The Queen's Rising (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Queen's Rising Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Mysterious Galaxy Books
3 on hand, as of Oct 21 3:30am
(Young Adult Novels 12 and up)

Staff Reviews


"I quite simply loved this book. There is a graceful timelessness to it that captures a beautiful world filled with well-imagined characters. There is forbidden romance, revenge, war, and scheming, but all done with such a delicate hand that envelopes you in the story as you fall in love with it. Rebecca Ross is a passion of wit who has woven a remarkable debut that is well worth your time. This is a book I would pick up and reread for its beautiful language; it left me wanting to highlight countless sentences and its characters easily find a home in your heart."

- Constance

— From Constance's Collection

Description


In this epic debut fantasy, inspired by Renaissance France, an outcast finds herself bound to a disgraced lord and entangled in his plot to overthrow the king. Perfect for fans of Grave Mercy and Red Queen!

Brienna desires only two things: to master her passion and to be chosen by a patron. Growing up in Valenia at the renowned Magnalia House should have prepared her. While some are born with a talent for one of the five passions—art, music, dramatics, wit, and knowledge—Brienna struggled to find hers until she chose knowledge. However, Brienna’s greatest fear comes true: she is left without a patron.

Months later, her life takes an unexpected turn when a disgraced lord offers her patronage. Suspicious of his intent, she reluctantly accepts. But there is much more to his story, for there is a dangerous plot to overthrow the king of Maevana—the rival kingdom of Valenia—and restore the rightful queen, and her magic, to the throne.

With war brewing, Brienna must choose which side she will remain loyal to: passion or blood.

About the Author


Rebecca Ross received her bachelor’s degree in English from the University of Georgia. In the past, she has worked at a Colorado dude ranch, as a school librarian, and as a live-time captionist for a college. She resides in northeast Georgia with her husband and her dog. The Queen’s Rising is her debut novel. Visit her on the web at www.rebeccarossauthor.com or on Twitter @_RebeccaRoss.

Praise For…


★“Sophisticated plotting is the hallmark of this debut, which deftly navigates complex, treasonous plots and political intrigue. [A] Stunning literary adventure.”
— Booklist (starred review)

“A sprawling girl-powered fantasy. A compelling page-turner. Hand this magical debut to readers who loved Shannon Hale’s Princess Academy or Sarah J. Maas’s “Throne of Glass” series.”
— School Library Journal
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062471345
ISBN-10: 0062471341
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: February 6th, 2018
Pages: 464
Language: English