Roshani Chokshi and Stephanie Garber sign in San Diego

April events kick off with San Diego’s own Cindy Pon guest hosting a conversation about young adult fantasy with Roshani Chokshi and Stephanie Garber. Constance’s rave review of The Star-Touched Queen noted, “Roshani writes in poetry, building a world that envelops you in its beauty. She paints breathtaking details and breathes life into a band of characters that guide you down a mystic world of love, betrayal, life, death, happiness, and despair, but above all, hope…” That world continues in A Crown of Wishes.

Caraval, Stephanie’s debut novel, is an IndieBound Pick, and features “An original world. A legendary competition. A mesmerizing romance. An unbreakable bond between two sisters. Welcome to Caraval!” Entertainment Weekly recommends it for fans of The Night Circus and The Hunger Games.

Event date: 
Saturday, April 1, 2017 - 2:00pm
Event address: 
5943 Balboa Ave
Suite 100
San Diego, CA 92111
A Crown of Wishes Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250085498
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - March 28th, 2017

Gauri, the princess of Bharata, has been taken as a prisoner of war by her kingdom s enemies. Faced with a future of exile and scorn, Gauri has nothing left to lose. Hope unexpectedly comes in the form of Vikram, the cunning prince of a neighboring land and her sworn enemy kingdom. Unsatisfied with becoming a mere puppet king, Vikram offers Gauri a chance to win back her kingdom in exchange for her battle prowess. Together, they ll have to set aside their differences and team up to win the Tournament of Wishes a competition held in a mythical city where the Lord of Wealth promises a wish to the victor.

Reaching the tournament is just the beginning. Once they arrive, danger takes on new shapes: poisonous courtesans and mischievous story birds, a feast of fears and twisted fairy revels.

Every which way they turn new trials will test their wit and strength. But what Gauri and Vikram will soon discover is that there s nothing more dangerous than what they most desire.


Caraval Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250095251
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - January 31st, 2017

Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister Tella live with their powerful and cruel father. Now Scarlett's father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the far-away, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over. But this year, Scarlett's long-dreamt-of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval's mastermind organizer.


Staff Pick Logo
The Star-Touched Queen Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250100207
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - March 28th, 2017

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of Death and Destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father's kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran's queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar's wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire...

But Akaran has its own secrets -- thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most. . .including herself.


Serpentine Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781942664338
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Month9books - September 8th, 2015

Inspired by the rich history of Chinese mythology, this sweeping fantasy is set in the ancient Kingdom of Xia and tells the coming of age story of Skybright, a young girl who worries about her growing otherness. As she turns 16, Skybright notices troubling changes. By day, she is a companion and handmaid to the youngest daughter of a very wealthy family. But nighttime brings with it a darkness that not even daybreak can quell. When her plight can no longer be denied, Skybright learns that despite a dark destiny, she must struggle to retain her sense of self even as she falls in love for the first time.


Event Category: