Heart of Iron (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Heart of Iron Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Mysterious Galaxy Books
3 on hand, as of Sep 18 8:45am
(Young Adult Novels 12 and up)

Staff Reviews


When Ana’s android partner, Di, starts to experience debilitating glitches, she’ll stop at nothing to save him — but an Ironblood boy beats her to the coordinates that could save Di’s life.  The two end up on the lam, racing towards the coordinates together, and along the way they discover secrets that will change their lives forever.  If one were to put Firefly, Treasure Planet, and Don Bluth’s Anastasia into a blender, the result would be Ashley Poston’s Heart of Iron — it’s got a loveable and effortlessly diverse cast of characters, space adventures, and the classic trope of a long-lost princess.  Poston has written an engaging and fast-paced tale, with an ending that will leave you chomping at the bit for the sequel.

— Darcy

Granted, I was predisposed to like this before I cracked the cover. “An action-packed tale full of romance, royalty, and adventure, inspired by the story of Anastasia” is right up my alley! But Ashley applies the same geeky insights and charm that made Geekerella a fun update to the tale, with plenty of scoundrels, rogues, and charmers to root for … carefully, with an eye on one’s valuables, and a protagonist whose most interesting trait is not that she may be space royalty.

— From Nifty Novels and More from Maryelizabeth

Spring 2018 Kids’ Indie Next List


“The perfect way to sum up this action-packed, heart-wrenching, and humorous book that came out of Ashely Poston's dark and dastardly brain is Anastasia meets Firefly. From the first page, there is action and adventure, with plenty of laughs, gasps, and sighs mixed in. By the end of the book, you will want - and need - more. Seriously.”
— Renee Becher, Old Firehouse Books, Fort Collins, CO

Description


An action-packed tale full of romance, royalty, and adventure, inspired by the story of Anastasia. Perfect for fans of Six of Crows, Cinder, and the cult classic television show Firefly.

Seventeen-year-old Ana is a scoundrel by nurture and an outlaw by nature. Found as a child drifting through space with a sentient android called D09, Ana was saved by a fearsome space captain and the grizzled crew she now calls family. But D09—one of the last remaining illegal Metals—has been glitching, and Ana will stop at nothing to find a way to fix him.

Ana’s desperate effort to save D09 leads her on a quest to steal the coordinates to a lost ship that could offer all the answers. But at the last moment, a spoiled Ironblood boy beats Ana to her prize. He has his own reasons for taking the coordinates, and he doesn’t care what he’ll sacrifice to keep them.

When everything goes wrong, she and the Ironblood end up as fugitives on the run. Now their entire kingdom is after them—and the coordinates—and not everyone wants them captured alive.

What they find in a lost corner of the universe will change all their lives—and unearth dangerous secrets. But when a darkness from Ana’s past returns, she must face an impossible choice: does she protect a kingdom that wants her dead or save the Metal boy she loves?

About the Author


Ashley Poston loves dread pirates, moving castles, and starry night skies. When not lost in a book, she’s lost in real life, searching for her next great adventure. She is the author of Heart of Iron and Geekerella and can be found online at www.ashposton.com.

Praise For…


“The perfect blend of action, romance, technological futurism, sci-fi, and fantasy, this intergalactic drama demands attention and rewards its readers.”
— Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books (starred review)

“Tangled politics, electrifying twists, and heady romances—the stars align in Poston’s faster-than-light sci-fi adventure. A delicious, absorbing book.”
— Sara Raasch, New York Times bestselling author of the Snow Like Ashes trilogy

“With sharply drawn characters, a relentless plot, and an utterly spellbinding world, Heart of Iron is a must-read for sci-fi fans.”
— C.J. Redwine, New York Times bestselling author of The Shadow Queen

“Poston delivers a delightful cast and non-stop thrills in this lightspeed space adventure. The pages flew by, and I couldn’t put it down.”
— Victoria Schwab, #1 New York Times bestselling author of This Savage Song and Our Dark Duet

“The legends surrounding Anastasia Romanove get an sf makeover in this...exciting Firefly-style space opera.”
— Booklist

“A great choice for fans of Victoria Aveyard’s “Red Queen” trilogy and for young readers looking for a hint of Game of Thrones”
— School Library Journal

“Fast-paced...will leave readers waiting for the sequel.”
— Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062652850
ISBN-10: 0062652850
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Publication Date: February 27th, 2018
Pages: 480
Language: English