Recently Reviewed

Check out the newest books we've read and reviewed!

Meet our booksellers and check out all their past and present reviews here

From our February 2018 Newsletter:


Staff Pick Logo
The Philosopher's Flight Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781476778150
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - February 13th, 2018

Tom Miller’s The Philosopher’s Flight is a wonderfully engaging alternative history, in which the great technological and political exploits of early 20th century America were accomplished by magic instead of science, and by women instead of men. So it is that the novel’s hero, Robert Weekes, aspires to attend Radcliffe College, there to study magic, in the hope of joining the Army’s elite flying squad, despite the fact these are all the preserves of women. The story is well-told and gripping, as Robert battles gender prejudice, bonds with his fellow students, and falls in love with war hero Danielle. Author Miller impresses as much with his command of historical detail as with his ability to imagine a fully-realized and absorbing literary world. Highly recommended! – David


Staff Pick Logo
Miranda and Caliban Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780765386816
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - January 23rd, 2018

I didn’t quite know what to expect from this book when I first read its title. The Tempest is one of my favorite Shakespeare plays and I was wary that Carey might force something into the story that wasn’t there. But this book has my wholehearted recommendation. This is a soft and tender version of Shakespeare’s The Tempest that delicately tells the story of Miranda and Caliban growing up on the island with magician Prospero and his servant Ariel. As the only two young people on the island, Miranda and Caliban begin to form a deep friendship. But Prospero has dark secrets and a mysterious magic that threatens everything Miranda might know about herself and the island she inhabits. Carey takes Shakespeare’s characters and the events of the original play and weaves her own tale that explores themes of monstrosity and sexuality, isolation and companionship, magic and reality, knowledge and ignorance. A simply beautiful book. – Kelly


Staff Pick Logo
How to Stop Time Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525522874
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking - February 6th, 2018

I’ve always been fascinated by tales of immortality, and this book delivers! While stories of folk like Nicholas Flamel or The Count of St Germain are full of magic and whimsy, this book takes a more pragmatic view of the situation. Our hero, Tom, was born in 1581, and he’s lived a very lonely existence since, losing first his mother, and then his wife. When he moves back to London, the weight of the past nearly overshadows his life in the present. Matt Haig weaves an incredible tale of history, love, and loss through the centuries. Tom’s introspective nature, coupled with the ultimate warning — “Never fall in love” — gave this story a weight that I haven’t encountered in other immortality stories. I love it, and you will too! – Gary


Staff Pick Logo
Semiosis Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780765391353
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - February 6th, 2018

Sue Burke’s debut novel, Semiosis, is a fascinating and totally original take on that old science fiction chestnut, human colonization of a new world. Burke’s innovation is to insist on telling her story from the standpoint of biological, environmental, and Darwinian realism. As her characters struggle to survive in the alien world, they must inevitably give up their old earth-derived ideologies, social institutions, and finally their very biology. Immigrants into a new natural reality, they undergo the most radical of melting pots, and become something wholly other and strange. Brilliant and thought-provoking. – David


Staff Pick Logo
Journey to Star Wars: The Last Jedi: The Legends of Luke Skywalker Cover Image
By Ken Liu, J. G. Jones (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781484780770
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Disney Lucasfilm Press - October 31st, 2017

“Luke Skywalker? I thought he was a myth.” – Rey. A motley crew of characters huddle around each other in Canto Bight exchanging stories of the mysterious and mythical Luke Skywalker. Some think he’s a hero, some think he’s a hack. This book holds an interesting place in the Star Wars canon, introducing new tales to readers that may — or may not — be true. The stories in The Legends of Luke Skywalker are fun and thoughtful, and they play with our own conception of what Luke has been up to since Return of the Jedi. At times, the tales reward readers who know the Star Wars films well with inside jokes. At other times, it challenges us to rethink what we do know. Overall, a fun and unique Star Wars read. – Kelly


Staff Pick Logo
Sunburn Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062389923
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow & Company - February 20th, 2018

