Image result for twitter black and white logoImage result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Related image

Brightness Reef (New Uplift Trilogy #1) (Mass Market)

Brightness Reef (New Uplift Trilogy #1) Cover Image
Unavailable to Order
Special Order

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the New Uplift Trilogy series.


David Brin’s Uplift novels—Sundiver, Hugo award winner The Uplift War, and Hugo and Nebula winner Startide Rising—are among the most thrilling and extraordinary science fiction tales ever written. Now David Brin returns to this future universe for a new Uplift trilogy, packed with adventure, passion and wit.

The planet Jijo is forbidden to settlers, its ecology protected by guardians of the Five Galaxies. But over the centuries it has been resettled, populated by refugees of six intelligent races. Together they have woven a new society in the wilderness, drawn together by their fear of Judgment Day, when the Five Galaxies will discover their illegal colony. Then a strange starship arrives on Jijo. Does it bring the long-dreaded judgment, or worse—a band of criminals willing to destroy the six races of Jijo in order to cover their own crimes?

About the Author

David Brin is a scientist and the bestselling author of Sundiver, The Uplift War, Startide Rising, The Practice Effect, The Postman, Heart of the Comet (with Gregory Benford), Earth, Glory Season, Brightness Reef, and Infinity's Shore, as well as the short-story collections The River of Time and Otherness. He has a doctorate in astrophysics and has been a NASA consultant and a physics professor.

Praise For…

“A captivating read.”Star-Tribune

“Brin is a skillful storyteller.”The Plain Dealer

“Immensely appealing, leaving readers hungry for more.”Publishers Weekly

“Tremendously inventive, ambitious work.”Kirkus Reviews
Product Details
ISBN: 9780553573305
ISBN-10: 0553573306
Publisher: Spectra
Publication Date: October 1st, 1996
Pages: 672
Language: English
Series: New Uplift Trilogy