Beyond the Ice Limit (Hardcover)

Beyond the Ice Limit Cover Image
$27.00
On Our Shelves Now
Mysterious Galaxy Books
1 on hand, as of Nov 20 7:45am
(Science Fiction & Fantasy)

This sequel to The Ice Limit throws Gideon Crew into the mix. The Ice Limit tells the story of a massive meteorite discovered in the Antarctic and the attempt by an eccentric millionaire to salvage it. Well, that idea went to hell in a handbasket. Five years later a science team, with Gideon on board, are going to attempt to destroy this thing, not a meteorite but an organism from deep space, that is now rooted on the ocean floor and growing. Gideon is an expert with nuclear weapons, and along with other scientists, plan to use one-person manned subs to place devices designed to blow up the creature. Well, the best laid plans… Unfortunately for them, the alien creature is not cooperating but fighting back and it appears to be reproducing. It must be destroyed or we’re all doomed. Beyond the Ice Limit is a fast-paced, action packed thriller for fans of Michael Crichton and James Rollins. Reading Ice Limit first will help with the backstory, but is not necessary (I really liked it). –Linda

— From Linda's Latest List

Description


BEYOND THE ICE LIMIT
"That thing is growing again. We must destroy it. The time to act is now..."
With these words begins Gideon Crew's latest, most dangerous, most high-stakes assignment yet. Failure will mean nothing short of the end of humankind on earth.
Five years ago, the mysterious and inscrutable head of Effective Engineering Solutions, Eli Glinn, led a mission to recover a gigantic meteorite--the largest ever discovered--from a remote island off the coast of South America. The mission ended in disaster when their ship, the Rolvaag, foundered in a vicious storm in the Antarctic waters and broke apart, sinking-along with its unique cargo-to the ocean floor. One hundred and eight crew members perished, and Eli Glinn was left paralyzed.
But this was not all. The tragedy revealed something truly terrifying: the meteorite they tried to retrieve was not, in fact, simply a rock. Instead, it was a complex organism from the deep reaches of space.
Now, that organism has implanted itself in the sea bed two miles below the surface-and it is growing. If it is not destroyed, the planet will be doomed. There is only one hope: for Glinn and his team to annihilate it, a task which requires Gideon's expertise with nuclear weapons. But as Gideon and his colleagues soon discover, the "meteorite" has a mind of its own-and it has no intention of going quietly...

About the Author


Preston and Child are co-authors of the Agent Pendergast series as well as the Gideon Crew series. Their novels Relic and The Cabinet of Curiosities were chosen in an NPR poll as two of the hundred greatest thrillers ever written. Preston's acclaimed nonfiction book, The Monster of Florence, is being made into a movie. Lincoln Child has published six novels of his own, including the bestseller The Forgotten Room.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781455525867
ISBN-10: 1455525863
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Publication Date: May 17th, 2016
Pages: 384
Language: English
Series: Gideon Crew