Sunburn is a modern rendition of a classic noir crime novel. It is the summer of 1995, and Private Investigator Adam Bosk follows the woman he was hired to investigate, Polly Costello, to a sleepy Delaware town. They begin a torrid love affair, and a cunning game of cat-and-mouse unfolds. Polly is a formidably complicated femme fatale, and the plot slow-burns for awhile, then ignites. This retro novel has it all: seduction, deception, corruption, greed, murder, betrayal, and plenty of moral ambiguity. One of Lippman’s best. For fans of psychological thrillers, hardboiled detective novels and classic noir. – Kim


Staff Pick Logo
Force of Nature Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250105639
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - February 6th, 2018

Force of Nature is an outstanding atmospheric thriller set in the remote Australian bushland. It involves five women who go on a corporate wilderness survival retreat. Only four of them return. The missing woman is a whistle-blower in a money-laundering scheme involving the accounting firm she works for. The tension builds slowly as the story alternates between the police investigation and the women’s recollections of the harrowing retreat. None of them tell the same story, but it was clearly a cold, wet and terrifying experience fraught with the dangers of both mother nature and human nature. Secrets gradually unfold in this twisty, layered novel, and Harper’s measured reveal and gorgeous prose are a treat. For fans of psychological suspense, wilderness survival, the Australian Outback, and Harper’s previous novel, The Dry. – Kim


Staff Pick Logo
The Chalk Man Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781524760984
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown Publishing Group (NY) - January 9th, 2018

A grisly murder in the past draws a chalk line around the future of four 12-year-old boys, and Nicky, the only girl in their “Losers’ Club.” In this stunning debut thriller by C.J. Tudor, Eddie (Munster) meets the “Chalk Man” in 1986. The teacher, who suffers from albinism, helps Eddie save a girl’s life after a horrific accident at an amusement park, and inspires a secret code of chalk stick-figure men. When a series of chalk man clues lead to the dismembered body of a girl in the woods, the Chalk Man is assumed to be the killer. But 30 years later, the Fab Five are brought together by letters containing chalk figures that suggest the wrong man paid for the crime, and as Eddie tells us, children have their secrets. Fans of Stephen King’s “The Body” (Stand by Me), It, and S.E. Hinton’s The Outsiders, will love the intimate characterization of the kids. Eddie’s hoarding and fetishism as an adult show how PTSD can blossom into a poisoned garden. The grue is thick, the plot riveting. This haunting book will linger on the blackboard of your mind. – R.J. Crowther Jr.


Staff Pick Logo
The Prince and the Dressmaker Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781626723634
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: First Second - February 13th, 2018

Embracing one’s true self is the all the fashion in Wang’s charming alternate 19th-century Paris tale of underappreciated seamstress Frances and her inspiring mysterious model, Lady Crystallia, who is the secret alter ego of the crown prince. While Prince Sebastian is delighted to find someone who can craft the gorgeous creations for Lady Crystallia, his dedication to keeping his secret from his family and the fashion world inhibits Frances from achieving proper recognition for her designs. This book is both a visual treat, and also a great positive affirmation of acceptance and love. – Maryelizabeth


Staff Pick Logo
The Queen's Rising Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062471345
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Teen - February 6th, 2018

I quite simply loved this book. There is a graceful timelessness to it that captures a beautiful world filled with well-imagined characters. There is forbidden romance, revenge, war, and scheming, but all done with such a delicate hand that you are enveloped in the story as you fall in love with it. Rebecca Ross is a passion of wit who has woven a remarkable debut that is well worth your time. This is a book I would pick up and reread for its beautiful language; it left me wanting to highlight countless sentences and its characters easily find a home in your heart. – Constance


Staff Pick Logo
When Light Left Us Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781681191812
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury UK - February 13th, 2018

New Mexico has a reputation as the home state to a significant number of human / alien encounters, but none may be as strange or heart-wrenching as the encounter between extraterrestrial Luz and the Vasquez children. Hank, Ana, and Milo and their mother, Maggie, are preparing to navigate the unfamiliar territory of their first summer without the kids’ father as part of the family when Luz enters their lives. Luz interprets the three children as discrete parts of a single entity, and observes the world through their senses – semi-appropriating and enhancing their perceptions through their hands, eyes, and ears, respectively. Leah’s story intertwines multiple perspectives in a moving tale of family, loss, and recovery. – Maryelizabeth


Staff Pick Logo
Unearthed Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781484758052
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Disney-Hyperion - January 9th, 2018

Witty Banter?  Check!

