Image result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Related image

Crier's War (Hardcover)

Crier's War Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Mysterious Galaxy Books
9 on hand, as of Dec 12 3:15am
(Young Adult Novels 12 and up)

Description


From debut author Nina Varela comes the first book in an Own Voices, richly imagined epic fantasy duology about an impossible love between two girls—one human, one Made—whose romance could be the beginning of a revolution.

Perfect for fans of Marie Rutkoski’s The Winner’s Curse as well as Game of Thrones and Westworld.

After the War of Kinds ravaged the kingdom of Rabu, the Automae, designed to be the playthings of royals, usurped their owners’ estates and bent the human race to their will.

Now Ayla, a human servant rising in the ranks at the House of the Sovereign, dreams of avenging her family’s death…by killing the sovereign’s daughter, Lady Crier.

Crier was Made to be beautiful, flawless, and to carry on her father’s legacy. But that was before her betrothal to the enigmatic Scyre Kinok, before she discovered her father isn’t the benevolent king she once admired, and most importantly, before she met Ayla.

Now, with growing human unrest across the land, pressures from a foreign queen, and an evil new leader on the rise, Crier and Ayla find there may be only one path to love: war.

About the Author


Nina Varela is a nationally awarded writer of screenplays and short fiction. She was born in New Orleans and raised on a hippie commune in Durham, North Carolina, where she spent most of her childhood playing in the Eno River, building faerie houses from moss and bark, and running barefoot through the woods. These days, Nina lives in Los Angeles with her writing partner and their tiny ill-behaved dog. She tends to write stories about young people toppling the monarchy/patriarchy/whatever-archy. On a related note, she’s queer. On a less related note, she has strong feelings about hush puppies and loves a good jambalaya. Crier’s War is her first novel. You can find Nina at any given coffee shop in the greater Los Angeles area or at www.ninavarela.com.

Praise For…


Crier’s War is a beautiful poem of a book. Fans of both fantasy and sci-fi: this book is for you.”
— Tara Sim, Author of the Timekeeper Trilogy

“Dizzying political machinations intertwine with a burgeoning romance. The plot zooms ahead with nail-biting tension. A fresh, suspenseful take on the robot apocalypse.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Rife with mystery, romantic tension, and political intrigue, Varela’s debut novel is perfect for readers craving queer fantasy with dense world building.”
— Booklist

“A lush #OwnVoices fantasy debut with science fiction elements and LGBTQIA+ representation, perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass.”
— School Library Journal

“Masterful storytelling, woven with gorgeous poetic prose. You can’t help but be lured into this vividly imagined world. As heart-wrenching as it is unforgettable.”
— Erin Summerill, author of the Clash of Kingdoms trilogy

"Captivating political machinations among intricately linked characters create a suspenseful read with particular appeal to fans of queer romance."
— Publishers Weekly

“This interesting mesh of sci-fi and fantasy situates androids within court intrigue, enhanced with a steamy, well-paced lesbian romance that will make readers impatient to nab the next novel.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062823946
ISBN-10: 0062823949
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: October 1st, 2019
Pages: 448
Language: English
Series: Crier's War