Jeff Sweat signs Mayfly, In Conversation with Stephanie Diaz

Jeff Sweat

"Jeff Sweat has made a living from words his entire career, starting out as an award-winning tech journalist for InformationWeek magazine and moving into marketing.  He led the content marketing team for Yahoo and pioneered its use of social media.  He directed PR for two of the top advertising agencies in the country, Deutsch LA and 72andSunny.  He now runs his own Los Angeles–based PR and marketing agency, Mister Sweat.  Jeff is the author of Mayfly."

"Stephanie Diaz lives in San Diego, CA with her husband, writing stories and working as a freelance editor. She graduated from San Diego State University with a degree in film production. She is the author of the Extraction series, a YA sci-fi trilogy published by Macmillan."

This event is free and seating is first come, first serve. To get a book signed during one of our events, a copy of the event book must be purchased through Mysterious Galaxy. Event purchases through Mysterious Galaxy not only keeps our bookstore doors open, but also makes author signings possible.

 

Event date: 
Saturday, June 9, 2018 - 2:00pm
Event address: 
5943 Balboa Ave
Suite 100
San Diego, CA 92111
Mayfly Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250139207
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - May 8th, 2018

A futuristic thriller that pits teens against teens, this provocative debut is for fans of James Dashner and Marie Lu.

Jemma has spent her life scavenging tools and supplies for her tribe in the their small enclave outside what used to be a big city. Now she's a teen, and old enough to become a Mama. Making babies is how her people survive--in Jemma's world, life ends at age seventeen.

Survival has eclipsed love ever since the Parents died of a mysterious plague. But Jemma's connection to a boy named Apple is stronger than her duty as a Mama. Forced to leave, Jemma and Apple are joined in exile by a mysterious boy who claims to know what is causing them to die. The world is crumbling around them, and their time is running out. Life is short. Can they outlive it?


Staff Pick Logo
Evolution Cover Image
$21.99
ISBN: 9781250041265
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - September 8th, 2015

Clementine's world is on the brink of destruction. An army of aliens from the distant planet Marden has arrived with a massive fleet of battleships, intent on finally putting an end to the war Kiel's old rulers initiated. With the Alliance headquarters reduced to rubble and one of the rebel leaders close to death, Clementine and her friends have no choice but to retreat to the Core to escape the alien ships attacking the Surface.

But safety in the Core means forming a temporary alliance with their sworn enemy, Commander Charlie. He's a ruthless man and a liar, but striking a bargain with him--his pardon in exchange for their help defeating the Mardenites--is the only way the rebels might survive the war. And Charlie needs their help too, for Marden's force is more powerful than anyone anticipated, with weapons and technologies never before seen on Kiel. Unless old feuds can be set aside long enough for a diplomatic solution to be found, all of Kiel's people will be destroyed, and everything Clementine and her friends have sacrificed in their fight for peace will have been for nothing.


Rebellion Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250041258
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - February 10th, 2015

It's been seven days since Clementine, Logan, and their allies retreated into hiding on the Surface. Clementine feels almost safe in their company, but she knows it won't last. The rebels may have won one fight against Commander Charlie, but the fight is far from over. He will find a way to fly his Core battleship to the nearby planet, Marden, no matter how many lives are lost in the process. Unless the rebels defeat him first. 
The plan is simple: they will infiltrate each sector and weaken his infrastructure from within his ranks. They will convince the underage workers in the camps to join in the uprising. They will hijack ships, enter the Core, and assassinate Charlie. But Charlie has more weapons in his possession than guns and bombs, and he will do whatever it takes to keep the rebels from ruining his plans. With every step, Clementine draws closer to losing Logan and everyone she cares about--and losing control of herself.


Extraction Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250041173
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - July 22nd, 2014

"Welcome to extraction testing"

Clementine has spent her whole life preparing for her 16th birthday when she'll be tested for Extraction, in the hopes of being sent from Kiel's toxic Surface to the much safer Core, where people live without fear or starvation. When she proves promising enough to be "extracted," she must leave without Logan, the boy she loves. Torn apart from her only sense of family, Clem promises to come back and save him from brutal Surface life. What she finds initially at the Core is a utopia compared to the Surface--it's free of hard labor, gun-wielding officials, and the moon's lethal acid--but life is anything but safe, and Clementine learns that the planet's leaders are planning to exterminate Surface dwellers--and that means Logan, too. Trapped by the steel walls of the underground and the lies that keep her safe, Clementine must find a way to escape and rescue Logan and the rest of the planet. But the planet's leaders don't want her running--they want her subdued.

With great writing, fluid dialogue, and a cast of unforgettable characters, Stephanie Diaz's Extraction is a page-turning, gripping read--sure to entertain lovers of Hunger Games and Ender's Game--and leave them breathless for more.


Event Category: