The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air #1) (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air #1) Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
Mysterious Galaxy Books
6 on hand, as of Oct 22 2:40am
(Young Adult Novels 12 and up)

Staff Reviews


The Cruel Prince is a tale that leaves you wickedly smiling
with an insatiable craving for the second book to be in your
hands. If you have never read Holly Black, now is the perfect
time to start. She writes devastatingly beautiful yet cruel Fae
that inexplicably enthrall you, pulling you deeper and deeper
into their world, when truly the only thing you should feel
towards them is fear. Be careful though, for as our protagonist
finds out, a human will never belong in their glittering courts
and is viewed as little more than
entertainment. Oh, what a twisted thing
we become in the attempt to surpass our
tormentors... 

— Constance

I was enthralled by Holly Black’s tale of Jude, a mortal teen raised in Faerie and determined to earn a permanent place for herself. Holly not only involves readers with familiar themes of teen alienation from family (including fey and mortal and blended siblings), choosing one’s own path and companions, and conflicts with schoolmates (who just happen to be Faerie royalty), but also builds a Faerie that is wonderfully weird and alien. Recommended for fans of Laini Taylor and Kiersten White. 

— From Nifty Novels and More from Maryelizabeth

Holly Black knows how to write faeries. This book is so well-written, for it is dark and entertaining. You will be just as enchanted as our main character Jude is by the mysterious Princes and political intrigue. A must-read for fantasy lovers

~Kaitlyn

— From Kaitlyn's Picks!

Description


An instant bestseller!

By #1 New York Times bestselling author Holly Black, the first book in a stunning new series about a mortal girl who finds herself caught in a web of royal faerie intrigue.

Of course I want to be like them. They're beautiful as blades forged in some divine fire. They will live forever.

And Cardan is even more beautiful than the rest. I hate him more than all the others. I hate him so much that sometimes when I look at him, I can hardly breathe.

Jude was seven years old when her parents were murdered and she and her two sisters were stolen away to live in the treacherous High Court of Faerie. Ten years later, Jude wants nothing more than to belong there, despite her mortality. But many of the fey despise humans. Especially Prince Cardan, the youngest and wickedest son of the High King.

To win a place at the Court, she must defy him--and face the consequences.

In doing so, she becomes embroiled in palace intrigues and deceptions, discovering her own capacity for bloodshed. But as civil war threatens to drown the Courts of Faerie in violence, Jude will need to risk her life in a dangerous alliance to save her sisters, and Faerie itself.

About the Author


Holly Black is the bestselling author of contemporary fantasy novels, including Tithe: A Modern Faerie Tale and the #1 New York Times bestselling Spiderwick series. She has been a finalist for the Mythopoeic Award and the Eisner Award, and the recipient of the Andre Norton Award. Holly lives in Massachusetts with her husband, Theo, in a house with a secret library.

Praise For…


Praise for The Cruel Prince:

A New York Times Bestseller
An IndieBound Bestseller


"Black is a master at world-building, conveying integral details without that information ever seeming tedious or encyclopedic, whether you're well versed in faerie or a newcomer to the genre....the experience of reading a novel like this is something like being surrounded by magic."—The New York Times Book Review

"Lush, dangerous, a dark jewel of a book. Black's world is intoxicating, imbued with a relentless sense of peril that kept me riveted through every chapter of Jude's journey. And Jude! She is a heroine to love--brave but pragmatic, utterly human. This delicious story will seduce you and leave you desperate for just one more page."
Leigh Bardugo, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom

"I require book two immediately. Holly is the Faerie Queen."—Victoria Aveyard, #1 bestselling author of The Red Queen series

* "[S]pellbinding....Breathtaking set pieces, fully developed supporting characters, and a beguiling, tough-as-nails heroine enhance an intricate, intelligent plot that crescendos to a jaw-dropping third-act twist."—Publishers Weekly, starred review

* "Another fantastic, deeply engaging, and all-consuming work from Black that belongs on all YA shelves."—School Library Journal, starred review

* "Jude, who struggles with a world she both loves and hates and would rather be powerful and safe than good, is a compelling narrator. Whatever a reader is looking for--heart-in-throat action, deadly romance, double-crossing, moral complexity--this is one heck of a ride."—Booklist, starred review

"This is a heady blend of Faerie lore, high fantasy, and high school drama, dripping with description that brings the dangerous but tempting world of Faerie to life. Black is building a complex mythology; now is a great time to tune in."—Kirkus Reviews

* "Black, quite rightly, is the acknowledged queen of faerie lit, and her latest shows her to be at the top of her game, unveiling twists and secrets and bringing her characters vividly to life."—VOYA, starred review

"With complicated characters, a suspenseful plot, and a successful return to the Faerie setting of many of her popular books, Black's latest is sure to enchant fans."—The Horn Book

"Another enthralling story in Black's fantasy catalog."—PASTE.com

Praise for Tithe:
YALSA's Teen Top Ten
ALA Best Book for Young Adults
New York Public Library's "Best Book for the Teenage Reader"

* "A gripping read."
Publishers Weekly, starred review
Product Details
ISBN: 9780316310277
ISBN-10: 0316310271
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: January 2nd, 2018
Pages: 384
Language: English
Series: The Folk of the Air