The Islanders (Hardcover)

The Islanders Cover Image
Email or call for price.
Special Order

Description


Reality is illusory and magical in the stunning new literary SF novel from the multiple award-winning author of "The Prestige" for fans of Haruki Murakami and David MitchellA tale of murder, artistic rivalry, and literary trickery; a Chinese puzzle of a novel where nothing is quite what it seems; a narrator whose agenda is artful and subtle; a narrative that pulls you in and plays an elegant game with you. The Dream Archipelago is a vast network of islands. The names of the islands are different depending on who you talk to, their very locations seem to twist and shift. Some islands have been sculpted into vast musical instruments, others are home to lethal creatures, others the playground for high society. Hot winds blow across the archipelago and a war fought between two distant continents is played out across its waters. "The Islanders" serves both as an untrustworthy but enticing guide to the islands; an intriguing, multi-layered tale of a murder; and the suspect legacy of its appealing but definitely untrustworthy narrator. It shows Christopher Priest at the height of his powers and illustrates his undiminished power to dazzle.

About the Author


Christopher Priest's novels have built him an inimitable dual reputation as a contemporary novelist and a leading figure in modern SF and fantasy. His novel"The Prestige"is unique in winning both a major literary prize, The James Tait Black Award, and a major genre prize, The World Fantasy Award.It was also made into a 2006Academy Award-nominated film directed by Christopher Nolan. His other awards have included the Arthur C. Clarke Award andfour Hugo nominations."

Praise For…


"Christopher Priest has long been the sort of author critics tend to whip out the serious descriptors for. . . . Judging only on the basis of this mesmeric travel guide to "an endless sprawl of lovely islands," I would not for a second hesitate to declare Priest a giant of the genre."  —Strange Horizons

"One of the most complex, challenging and satisfying fictions from one of our finest novelists."  —Telegraph

Product Details
ISBN: 9780575070042
ISBN-10: 0575070048
Publisher: Gollancz
Publication Date: June 2012
Pages: 339
Language: English