Image result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Related image

Gallant (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Gallant Cover Image
$18.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Staff Reviews


When girls leave the Merilance School for Girls, they are not allowed back. All Olivia Prior has is a journal that belonged to her mother which starts as letters written to her father who passed when Olivia was born and then seems to quickly spiral into madness -- until a letter arrives addressed to her from an uncle she didn’t know she had, inviting her to come home to Gallant. However, when she arrives she finds a manor with only two servants who weren’t expecting her and a hostile cousin barely older than her. With nowhere else to go, Olivia stays and accidentally discovers another Gallant on the other side of the garden wall -- one that is a dark mirror to her supposed home. Gallant is a lush and darkly enchanting read about carving out one’s place in the world, life and death, and the ties of family. This is a tale that is both tender and eerie, excellent for all ages and excellent for fans of Neil Gaiman’s CORALINE and THE OCEAN AT THE END OF THE LANE. 

— From KelleyAnn Staff Picks

Description


Everything casts a shadow. Even the world we live in. And as with every shadow, there is a place where it must touch. A seam, where the shadow meets its source.

#1 New York Times–bestselling author V. E. Schwab weaves a dark and original tale about the place where the world meets its shadow, and the young woman beckoned by both sides. The Secret Garden meets Crimson Peak in this stand-alone novel perfect for readers of Holly Black and Neil Gaiman.

Olivia Prior has grown up in Merilance School for Girls, and all she has of her past is her mother’s journal—which seems to unravel into madness. Then, a letter invites Olivia to come home to Gallant. Yet when Olivia arrives, no one is expecting her. But Olivia is not about to leave the first place that feels like home; it doesn’t matter if her cousin Matthew is hostile, or if she sees half-formed ghouls haunting the hallways.

Olivia knows that Gallant is hiding secrets, and she is determined to uncover them. When she crosses a ruined wall at just the right moment, Olivia finds herself in a place that is Gallant—but not. The manor is crumbling, the ghouls are solid, and a mysterious figure rules over all. Now Olivia sees what has unraveled generations of her family, and where her father may have come from.

Olivia has always wanted to belong somewhere, but will she take her place as a Prior, protecting our world against the Master of the House? Or will she take her place beside him?

New York Times–bestselling author V. E. Schwab crafts a vivid and lush novel that grapples with the demons that are often locked behind closed doors. An eerie, stand-alone saga about life, death, and the young woman beckoned by both. Readers of Neil Gaiman, Holly Black, Melissa Albert, and Garth Nix will quickly lose themselves in this novel with crossover appeal for all ages.

About the Author


V. E. Schwab is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of more than twenty books, ranging from middle grade to teen to adult. Her books have garnered critical acclaim and been featured in the New York Times, Entertainment Weekly, the Washington Post, and NPR; have been translated into more than a dozen languages; and been optioned for television and film. Schwab, an avid traveler, received her MFA from the University of Edinburgh, where her thesis was about the presence of monsters in medieval art. She lives in Edinburgh, Scotland. 

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062835772
ISBN-10: 0062835777
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: March 1st, 2022
Pages: 352
Language: English