Image result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Related image

The Ghost Job (Hardcover)

The Ghost Job By Greg van Eekhout Cover Image
$19.99
On Our Shelves Now
16 on hand, as of May 30 9:51am
(Middle Grade)

Description


Ghosts make the best thieves in this pitch-perfect middle grade adventure from the acclaimed author of Weird Kid. Perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and John David Anderson--and anyone looking for an Ocean's 11-style heist!

Zenith and her friends may be dead—but lucky for them, even getting ghosted wasn’t enough to tear them apart.

The four of them were thick as thieves long before an unfortunate lab accident sent them careening into the afterlife. So when they hear about a machine that could return them to the land of the living, they are determined to steal it.

Unfortunately, the magical device belongs to a dangerous necromancer who’s out for their ectoplasm.

Fortunately, they’re great at heists. Because pulling off the score of their deathtimes is no job for an amateur. 

About the Author


Greg van Eekhout lives in San Diego, California, with his astronomy/physics professor wife and two dogs. He’s worked as an educational software developer, ice-cream scooper, part-time college instructor, and telemarketer. Being a writer is the only job he’s ever actually liked. You can find more about Greg at his website: writingandsnacks.com.

Praise For…


Zenith’s candidly funny first-person narrative applies a light, portmanteau-riddled touch to themes of death and grief, while the protagonists’ close relationships and powers offer up sheer spectral fun.  — Publishers Weekly

In this latest caper from the ingenious Van Eekhout, readers will enjoy the banter as much as the topsy-turvy action. — Booklist

Praise for Fenris & Mott: "Van Eekhout gives readers both a redoubtable human protagonist who shows hidden depths of courage and resilience on the way to an ingenious resolution, and a canine one who is at once irresistibly winsome and terrifyingly destructive (not unlike many nonmythical dogs)." — Booklist (starred review)

"In this Rick Riordan–esque epic, modern and ancient worlds collide in a vividly sketched adventure that begs to be adapted for the screen. Thrilling and touching in equal measure." — Kirkus Reviews

"Van Eekhout applies a deft touch to Mott’s difficult ethical dilemma, imbuing the quickly paced story with tenderness and genuine surprises." — Publishers Weekly

Praise for Weird Kid: "Impeccably toned middle school humor, paired with action-packed hijinks and a poignant extended metaphor about finding one’s identity, results in a heartfelt, pitch-perfect middle grade novel." — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“A wacky, witty, action-packed alien adventure with a poignant message about being your best self.” — John David Anderson, author of Posted

“Greg van Eekhout brings magic, mystery, humor, and weird science to his wonderful WEIRD KID! Devious and fun –and highly recommended!” — Jonathan Maberry, New York Times bestselling author of Rot & Ruin 

"No one mixes gonzo with heartfelt like Greg van Eekhout. Amid wacky aliens, secret organizations, and larger-than-life guitar solos, is one kid just trying to figure out who he is. I was rooting for Jake on every page, and you will be, too!" — Jenn Reese, author of A Game of Fox & Squirrels

"Exciting and intriguing twist on science-fiction tropes. A standout SF adventure.”  — Kirkus Reviews

Praise for Cog: “A page-turning novel of friendship, family, and standing up for what’s right.” — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“Cog is a gem of a robot, and his robotic observations are comedic gold. Readers will be charmed by this sci-fi tale of free choice, hot dogs, and fun word problems.” — Booklist

“Van Eekhout brings considerable heart and wisdom to this coming-of-age tale. A thought-provoking tale for younger readers about hubris and what it means to be human.” — Kirkus Reviews

Praise for Voyage of the Dogs: “Fast-moving, funny, and suspenseful. A deep-space furry adventure with heart and humor.” — Kirkus Reviews

“Who’s a good boy? Lopside and the canine crew of the starship Laika! This dogs in space romp will make you sit up and beg for more.” — Alan Gratz, New York Times bestselling author of Refugee

“A crackling page-turner about courage and wonder, full of warmth and heart and characters who jump off the page. It’s my favorite book of the year." — Rae Carson, New York Times bestselling author of the Girl of Fire & Thorns series

“Dogs in space? Who knew we needed that? But Greg van Eekhout proves we did! Voyage of the Dogs  is a delight, and kids are going to love it.” — Spencer Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of Woof

“Dog-lovers and space enthusiasts will gravitate to Van Eekhout’s riveting book.” — Booklist

Product Details
ISBN: 9780063253339
ISBN-10: 006325333X
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: September 26th, 2023
Pages: 208
Language: English