Image result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Related image

Summer of a Thousand Pies (Hardcover)

Summer of a Thousand Pies Cover Image
$16.99
On Our Shelves Now
Mysterious Galaxy Books
4 on hand, as of May 23 2:01am
(- AGES 8 TO 12)

Description


A heartfelt contemporary middle grade novel about a girl who must try to save her aunt’s failing pie shop, perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish, Fish in a Tree—and The Great British Baking Show.

When Cady Bennett is sent to live with the aunt she didn’t even know she had in the quaint mountain town of Julian, she isn’t sure what to expect. Cady isn’t used to stability, after growing up homeless in San Diego with her dad.

Now she’s staying in her mother’s old room, exploring the countryside filled with apple orchards and pie shops, making friends, and working in Aunt Shell’s own pie shop—and soon, Cady starts to feel like she belongs.

Then she finds out that Aunt Shell’s shop is failing. Saving the business and protecting the first place she’s ever really felt safe will take everything she's learned and the help of all her new friends. But are there some things even the perfect pie just can’t fix?

Summer of a Thousand Pies is a sweet and satisfying treat of a novel full of friendship, family, and, of course, pie.

About the Author


Margaret Dilloway lives in San Diego with her husband, a former Army Ranger; their three children; and a goldendoodle named Gatsby, who has his own following. In her spare time, she dabbles in long-form improv, baking, and hiking. She can be found online here: www.margaretdilloway.com.

Praise For…


“Readers will delight in Cady’s new world of baking and friends and learning that with both, she’ll be able to get through just about anything. This fabulous book about making pies will leave you hungry, while Cady’s journey toward making a life will leave you entirely satisfied.”
— Donna Gephart, award-winning author of Lily and Dunkin and In Your Shoes

“Margaret Dilloway approaches tough topics with a fine touch. Readers are going to love Cady’s spunk, determination, and grit.”
— Karina Yan Glaser, the author of The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street

“Memorable characters and strong writing make this more than just a book about pie.”
— School Library Journal

“Fans of Anne of Green Gables will find a satisfying story and another heroine to cheer on…. Sweet as pie.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“Inspiring and hopeful…. [a] tender coming-of-age story, perfect for fans for Lynda Mullaly Hunt and Ali Benjamin.”
— ALA Booklist
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062803467
ISBN-10: 0062803468
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: April 16th, 2019
Pages: 384
Language: English