Image result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Image result for email logo black and white

The Perfect Mother: A Novel (Large Print / Paperback)

The Perfect Mother: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

May 2018 Indie Next List


“Buckle up for a gripping read that had me up until 2:00 in the morning! Aimee Molloy taps into two of the deepest fears a mother can have: The ultimate fear of losing a child, and the secretive fear of losing her identity. As a new mother, this book spoke to me on every level. The insecurity, the worries, the panic, the judgment - you name it. Add a missing child, and all those feelings were multiplied by a thousand. Don't miss this captivating novel - it won't disappoint!”
— Teresa Steele, Old Firehouse Books, Fort Collins, CO

Description


A night out — a few hours of fun.

What could possibly go wrong?

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE

"The Perfect Mother is a gripping page-turner that explores the pressures of modern motherhood as well as a mother’s absolute worst nightmare. At once wonderfully nuanced and compulsively readable, it keeps you guessing at every moment, up until the very end. I could not be prouder to be bringing this thriller to the big screen."—Kerry Washington

Some people are so good at making perfect look easy.

 

They call themselves the May Mothers—a collection of new moms who gave birth in the same month. Twice a week, with strollers in tow, they get together in Prospect Park, seeking refuge from the isolation of new motherhood; sharing the fears, joys, and anxieties of their new child-centered lives.

 

When the group’s members agree to meet for drinks at a hip local bar, they have in mind a casual evening of fun, a brief break from their daily routine. But on this sultry Fourth of July night during the hottest summer in Brooklyn’s history, something goes terrifyingly wrong: one of the babies is taken from his crib. Winnie, a single mom, was reluctant to leave six-week-old Midas with a babysitter, but the May Mothers insisted that everything would be fine. Now Midas is missing, the police are asking disturbing questions, and Winnie’s very private life has become fodder for a ravenous media.

 

Though none of the other members in the group is close to the reserved Winnie, three of them will go to increasingly risky lengths to help her find her son. And as the police bungle the investigation and the media begin to scrutinize the mothers in the days after Midas goes missing, damaging secrets are exposed, marriages are tested, and friendships are formed and fractured.

 

Unfolding over the course of thirteen fraught days and culminating in an exquisite and unexpected twist, The Perfect Mother is the perfect book for our times—a nuanced and addictively readable story that exposes the truth of modern mothers’ lives as it explores the power of an ideal that is based on a lie.

About the Author


Aimee Molloy is the author of the New York Times bestseller However Long the Night: Molly Melching’s Journey to Help Millions of African Women and Girls Triumph and the co-author of several non-fiction books. She lives in Brooklyn with her husband and two daughters. The Perfect Mother is her first novel.

Praise For…


A most anticipated thriller of the season: Vanity Fair, Pop Sugar, Goodreads, The Cut | A New York Post “Must-Read” | One of Vanity Fair’s Smartest and Most Innovative Thrillers of Summer | A USA Today “Book You Won’t  Want to Miss”| An Indie Next Pick | A Library Reads Pick | A Kirkus Best Book of 2018 | A New York Public Library Best Book of 2018 | A Bustle Gift Guide Pick
—  

“I was hooked ... and stayed up late to finish. What do you call a book like that? Oh yeah: a page turner. And it’s a rare and wonderful thing.”
New York Times Book Review

“An electrifying thriller—and a subtle, savvy skewering of the endless expectations of modern motherhood.”
People, Book of the Week

“Whip-smart.... Very much in the mold of recent best-sellers like The Girl on the Train and The Woman in the Window, but it’s also a sharply drawn take on the cult of modern parenting and the particular pressure women face—from within and without—to pull it all off, flawlessly.”
Entertainment Weekly

“A gripping page turner that explores the pressures of modern motherhood, as well as a mother’s absolute worst nightmare. I could not be prouder to be bringing this thriller to the big screen.”
— Kerry Washington

“A desperate, thrilling mystery that you’ll think you have all figured out – until you realize you don’t.”
Marie Claire

“A riveting psychological thriller that takes a sharp, insightful look at motherhood, The Perfect Mother explores the pressures, the hopes, the fears, and the secrets between a group of friends who realize how little they know one another when a crisis strikes. A fast-paced, twisty, engrossing read—I loved it!”
— Megan Miranda, author of All the Missing Girls

“A fresh addition to the psycho-thriller shelf.”
Washington Post, “6 Beach Reads That Will Bring You More Pleasure than Guilt”

“Utterly page-turning.”
Parade

“Molloy, a master of clever misdirection, deftly explores the expectations, insecurities, and endless judgement that accompany motherhood in this fast-paced thriller featuring a bevy of strong, smart, and realistically flawed women who, refreshingly, have each other’s backs when it counts the most. Mesmerizing.”
Kirkus Reviews (starred)

“A novel about internalized sexism, specifically as it relates to motherhood.... Each protagonist has a demon of her own to fight, and with it a new angled on the fundamental question of how a woman can reject the world’s beliefs about who she should be.”
Los Angeles Review of Books

“For a charmed group of new moms, a girls’ night out ends in one mother’s worst nightmare. In twist after masterful twist, secrets and lies begin to unravel; The Perfect Mother is a tense and riveting page turner with an ending you won’t see coming.”
— Liv Constantine, author of The Last Mrs. Parrish

“Keeps readers guessing... bound to press familiar hot buttons and unnerve many readers.”
Minneapolis Star Tribune

“I raced through The Perfect Mother, desperate to find out what would happen. Both the writing and the characterization are excellent, and it was so easy to identify with these women and the pressure they are under.  I absolutely loved it—a true page turner!”
— B.A. Paris, author of The Breakdown and Behind Closed Doors

“A captivating and deeply insightful page-turner, The Perfect Mother is both a riveting mystery and a satisfyingly sharp social commentary about what it means to be a good mother.”
— Kimberly McCreight, author of Reconstructing Amelia and Where They Found Her

“Readers who can’t get enough of suburban suspense along the lines of Liane Moriarty B. A. Paris will want to give this a try.”
Booklist

“For lovers of cunning narrative suspense in the vein of Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl, this debut novel.... Will keep readers turning the pages.”
Library Journal, starred review

[A] promising first novel.... The mystery of Midas’s disappearance may be the skeleton on which Molloy’s plot hangs, but it’s her characters’ anxieties that give the story life and substance.... Her clever narrative structure heightens tension while spotlighting the solitary struggles of motherhood.”
Publishers Weekly

“Impressive and satisfying.... This gripping and fresh novel will provoke as much thought as it does excitement.”
BookPage

“Perfect for fans of Gone Girl. If you’re looking for a dose of suspense combined with wry observations about modern motherhood, this is it.”
Working Mother
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062845856
ISBN-10: 0062845853
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: HarperLuxe
Publication Date: May 1st, 2018
Pages: 464
Language: English