Kali Wallace & Garret Weyr Signing, with Guests

Kali Wallace & Garret Weyr

San Diego author Kali Wallace, known to readers as the author of the young adult novels Shallow Graves and The Memory Trees, just released her middle grade fantasy, City of Islands.  Sally Pla raves, "City of Islands churns with mystery and adventure, friendship and betrayal. I fell right under its singing-spell, and didn’t want to leave." Kali studied geology and earned a PhD in geophysics before she realized she enjoyed inventing imaginary worlds more than she liked researching the real one.

Garret Weyr is a Southern California writer whose seven books (many published as Garret Freymann-Weyr) have been banned, translated into a multitude of languages, and included in college curricula. Her new book, The Language of Spells, “reminds readers that there might be magic all around us, even if we cannot see it.” — School Library Journal.  Garret and Kali will be joined in conversation by authors Sally J. Pla (Stanley Will Probably Be Fine) and Margaret Dilloway (Momotaro Book 2: Xander and the Dream Thief).  

 

This event is free and seating is first come, first serve. To get a book signed during one of our events, a copy of the event book must be purchased through Mysterious Galaxy. Event purchases through Mysterious Galaxy not only keeps our bookstore doors open, but also makes author signings possible.

Event date: 
Saturday, August 4, 2018 - 2:00pm
Event address: 
5943 Balboa Ave
Suite 100
San Diego, CA 92111
City of Islands Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062499813
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - July 24th, 2018

A dark and riveting middle grade fantasy from the critically acclaimed Kali Wallace about an archipelago of magical islands and one girl's dangerous discovery on the ocean floor. Perfect for fans of Holly Black and Kate Milford.

In a foggy archipelago called the City of Islands, twelve-year-old Mara has always been fascinated by the magic that drifts on the air as songs. But as a servant for the powerful Lady of the Tides, Mara must earn her keep by searching for magical treasures deep in the murky ocean.

Then Mara finds the skeletons of strange hybrid creatures that haven't existed in the city for centuries--all humming with a powerful spell-song. Convinced her discovery will earn her the opportunity to study magic, Mara shares them with the Lady. But instead of a reward, the Lady gives Mara a new challenge: to sneak into the island fortress, the Winter Blade.

Now Mara must dive deeper than ever before to survive her mission. The chilling truths that Mara uncovers along the way, about her past as well as about the secrets of her beloved city, are more dangerous--and magical--than she ever imagined.


The Language of Spells Cover Image
By Garret Weyr, Katie Harnett (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781452159584
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chronicle Books - June 26th, 2018

Grisha is a dragon in a world that's forgotten how to see him. Maggie is a unusual child who thinks she's perfectly ordinary. They're an unlikely duo--but magic, like friendship, is funny. Sometimes it chooses those who might not look so likely. And magic has chosen Grisha and Maggie to solve the darkest mystery in Vienna. Decades ago, when World War II broke out, someone decided that there were too many dragons for all of them to be free. As they investigate, Grisha and Maggie ask the question everyone's forgotten: Where have the missing dragons gone? And is there a way to save them? At once richly magical and tragically historical, The Language of Spells is a novel full of adventure about remembering old stories, forging new ones, and the transformative power of friendship.


Stanley Will Probably Be Fine Cover Image
By Sally J. Pla, Steve Wolfhard (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062445797
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - February 6th, 2018

Momotaro Book 2 Xander and the Dream Thief Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9781484790076
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Disney-Hyperion - April 3rd, 2018

Event Category: