Image result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Related image

The Mermaid Princesses: A Sister Tale (Hardcover)

The Mermaid Princesses: A Sister Tale By Maya Cameron-Gordon, Mirelle Ortega (Illustrator) Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Feb 23 7:33am
(Picture Books)

Description


A magical story starring three Black mermaid sisters who each wish to wear the underwater crown! Perfect for fans of Little Mermaid and Oona.

Anaya, Shante, and Kianna are sisters.

And these mermaid princesses couldn’t be more different!

One day, when a problem too big for any of them to solve alone comes their way, they find out which one of them has what it takes to become legend of the sea.

This fun adventure, inspired by African mermaid myth, magic, and spirituality, reminds young readers about the importance of teamwork and the different strengths we can all bring to the table—or throne.

About the Author


Maya Cameron-Gordon is an author, a mom, and a former teacher. She also graduated with an MFA in filmmaking and is extremely passionate about the representation of Black children in media. Through her film and children’s books, Maya hopes to further diversify children’s fantasy and make it a genre in which Black children can easily find characters that look like themselves.



Mirelle Ortega is a writer and artist in Los Angeles. She is the author-illustrator of Magic: Once Upon a Faraway Land, a Pura Belpré Honor Book, and River of Mariposas. She is the illustrator of several books, including Small Room, Big Dreams: The Journey of Julián and Joaquin Castro by Monica Brown and Pepe and the Parade by Tracey Kyle. On Mirelle’s Pairing Day, she bonded with her familiar: a fluffy, friendly, and swift fox. Visit her online at mirelleortega.com.

Praise For…


A satisfying addition to any little mermaid’s library. — Kirkus Reviews

[Handily] demonstrates the importance of teamwork in protecting the greater good. — Publishers Weekly

Cameron-Gordon’s upbeat text is a strong read-aloud choice, instilling in readers the importance of collaboration and helping others. Ortega’s vibrant digital illustrations create a stunning underwater world. [With] stunning artwork accompanied by universal themes, this is recommended for purchase for most collections. — School Library Journal

Product Details
ISBN: 9780063205253
ISBN-10: 0063205254
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: March 28th, 2023
Pages: 40
Language: English