Daring Adventure? Check!

Alien planet with the key to humanity’s survival? Check!!!

 

Unearthed by Meagan Spooner and Amie Kaufman is a great read that I recommend anyone pick up just for the pure fun of it. Imagine all the awesome elements of Indiana Jones and Laura Croft mashed together and placed on an alien planet – and voila! Meagan and Amie are a deadly duo that will have you smiling from ear to ear, while also rapidly flipping the pages to find out what happens to the unlikely partners of this tale who will just have to somehow figure out how to trust each other to make it off Gaia alive. – Constance


Staff Pick Logo
Heart of Iron Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062652850
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer & Bray/Harperteen - February 27th, 2018

Granted, I was predisposed to like this before I cracked the cover. “An action-packed tale full of romance, royalty, and adventure, inspired by the story of Anastasia” is right up my alley! But Ashley applies the same geeky insights and charm that made Geekerella a fun update to the tale, with plenty of scoundrels, rogues, and charmers to root for … carefully, with an eye on one’s valuables, and a protagonist whose most interesting trait is not that she may be space royalty. – Maryelizabeth

From our January 2018 Newsletter:


Staff Pick Logo
Iron Gold: Book 4 of the Red Rising Saga Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780425285916
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey Books - January 16th, 2018

And we’re back. There’s no such thing as “happily ever after.” Ten years have passed since the events in Morning Star … and the beat goes on. And on. War. The Forever War. Same old crap, different day/week/month/year/celestial body. The same, sure, but this time out there are four points of view. Heroes? Villains? Time will tell. But everyone’s the hero of their own story, are they not?

I was a little worried going into this one. After all, how does one follow the #bloodydamn awesomeness that was Red Rising? Simple: Add three more points of view, up the stakes and the scope by an order of millions, and ramp up the action to “Holy Crap!” When’s the last time you had to catch your breath reading a damn book? Four points of view. Each would be great by itself; together they are remarkable. Start getting into Darrow’s point of view, then we’re on to Lyria. Start getting into Lyria and we’re on to Ephraim … and then to Lysander. It just doesn’t let up. You can’t put the #bloodydamn thing down! And it ain’t over. Now you have to wait a #bloodydamn year for the next #bloodydamn installment. Stuff escalates. – Guest Reviewer Patrick Heffernan


Staff Pick Logo
Sinless Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062456380
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Voyager - January 9th, 2018

Los Angeles screenwriter Tarkoff’s debut near-future SF novel is set in a world with a near-global acceptance of a single religious being, the Great Spirit, following the apparent manifestation of individual’s morality in their physical appearance. People’s interior values are reflected in their looks, ranging from the healthy clear skin and appealing faces of the “good,” to physical distortions among the Outcast so severe as to result in fatalities. Preacher’s daughter Grace Luther is a believer, but she begins to question the reliability and apparent capriciousness of the judgments. An interesting examination of the values society sets on beautiful people. – Maryelizabeth


Staff Pick Logo
The Immortalists Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780735213180
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - January 9th, 2018

How would you live your life if you knew the exact date you would die? In 1969, the four children of Gertie and Saul Gold— Vayra (13), Daniel (11), Klara (9), and Simon (7)—spend what may be their last summer together in the heat of New York City’s Lower East Side. When they hear about a traveling psychic who can tell them the day they will die, they cannot resist the draw to go to her. The Immortalists is the story of this family, each of the four siblings, their lives and deaths, and the love that binds them together. It is told against the background of our own history and weaves Jewish heritage and traditions seamlessly into the story narrative. It is a moving journey through life’s choices, the acceptance of who you are, and ultimately, what is most important in life. This is an exceptional book and I cannot recommend it highly enough. – Terry

 

This book is stunning. Alluring from its first page to its very last, The Immortalists is exquisitely written and intimately told, a book that will both break and heal your heart as you explore the nature of destiny and human action. – Kelly


Staff Pick Logo
How to Stop Time Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525522874
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking - February 6th, 2018

Tom Hazard is 436 years old, though he looks like he is in his 40s. He was born in 1581 and, unlike the rest of us; he ages only one year every 15 years. Not only does his condition keep him young, it protects him from illness. This may sound like the ultimate immortal life, but for Tom it has been a lonely and sad existence since his wife died of The Plague in 1623.

In the late 1800s, Tom discovers that there are other people in the world with the same condition and he joins their “society” for his protection (and theirs). He finds himself living by rules that make his life, well, unlivable. But, what keeps Tom going is the hope that he will be reunited with his daughter Marion, who he believes, has inherited his condition.

The story of Tom’s life through the centuries and the famous people he meets (Shakespeare and F. Scott Fitzgerald!) is mixed seamlessly with the narrative of his current life as a history teacher (of course!) in London. Tom’s observations are a poignant commentary about the current issues of the day and the meaning of life. This is an engaging and fun read for everyone. – Terry


Staff Pick Logo
This Is What Happened Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781616958619
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Soho Crime - January 30th, 2018

This Is What Happened is a mesmerizing psychological thriller with a strikingly clever plot. It begins when an ordinary young woman is recruited by MI5 to install a surveillance program onto a London company’s computer network. The riveting account of her attempt to do this is followed by a shocking plot twist that completely shape-shifts the story. More surprises follow. Mick Herron’s talent is on full display in this compulsively readable book, which includes spies, misogyny, Stockholm Syndrome, missing people, and sisterly love. For fans of psychological suspense and dark, literary thrillers. – Kim


Staff Pick Logo
Need to Know Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781524797027
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ballantine Books - January 23rd, 2018

It is not a (complete) spoiler to tell you that Vivian Miller’s husband is a Russian spy. You will know this within the first 30 pages. But for Vivian, this revelation is beyond uncomfortable, because it is her job at the CIA trying to uncover the Russian spy network of sleepers that have assimilated themselves into life in the U.S. And while comparisons to “Mr. and Mrs. Smith” are inevitable, you are in entirely different territory here. Vivian and Matt have been married for 10 years and have four small children. The discovery of Matt’s background and duplicity puts Vivian and her children in jeopardy as she tries to find a way to save her family and her job. The turbulent storyline is interspersed with a recounting of her past memories of falling in love with Matt and starting their life together.This is a hard-to-put-down ingenious suspense thriller . – Terry


Staff Pick Logo
The Mitford Murders: A Mystery Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250170781
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Minotaur Books - January 23rd, 2018

The Mitford Murders is an engaging Downton Abbey/Agatha Christie mash-up set in the famous Mitford household in post-WWI Britain. It features the real-life unsolved murder of a war nurse who was the goddaughter of Florence Nightingale. A plucky young nursery maid, a railway policeman, and the eldest Mitford daughter, Nancy, team up to investigate the perplexing murder. The ravages of war, gender inequality, class division, and sibling rivalry are woven into the narrative. Five more books are planned for this clever series, each featuring a different Mitford sister. For fans of historical fiction, classic mysteries and Downton Abbey. – Kim


Staff Pick Logo
The Silent Room: A Thriller Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250115669
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Minotaur Books - January 16th, 2018

