Image result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Related image

The Whispering Fog (Paperback)

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Whispering Fog By Landra Jennings Cover Image
$9.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


In this spooky and atmospheric debut contemporary fantasy, Snow White and Rose Red meets the modern world after sisters Neve and Rose’s lives are upended when a swamp witch kidnaps Rose. Perfect for fans of Jodi Lynn Anderson and Katherine Arden.

For twelve-year-old Neve, it’s always been she and her older sister against the world, their lives entwined just like sisters in a fairy tale. So, if Rose loves tennis, Neve will play it too—even if secretly she’d rather be home turning cardboard boxes into offbeat art projects. Not even being moved to the piney woods outside Etters, South Carolina, can change what they are to each other—until a mysterious fog seems to swallow up Rose before Neve’s eyes.

Naturally, the adults don’t believe that something supernatural is at play. So, with the help of Piper, a classmate with a tomato fixation; Sammy, a boy with memories of an otherworldly stranger; and a stray dog that seems to belong to the woods, Neve discovers that her sister has been taken by a swamp-dwelling witch with a terribly wicked plan. It will be up to Neve to save her sister. Otherwise, she’ll be separated from Rose . . . forever

A gorgeous, haunting debut about sisterhood and finding your voice.

About the Author


Landra Jennings is the author of the middle grade novel, The Whispering Fog. She received her MFA in Writing for Children and Young Adults from Hamline University. Today, she lives with her family in Greenville, South Carolina, though she grew up roaming the woods of Georgia. If she had discovered a magical pond back then, she definitely would have jumped in. Visit her online at www.landrajennings.com. 

Praise For…


"With a dose of creepiness and a dash of delight, Landra Jennings brews a bewitching tale of sisterly love, finding your voice, and the value of a good tomato. I love this book."   — Anne Ursu, author of The Troubled Girls of Dragomir Academy

"The Whispering Fog is a dark and twisty retelling of Snow White and Rose Red, with a delicious page-turner of an ending. But underneath the magic, it's a refreshingly honest story about imperfect families, about how sometimes we care best for others by being real with ourselves. I loved it." — Laurel Snyder, author of Orphan Island and My Jasper June

"This riveting retelling of Snow White and Rose Red is eerie and atmospheric, grounded in an extraordinary sibling connection that is given room to shift and evolve . . . a splendidly suspenseful and sinister read with a tender heart." — Booklist

"A swamp full of secrets and a quirky cast of characters combine for a delightfully dark debut." — Kirkus Reviews

"Jennings threads the fantasy and horror elements with the book’s realism with a goosebump-inducing precision while infusing the story with small details that leap off the page. . . Hand this to fans of Doll Bones (BCCB 06/13) and middle graders looking for a spooky blend of horror and folklore."   — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

Product Details
ISBN: 9780063308756
ISBN-10: 0063308754
Publisher: Clarion Books
Publication Date: September 5th, 2023
Pages: 240
Language: English