Image result for twitter black and white logo Image result for instagram logo black and whiteRelated image Related image

Staff Favorites

Check out our favorite books we've read and reviewed below!

Meet our booksellers and check out all their past and present reviews here


Staff Pick Badge
The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780765387561
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - October 6th, 2020

Staff Pick Badge
Circe Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316556323
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Back Bay Books - April 14th, 2020

Staff Pick Badge
Last Girls Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781250256584
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Teen - May 4th, 2021

Full of twist, turns, and dark secrets, LAST GIRLS by Demetra Brodsky is everything I wanted, and more. The Juniper sisters, Birdie, Blue, and Honey, are doomsday preppers who live with their mom in a pepper community. They have been taught to trust no one, and always stick together, no matter what. Each sister has her own personality, way of dealing with everything life throws at them, and way of keeping their childhood imaginary friend Bucky alive. I love the way Demetra showed how the girls were going through their everyday life, not only worried about things going on in the prepper community, but also how they had to survive high school, and all the everyday concerns there. Honey was a character I instantly connected to, and was able to find parts of myself in her. Demetra is great at creating strong female characters, that while have weaknesses and faults, are still dynamic and strong. This is a book I will always go back to! -Victoria 


Staff Pick Badge
The Ten Thousand Doors of January Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316421973
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Redhook - May 12th, 2020

Staff Pick Badge
The House in the Cerulean Sea Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250217318
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - December 29th, 2020

Staff Pick Badge
Winter's Orbit Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781250758835
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - February 2nd, 2021

Staff Pick Badge
The Grey Bastards: A Novel (The Lot Lands #1) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780525572459
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown - March 19th, 2019

"Live in the Saddle. Die on the hog." 

I never thought I would find myself so drawn into a story where the main characters are half-orcs. But by page three I was hooked, and rooting for them. This book took what I thought I knew about fantasy and flipped it on it head. The main character is Jackal, a half-orc and a member of the Grey Bastards, a biker-like gang that rides hogs with snouts and tusks instead of wheels. He is young but also cunning and head-strong. Along with his "brothers" they patrol the Lots and do their best to keep full-blooded orcs away from the human world. Jonathan French created a rich world filled with boorish jokes, scheming, fighting, brotherhood, friendship, and betrayal. Each member of The Grey Bastards has their own charm. Some you end up liking more than others, like Oats and Fetching. The Grey Bastards was a book that I actually found myself laughing out loud while I was reading. The characters breathe life into the pages and leave you wanting more. -Victoria 


Staff Pick Badge
Gideon the Ninth (The Locked Tomb Series #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250313188
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tordotcom - July 14th, 2020

Staff Pick Badge
This Is How You Lose the Time War Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781534430990
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - March 17th, 2020

Staff Pick Badge
The City of Brass: A Novel (The Daevabad Trilogy) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062678119
Availability: Backordered
Published: Harper Voyager - July 3rd, 2018

Staff Pick Badge
The Ruin of Kings (A Chorus of Dragons #1) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781250225719
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Fantasy - August 25th, 2020

Staff Pick Badge
The Only Good Indians: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781982136468
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - January 26th, 2021

Staff Pick Badge
The Deep Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525537922
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - February 23rd, 2021

Staff Pick Badge
Recursion: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781524759797
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - March 10th, 2020

Staff Pick Badge
Mara, Daughter of the Nile Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780140319293
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Books - October 1st, 1985

Staff Pick Badge
A Darker Shade of Magic: A Novel (Shades of Magic #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780765376466
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - January 19th, 2016

Staff Pick Badge
The Name of the Wind (Kingkiller Chronicle #1) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780756404741
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: DAW - April 1st, 2008

Staff Pick Badge
All the Birds in the Sky Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780765379955
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - April 11th, 2017

Staff Pick Badge
Hollow Kingdom Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781538745830
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - July 7th, 2020

This is the zombie apocalypse like you’ve never seen it before!  Things go sideways when S.T. the crow’s human, Big Jim, loses an eyeball.  Jim’s worsening condition propels S.T. to leave the safety of domestic life, along with the simple, slobbering bloodhound, Dennis.  Together they roam the ruins of Seattle, searching for purpose in this new, Cheeto-less world.  While Hollow Kingdom mostly follows the foul-mouthed, human-loving crow, Buxton also takes the occasional detour to see how other animals are coping around the world.  Not only is our corvid companion a profane delight, she also manages to effortlessly capture the aloof arrogance of a cat, the wise cadence of an elephant, and even the eternal serenity of trees.  Hilarious and at times surprisingly poignant, Hollow Kingdom is a must-read for anyone with a sense of humor as black as a crow’s wing.

— Darcy


Otaku Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250203946
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - February 23rd, 2021

Staff Pick Badge
Emily Eternal Cover Image
$29.70
ISBN: 9781538730393
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grand Central Publishing - April 23rd, 2019

Emily Eternal begins with the end of the world.  The sun is going out, and humanity only has six months left...which is bad news for the revolutionary artificial consciousness-turned-therapist Emily, who is just starting to figure humans, and herself, out.  When she comes across an anomaly in her genetic database, her lab is brutally attacked and her servers taken offline. Emily ends up on the run with two new friends, Jason, her crush from the university, and Mayra, a small-town sheriff.  Emily wants answers, and not just for what happened at the lab — she wants to figure out how she can save humankind from obliteration, and why anyone in their right mind would want to stop her. With Emily Eternal, M.G. Wheaton raises interesting questions about the nature of memory, perception, and personhood, all against a backdrop of trying to preserve humanity while still staying true to what makes humanity human.  Emily’s conversational internal monologue keeps the themes and science accessible, making this perfect for adults and teens alike.

— Darcy


Staff Pick Badge
Gods of Jade and Shadow Cover Image
$26.00
Currently unavailable, email or call for more information.
ISBN: 9780525620754
Published: Del Rey - July 23rd, 2019

It's 1928, and the Jazz Age is in full swing - for everyone except Casiopea Tun. Since her father died and she and her mother were forced to move back to her grandfather's estate in a small Yucatán village, she has been worked to the bone. All her daydreams and secret wishes seemed doomed to fade to nothing, until the day she accidentally releases Hun-Kamé, a Mayan god of death, deposed Lord of Xibalba, from a prison he'd been trapped in by his treacherous brother. She is swept away on a journey to help return Hun-Kamé to his throne, out into a world she has never experienced. She encounters demons, spirits, and a mythic magic that threatens to overturn the world. Gods of Jade and Shadow weaves its own kind of magic with word and symbol, pulling you headlong into the dangers of Casiopea's journey. Brutal and beautiful in turns, this coming-of-age tale will captivate you from the very first page.  - Kylie


Staff Pick Badge
Nottingham: A Novel Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250195616
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Forge Books - September 15th, 2020

Makaryk’s Robin Hood-inspired debut Nottingham feels like a return to fresh, invigorating storytelling. There is so much to love about this book where captivating plot twists, nuanced characterizations, and superb writing all take center stage. Robin Hood himself is just one of the many characters whose perspectives, choices, and deeds – good or ill – make up the story. In Nottingham nothing is black and white. No one is a complete villain or hero. Makaryk’s layered characters and rich setting ground the story in a realistic and compelling narrative while clever dialogue throughout captures the familiar, jovial spirit of the Robin Hood legend. It’s a rare and special thing to have a novel so steeped in legend and folktale be such a breath of fresh air. An impressive debut and a strong contender for my favorite novel of 2019. – Kelly


Staff Pick Badge
The Starless Sea: A Novel Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781101971383
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - August 4th, 2020