She enjoys gruesome nature documentaries and long walks in circles around her room. Her other books include The Sword of Kaigen and the YA fantasy series The Volta Academy Chronicles.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780593873359
ISBN-10: 0593873351
Publisher: Del Rey
Publication Date: October 29th, 2024
Pages: 448
Language: English