Image result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Image result for email logo black and white

Heart of Thorns (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
Heart of Thorns Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
Mysterious Galaxy Books
11 on hand, as of Nov 16 4:45am
(FF Young Adult)

Staff Reviews


Gwyrach. Half God, Half Human, Only Female. With the simple touch of a hand they can freeze a man’s heart in his very chest or heal it from the mortal wound of a well-placed arrow. The healing part has been long forgotten though, and Mia Rose’s kingdom is ruled by fear. It is a world where women wear gloves, marry who they’re told to, and live as subservient citizens. A gilded palace or a shack is still a cage when it is a place that holds you and strips you of your power.    

Learning to accept and love yourself for who you are, even if you’ve been raised to despise and fear it can be one of the hardest battles you’ll ever face. Our protagonist may have been raised to hate what she is, but if she can embrace herself and her power, then her future can be her own. Heart of Thorns is fast-paced, containing all the great elements of a good YA fantasy, while also giving readers its own beautiful mythology of witches. A truly enjoyable read that gives you danger, magic, and a world begging for just the right group of characters to shatter and rebuild it. – Constance

Description


Inventive and heart-racing, this fierce feminist teen fantasy from debut author Bree Barton explores a dark kingdom in which only women can possess magic—and every woman is suspected of having it.

Fans of Leigh Bardugo and Laini Taylor won’t want to miss this gorgeously written, bold novel, the first in the Heart of Thorns trilogy.

In the ancient river kingdom, where touch is a battlefield and bodies the instruments of war, Mia Rose has pledged her life to hunting Gwyrach: women who can manipulate flesh, bones, breath, and blood. The same women who killed her mother without a single scratch.

But when Mia's father announces an alliance with the royal family, she is forced to trade in her knives and trousers for a sumptuous silk gown. Determined to forge her own path forward, Mia plots a daring escape, but could never predict the greatest betrayal of all: her own body. Mia possesses the very magic she has sworn to destroy.

Now, as she untangles the secrets of her past, Mia must learn to trust her heart…even if it kills her.

About the Author


Bree Barton is a writer in Los Angeles. When she’s not lost in whimsy, she works as a ghostwriter and dance teacher to teen girls. She is on Instagram and YouTube as Speak Breely, where she posts funny videos of her melancholy dog. Bree is not a fan of corsets.

Praise For…


“A fantastical feminist fairy tale. Full of love, mystery, sisterhood, and severed hands, Heart of Thorns casts a fierce and magical spell.” 
— Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author of Caraval and Legendary

“A compulsively readable fantasy.”
— Booklist

“Barton weaves a girl-powered tale of love, family, and self-acceptance, and readers who appreciate fast paced, high-stakes fantasy will be ensnared by Mia’s adventures. Those looking for rich world-building will also find much to love. A must-buy for any library where fantasy is popular.”
— School Library Journal

“[An] evocative, epic ode to feminism, magic, and the wonder of fairy tales... A gripping, complex narrative balances emotion and logic in this trilogy opener, while vividly crafted characters and cinematic details create a world readers will want to get lost in.”
— Publishers Weekly
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062447685
ISBN-10: 0062447688
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: July 31st, 2018
Pages: 464
Language: English
Series: Heart of Thorns