Alma Katsu signs in San Diego

Mysterious Galaxy is happy to be hosting Alma Katsu for her latest title, The Hunger.  Based on the famous Donner Party wagon train, Alma has blended the historical with the supernatural.  On a journey to the West through uncharted territory, tensions run high after mysterious deaths and disappearances.  Evil is looming -- whether through a curse, human madness, or just plain bad luck -- and the travellers will be pushed to their breaking point.  Author Christopher Golden has praised The Hunger as “a terrific historical novel with a thrilling, bloody twist.  Alma Katsu's brilliant reimagining of the Donner party's fate is rich with character, laden with imminent doom, and propelled by chilling mystery.  A novel that book clubs and dark fiction fans should devour with equal relish."

Alma’s previous works include The Taker, The Reckoning, and The Descent.  She has also contributed to Publishers Weekly and The Huffington Post.  Before getting into writing, she worked as a senior intelligence analyst for several US agencies and think tanks.  She currently lives near Washington, DC with her husband.

 

 

Event date: 
Saturday, March 10, 2018 - 2:00pm
Event address: 
5943 Balboa Ave
Suite 100
San Diego, CA 92111
Staff Pick Logo
The Hunger Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780735212510
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - March 6th, 2018

The tale of the ill-fated Donner Party’s passage through the Sierra Mountains is a staple of American Western mythology. Scholars blame arrogance, a late start, an untested shortcut, and other poor decisions for the party’s being stranded by winter, leading to the deaths of about half the group, and a significant number of the survivors turning to cannibalism. But what if there was a more sinister cause for their behavior? “Turn back, or you will all die.” You’ve been warned! Recommended for fans of Dan Simmons’ The Terror and Christopher Golden’s Ararat


The Taker: Book One of the Taker Trilogy Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9781439197066
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery Books - March 27th, 2012

In the tradition of Anne Rice and Elizabeth Kostova comes a hauntingly atmospheric tale spanning several lifetimes--a love story featuring alchemy, lust, and betrayal.

 

True love can last an eternity . . . but immortality comes at a price.

 

On the midnight shift at a hospital in rural St. Andrew, Maine, Dr. Luke Findley is expecting a quiet evening. Until a mysterious woman arrives in his ER, escorted by police--Lanore McIlvrae is a murder suspect--and Luke is inexplicably drawn to her. As Lanny tells him her story, an impassioned account of love and betrayal that transcends time and mortality, she changes his life forever. . . . At the turn of the nineteenth century, when St. Andrew was a Puritan settlement, Lanny was consumed as a child by her love for the son of the town's founder, and she will do anything to be with him forever. But the price she pays is steep--an immortal bond that chains her to a terrible fate for eternity.


The Reckoning (Taker Trilogy #2) Cover Image
$23.99
ISBN: 9781451651812
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery Books - January 22nd, 2013

A love triangle spanning 200 years...Alma Katsu takes readers on a breathtaking journey through the landscape of the heart.

 

Love saved her soul . . . but the shadows of the past condemn her.

 

THE RECKONING

 

In this "rich, satisfying, and gorgeously written sequel" (Chapters) to her acclaimed debut novel, The Taker, Alma Katsu pairs a mysteriously alluring young woman with an ER doctor from rural Maine on a harrowing, passion-fueled chase that transcends the boundaries of time.

 

With Dr. Luke Findley by her side, Lanore McIlvrae imprisoned her immortal enemy and has embarked on a new life; now all of London is clamoring to see the Victoria and Albert Museum's "mystery" exhibit-- Lanny's collections of lost nineteenth-century treasures, including the last precious gift given to her by Jonathan, the man who owns her heart for eternity. But the portal to her past opens once more, as Adair, the Taker, crashes into the twenty-first century to hunt down Lanny and exact revenge for her heartless betrayal--the price she must pay for an endless love.


The Descent (Taker Trilogy #3) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781451651829
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery Books - January 7th, 2014

Alma Katsu's acclaimed trilogy--a supernatural epic that began with The Taker and sparked a chase around the world in The Reckoning--comes to a stunning conclusion, and brings Lanore McIlvrae to a final encounter with Adair, her powerful nemesis.

 

Dismayed by Adair's otherworldly powers and afraid of his passionate temper, Lanore has run from him across time, even imprisoning him behind a wall for two centuries to save Jonathan, her eternal love. But instead of punishing her for her betrayal, Adair declared his love for Lanore once more and set her free.

 

Now, Lanore has tracked Adair to his mystical island home to ask for one last favor. The Queen of the Underworld is keeping Jonathan as her consort, and Lanore wants Adair to send her to the hereafter so that she may beg for his release. Will she honor her promise to return to Adair? Or is her true intention to be reunited with Jonathan at any cost?


Event Category: