Noir: A Novel Cover Image
Liar's Candle Cover Image
The Elizas Cover Image
The Paris Spy: A Maggie Hope Mystery Cover Image
Daughters of the Storm Cover Image

The Wanted Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780399161506
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - December 26th, 2017

Chicago: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062797193
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Custom House - February 27th, 2018

Batman: Nightwalker (DC Icons) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780399549786
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - January 2nd, 2018

Robicheaux (Dave Robicheaux) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781501176845
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - January 2nd, 2018

Ocean Meets Sky Cover Image
By Terry Fan, Eric Fan, Terry Fan (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481470377
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - May 15th, 2018

Where the Past Begins: A Writer's Memoir Cover Image
By Amy Tan
$28.99
ISBN: 9780062319296
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ecco - October 17th, 2017

Hiddensee: A Tale of the Once and Future Nutcracker Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062684387
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow - October 31st, 2017

Don't Let Go Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780525955115
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dutton Books - September 26th, 2017

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian 10th Anniversary Edition Cover Image
$20.99
ISBN: 9780316504041
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 19th, 2017

She Persisted Around the World: 13 Women Who Changed History Cover Image
By Chelsea Clinton, Alexandra Boiger (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525516996
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Philomel Books - March 6th, 2018

Check out what we've have recently read and enjoyed!

Staff Pick Logo
The Power Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780316547611
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little Brown and Company - October 10th, 2017

What would the world look like if men—not women—lived in constant fear of their physical safety? The Power is a terrifying yet illuminating book that flips a very real issue on its head. Naomi Alderman will not only make you think about gender, but also race, class, war, religion, refugees, and so much more. Reading this book is powerful in itself: its basis in reality is frightening, yet the light Naomi is able to shed on that reality is a timely reminder of why we read and write speculative fiction in today’s world. A moving novel—and a call to arms for everyone to pay close attention to the power within themselves. – Kelly


Check out what we've have recently read and enjoyed!

Staff Pick Logo
Circe (#1 New York Times Bestseller) Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316556347
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little Brown and Company - April 10th, 2018

Beautifully composed and deeply compelling, Circe is hands-down one of the best novels of 2018. As she did in Song of Achilles, Miller recreates the ancient and enchanting world of Greek mythology, this time focusing on ocean nymph Circe. Cast out of her home and exiled to the island of Aiaia, Circe turns not only to her enchantments, but also to the world of Mortals, becoming close with legendary figures like Daedalus, Odysseus, and Penelope. Miller’s delicate, yet stunning prose swept me off my feet — I wanted to savor every moment with Circe in her immortal world. Introspective, soft, at times simply breathtaking, but always beautiful. So, so beautiful. – Kelly


Check out what we've have recently read and enjoyed!

Staff Pick Logo
Inkmistress Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062433282
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - March 6th, 2018

Inkmistress is just your standard “demigoddess with the power to alter reality by expressing how she’d like to see the world in her blood accidently catalysts her girlfriend’s transformation into a dragon, setting off deadly consequences for the inhabitants of their country fairy tale.” Asra, who has been raised in very sheltered circumstances by the local healer, must not only deal with trying to rein in Ina’s quest for vengeance, but also question her own mythological heritage, determine whether a group of assassins are allies or adversaries, and muddle through everyday interactions with other beings in a far more concentrated form than she has previously experienced. Recommended for fantasy readers who like their magical creatures interspersed with plenty of kissing. – Maryelizabeth

 

From Our February 2018 Newsletter:


Check out what we've have recently read and enjoyed!

Staff Pick Logo
Space Opera Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781481497497
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Saga Press - April 10th, 2018

Space Opera! Exactly what Catherynne Valente’s new brilliant hoot of a novel is about! Aliens arrive (weird and nutty ones), and they have serious doubts if humans are really civilized. Their test: a human band has to compete in the galactic version of Eurovision and not finish dead last. Our champion: Decibel Jones, a washed out glam-rock David Bowie has-been. The result: great lunacy and fun! And, along the way, an unending stream of the best bon-mots since Christopher Moore! Space Opera has the funniest opening line of any novel I know of. And that’s just the beginning. Enthusiastically recommended! – David


Check out what we've have recently read and enjoyed!

Staff Pick Logo
Skyjack: A Kidnap-And-Ransom Thriller (Thea Paris Novel #2) Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781681443010
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quercus Books - April 10th, 2018

Immersive action scenes and nuanced understandings of persuasion, power, and manipulation inform the second novel featuring kidnap and rescue expert Thea Paris and her allies, adversaries, and family members (some of whom fall into more than one camp). From its nausea-inducing opening scene of a skyjacked plane being forced to land in the Libyan Desert to its explosive dramatic multi-agenda actors finale, Skyjack never loses sight of the very human motivations and foibles of its protagonists and antagonists. My favorite new thriller series. – Maryelizabeth


Check out what we've have recently read and enjoyed!

Staff Pick Logo
Macbeth (Hogarth Shakespeare) Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780553419054
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hogarth Press - April 10th, 2018

Jo Nesbo’s Macbeth is a violent, propulsive thriller based on Shakespeare’s classic tragedy. It involves the struggle for power in an industrial 1970’s Scottish town reeling from unemployment, drug addiction and corruption. A young and ambitious Macbeth becomes the unwitting pawn of a manipulative drug lord, and his descent into drug-fueled brutality drives the action. Layers of treachery, betrayal, guilt and love are woven into the murderous plot, and constantly shifting viewpoints narrate the story. Filled with complex characters, unrelenting violence and technicolor action scenes, this drama is pure Nesbo. For fans of moral dilemmas, Scottish noir and the Bard’s famous play. – Kim


Check out what we've have recently read and enjoyed!

Staff Pick Logo
The Cutting Edge (Lincoln Rhyme Novel) Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781455536429
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - April 10th, 2018

The Cutting Edge is a masterful forensic thriller, featuring quadriplegic criminalist Lincoln Rhyme. After a gruesome triple murder in Manhattan’s diamond district, Rhyme is recruited by his former NYPD partner to help with the investigation. The killer left no clues, and the single witness who called 911 has disappeared. Rhyme and his partner, Amelia Sachs, begin investigating, and numerous plotlines unfold. Geothermal drilling, diamond-rich kimberlite, Manhattan earthquakes, gas-leak fires, a captured Mexican drug lord, a Russian lunatic, and a villainous mastermind in Paris all feature. Rhyme and Sachs use their Sherlockian deductive skills, vast knowledge of forensic science, field expertise, and state-of-the art technology to connect the dots in this intricate thriller. The final plot twist is spectacular. Another home run in the Lincoln Rhyme series, this installment will appeal to fans of puzzle mysteries, page-turning thrillers and C.S.I. – Kim


Check out what we've have recently read and enjoyed!

Staff Pick Logo
Ash Princess Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781524767068
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Delacorte Press - April 24th, 2018

This was an intense dark read that delves into what desperation and the will to survive can turn a person into. The main character is a fractured person who has to rebuild her identity to not only save herself but her kingdom before it is destroyed by the monstrous king who slit her mother’s throat and took her crown.

This isn’t a story about swords and epic battles. It is about the war we wage internally with ourselves and how intelligence and manipulation can be a woman’s greatest set of skills. These characters engaged with me because they show how neither life nor people are black and white. We all have the capacity for cruelty as well as kindness and the line that keeps us from becoming that which we hate can be a very fragile thing. I loved this book.

 

From Our March 2018 Newsletter:


Check out what we've have recently read and enjoyed!

Staff Pick Logo
The Hunger Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780735212510
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - March 6th, 2018

The tale of the ill-fated Donner Party’s passage through the Sierra Mountains is a staple of American Western mythology. Scholars blame arrogance, a late start, an untested shortcut, and other poor decisions for the party’s being stranded by winter, leading to the deaths of about half the group, and a significant number of the survivors turning to cannibalism. But what if there was a more sinister cause for their behavior? “Turn back, or you will all die.” You’ve been warned! Recommended for fans of Dan Simmons’ The Terror and Christopher Golden’s Ararat. – Maryelizabeth


Check out what we've have recently read and enjoyed!

Staff Pick Logo
Semiosis Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780765391353
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - February 6th, 2018

Sue Burke’s debut novel, Semiosis, is a fascinating and totally original take on that old science fiction chestnut, human colonization of a new world. Burke’s innovation is to insist on telling her story from the standpoint of biological, environmental, and Darwinian realism. As her characters struggle to survive in the alien world, they must inevitably give up their old earth-derived ideologies, social institutions, and finally their very biology. Immigrants into a new natural reality, they undergo the most radical of melting pots, and become something wholly other and strange. Brilliant and thought-provoking. – David