The Perfect Mother: A Novel (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Perfect Mother: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
On Our Shelves Now
Mysterious Galaxy Books
24 on hand, as of May 27 12:45pm
(Mystery Suspense)

Staff Reviews


The Perfect Mother is an ingeniously plotted domestic noir thriller with a generous side of spot-on social commentary. The action begins when a group of Brooklynite new mothers are enjoying a baby-free “moms’ night out” and one of their babies is abducted. The story focuses on three of these young mothers as they are engulfed by the ensuing police investigation and media frenzy. Marriages are stressed, careers are in jeopardy, painful secrets become public media fodder, and no one is getting much sleep. Intermittent chapters feature an unreliable mystery narrator, providing more clues to the case. Molloy’s meticulously crafted puzzle ends with a shocking plot twist that deliciously confounds the reader. A movie version is already in the works. Highly recommended for fans of psychological suspense and astute social commentary.

— From Kim Devoe

May 2018 Indie Next List


“Buckle up for a gripping read that had me up until 2:00 in the morning! Aimee Molloy taps into two of the deepest fears a mother can have: The ultimate fear of losing a child, and the secretive fear of losing her identity. As a new mother, this book spoke to me on every level. The insecurity, the worries, the panic, the judgment - you name it. Add a missing child, and all those feelings were multiplied by a thousand. Don't miss this captivating novel - it won't disappoint!”
— Teresa Steele, Old Firehouse Books, Fort Collins, CO

Description


THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER AND MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF THE SUMMER—SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE STARRING SCANDAL’S KERRY WASHINGTON

An addictive psychological thriller about a group of women whose lives become unexpectedly connected when one of their newborns goes missing.

A night out. A few hours of fun. That’s all it was meant to be.

They call themselves the May Mothers—a group of new moms whose babies were born in the same month. Twice a week, they get together in Brooklyn’s Prospect Park for some much-needed adult time.

When the women go out for drinks at the hip neighborhood bar, they are looking for a fun break from their daily routine. But on this hot Fourth of July night, something goes terrifyingly wrong: one of the babies is taken from his crib. Winnie, a single mom, was reluctant to leave six-week-old Midas with a babysitter, but her fellow May Mothers insisted everything would be fine. Now he is missing. What follows is a heart-pounding race to find Midas, during which secrets are exposed, marriages are tested, and friendships are destroyed.

Thirteen days. An unexpected twist. The Perfect Mother is a "true page turner." —B.A. Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors

About the Author


Aimee Molloy is the author of the New York Times bestseller However Long the Night: Molly Melching’s Journey to Help Millions of African Women and Girls Triumph and the co-author of several non-fiction books. She lives in Brooklyn with her husband and two daughters. The Perfect Mother is her first novel.

Praise For…


A most anticipated thriller of the season: Vanity Fair, Pop Sugar, Goodreads, The Cut | A New York Post “Must-Read” | A USA Today “Book You Won’t  Want to Miss”| An Indie Next Pick | A Library Reads Pick

“An electrifying thriller—and a subtle, savvy skewering of the endless expectations of modern motherhood.”

“Whip-smart.... Very much in the mold of recent best-sellers like The Girl on the Train and The Woman in the Window, but it’s also a sharply drawn take on the cult of modern parenting and the particular pressure women face—from within and without—to pull it all off, flawlessly.”

“A gripping page turner that explores the pressures of modern motherhood, as well as a mother’s absolute worst nightmare. I could not be prouder to be bringing this thriller to the big screen.”

“A desperate, thrilling mystery that you’ll think you have all figured out – until you realize you don’t.”

“A riveting psychological thriller that takes a sharp, insightful look at motherhood, The Perfect Mother explores the pressures, the hopes, the fears, and the secrets between a group of friends who realize how little they know one another when a crisis strikes. A fast-paced, twisty, engrossing read—I loved it!”

“Molloy, a master of clever misdirection, deftly explores the expectations, insecurities, and endless judgement that accompany motherhood in this fast-paced thriller featuring a bevy of strong, smart, and realistically flawed women who, refreshingly, have each other’s backs when it counts the most. Mesmerizing.”

“For a charmed group of new moms, a girls’ night out ends in one mother’s worst nightmare. In twist after masterful twist, secrets and lies begin to unravel; The Perfect Mother is a tense and riveting page turner with an ending you won’t see coming.”

“Keeps readers guessing... bound to press familiar hot buttons and unnerve many readers.”

“I raced through The Perfect Mother, desperate to find out what would happen. Both the writing and the characterization are excellent, and it was so easy to identify with these women and the pressure they are under.  I absolutely loved it—a true page turner!”

“Utterly page-turning.”

“A captivating and deeply insightful page-turner, The Perfect Mother is both a riveting mystery and a satisfyingly sharp social commentary about what it means to be a good mother.”

“Readers who can’t get enough of suburban suspense along the lines of Liane Moriarty B. A. Paris will want to give this a try.”

“For lovers of cunning narrative suspense in the vein of Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl, this debut novel.... Will keep readers turning the pages.”

[A] promising first novel.... The mystery of Midas’s disappearance may be the skeleton on which Molloy’s plot hangs, but it’s her characters’ anxieties that give the story life and substance.... Her clever narrative structure heightens tension while spotlighting the solitary struggles of motherhood.”

“Impressive and satisfying.... This gripping and fresh novel will provoke as much thought as it does excitement.”

“Perfect for fans of Gone Girl. If you’re looking for a dose of suspense combined with wry observations about modern motherhood, this is it.”
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062696793
ISBN-10: 0062696793
Publisher: Harper
Publication Date: May 1st, 2018
Pages: 336
Language: English