Image result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Related image

Death at Greenway: A Novel (Paperback)

Death at Greenway: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Oct 20 12:33am
(Mystery Suspense)

Description


"Irresistible... a Golden Age homage, an elegantly constructed mystery that on every page reinforces the message that everyone counts." –New York Times Book Review

From the award-winning author of The Day I Died and The Lucky One, a captivating suspense novel about nurses during World War II who come to Agatha Christie’s holiday estate to care for evacuated children, but when a body is discovered nearby, the idyllic setting becomes host to a deadly mystery.

Bridey Kelly has come to Greenway House—the beloved holiday home of Agatha Christie—in disgrace. A terrible mistake at St. Prisca’s Hospital in London has led to her dismissal as a nurse trainee, and her only chance for redemption is a position in the countryside caring for children evacuated to safety from the Blitz.

Greenway is a beautiful home full of riddles: wondrous curios not to be touched, restrictions on rooms not to be entered, and a generous library, filled with books about murder. The biggest mystery might be the other nurse, Gigi, who is like no one Bridey has ever met. Chasing ten young children through the winding paths of the estate grounds might have soothed Bridey’s anxieties and grief—if Greenway were not situated so near the English Channel and the rising aggressions of the war.

When a body washes ashore near the estate, Bridey is horrified to realize this is not a victim of war, but of a brutal killing. As the local villagers look among themselves, Bridey and Gigi discover they each harbor dangerous secrets about what has led them to Greenway. With a mystery writer’s home as their unsettling backdrop, the young women must unravel the truth before their safe haven becomes a place of death . . .

About the Author


Lori Rader-Day is the author of Death at Greenway, The Lucky OneUnder a Dark Sky, The Day I Died, Little Pretty Things, and The Black Hour. She is a three-time Mary Higgins Clark Award nominee, winning the award in 2016. Lori lives in Chicago.

Praise For…


"Irresistible... a Golden Age homage, an elegantly constructed mystery that on every page reinforces the message that everyone counts."
New York Times Book Review

"Richly nuanced mystery . . . Rader-Day nicely evokes the isolation and dislocations of people in WWII Britain while revealing her characters’ complexities. Despite the many allusions to Christie’s life and work, she eschews an artificially neat conclusion. Fans of both Christie and Rader-Day will relish this."
Publishers Weekly (starred review) on Death at Greenway

"Rader-Day, known for masterfully weaving historical elements into her female-focused literary thrillers, imbues this wartime whodunit with palpable emotion as Bridey reconciles her family’s bombing deaths through a plan to save another life."
Booklist

"Two strangers with secrets, ten little children evacuated from London, and a stay at Agatha Christie’s country house make for a deliciously compelling mystery. With its flawed, complex heroine, haunting evocation of wartime England, and a series of plot twists and breathtaking reveals, Rader-Day’s newest is a triumph."
Susan Elia MacNeal, New York Times bestselling author of the Maggie Hope series

“A gorgeous evocation of World War II England, a moving investigation of love and hope under trial, a twisty murder mystery that would have satisfied Dame Agatha herself—all proof that Lori Rader-Day’s gifts translate to all eras. What a delicious book.”

Louis Bayard, author of The Pale Blue Eye and Courting Mr. Lincoln

“Death at Greenway by Lori Rader-Day is an immersive, expansive WWII tale of murder and revenge. Set at Agatha Christie’s real-life country home, disgraced nurse-in-training, Bridey Kelly, is tasked to help care for a group of children seeking safety from war-torn London. Still, danger is everywhere and with unseen evil lurking, Bridey has to navigate a mysterious web of lies. Well-crafted and multi-layered, Death at Greenway is a vivid portrait of a woman trying to outrun her past in hopes of finding her place in a broken world.”

Heather Gudenkauf, New York Times bestselling author of This is How I Lied

"Death at Greenway is a book Lori Rader-Day was born to write. The characters are deeply moving, the suspense and World War II research are impeccable. The language, as is always the case with Rader-Day, is beautiful, but in Greenway, she shows her suppleness: her pitch-perfect dialogue brings England in the Blitz to life."
Sara Paretsky, New York Times bestselling author of Dead Land, on Death at Greenway

“A wonderfully atmospheric, beautifully written and entirely credible evocation of wartime Britain.”
Ann Cleeves, internationally bestselling author of the Shetland and Vera series, on Death at Greenway

“One of crime fiction’s strongest and most compelling voices.”
Alex Segura, acclaimed author of Blackout and Dangerous Ends

“Complex characters, a rich sense of the effect of WWII on British citizens, and the constant threat of danger… Death at Greenway does justice to Christie’s oeuvre.”
South Florida Sun-Sentinel

“An intriguing mix of history and mystery.”

Chicago Tribune

“Rader-Day accomplishes something special here. Death at Greenway is neither a Christie pastiche nor a gimmick, and no character is a type, a pitfall in historical fiction. Each one is drawn with delicacy and care, and though the author did her research, it’s been organically synthesized into the novel.”
Air Mail

“Far from a cozy mystery, Death at Greenway is as taut as a bow string, with every character capable of snapping at a moment’s notice.”

BookPage

“Rader-Day creates deeply believable, empathetic characters and puts the power in the hands of women.”
Publishers Weekly on The Lucky One

"The Lucky One promises to be another signature Lori Rader-Day blend of psychology, suspense, and noir."
CrimeReads on The Lucky One
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062938046
ISBN-10: 0062938045
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Publication Date: October 12th, 2021
Pages: 448
Language: English