A prison van is hijacked in broad daylight, and a lone prisoner escapes into a waiting car. The fugitive is a disgraced former police Special Branch agent, accused of illegal gun trafficking. But what if he is innocent? Espionage, corruption and clever plotting make The Silent Room a gripping thriller set in northeast England. Mari Hannah’s expert pacing shines as the chapters alternate between the police, the missing prisoner and three rogue agents who secretly engage in their own investigation. Their backstories and humanity help give this thriller a soul, and the pithy British copper dialogue adds to their appeal. Swedish thugs, a Russian whistle-blower, oil rig explosions and a dead brother are part of the the intrigue. For thriller and suspense aficionados. – Kim


The Widows of Malabar Hill Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781616957780
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Soho Crime - January 9th, 2018

The Widows of Malabar Hill is a historical novel set in 1920s Bombay, introducing a Parsi, Oxford-educated woman lawyer, Perveen Mistry. Early in the book Perveen visits a polygamous Muslim household in which women are kept in total seclusion from the outside world. A murder occurs in their mansion, and Perveen gradually uncovers a complicated web of greed and deceit. The haunting traumas of Perveen’s past are revealed, also, and Perveen struggles to defend herself using deeply misogynistic Parsi law. The Widows of Malabar Hill includes a diverse array of characters and a fascinating portrayal of colonial Bombay’s rich multiculturalism. More books in this new series are planned. For fans of historical fiction and lawyer/sleuth novels. – Kim


Staff Pick Logo
Gunslinger Girl Cover Image
By Lyndsay Ely, James Patterson (Foreword by)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316555104
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Jimmy Patterson - January 2nd, 2018

Within the pretty pages of this book is a gritty western containing not only all the gunslinging action your heart could desire, but also a phenomenal story filled with a great cast of characters. Once you meet Serendpity Jones you will only want more of her story. Lyndsay integrates a variety of complex issues into her books with a deft hand that brings the book to life, giving flesh and bone to characters that could’ve easily fallen into stereotypes in a world that at times is painstakingly real and parallel to our own. Annie Oakley doesn’t hold a candle to Serendipity Jones, the best shot in the west. – Constance


Staff Pick Logo
Thunderhead Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781442472457
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - January 9th, 2018

The Arc of a Scythe series is quickly toping my list of books that I think anyone and everyone should read. Thunderhead is set a year after we last saw Citra and Rowan in Scythe and the growing tensions and divided loyalties within the Scythedom have only escalated. Now on the brink of total and devastating revolution, the Scythedom—and perhaps even all of humanity—relies on the actions of two teenagers. Thunderhead is a deep exploration of not only the perennial question of what it means to be human, but also of some of the biggest and most pressing issues of our time. Ultimately, Shusterman delivers a gripping, page-turner story, yet all the while gives us completely thought-provoking material on the past, present, and future of humanity. Thunderhead is a novel deftly written and one that is utterly absorbing to read. Poignant. Perfect. My highest recommendation and my deepest entreaty: read. this. book. – Kelly


Staff Pick Logo
Don't Cosplay with My Heart Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338125498
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - January 2nd, 2018

Cosplaying teen Edan Kupferman has an easier time expressing her anger at chaotic and troubling circumstances in her life when wearing the mask of super-powered Gargantua. An insightful look into what so many of us love about comics – and some of the challenges we have to face in the field. Cecil’s latest pairs well with Sarah Kuhn’s Heroine geeky romance series! – Maryelizabeth


Staff Pick Logo
As You Wish Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781492642312
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Fire - January 2nd, 2018

“Be careful what you wish for” takes on new meaning in this thoughtful YA debut. In the middle of the Mojave Desert, the town of Madison, Nevada has a secret. This is a secret they guard with great fervor and intent, as they know what will happen if this secret is discovered: Every citizen in Madison gets to make a wish on their eighteenth birthday, a wish that always comes true.

But, as we all know, wishes have consequences, and Eldon Wilkes has seen the results of these unintended consequences throughout his town and in his own family. With his birthday on the horizon, he is deeply conflicted. His parents are pressuring him to wish for money, which they believe will solve many of their problems. Eldon doesn’t necessarily believe that that this is the right wish for him, and he believes that wishing is the root of many of their problems. As the countdown to his birthday reduces the amount of time he has to figure this out, Eldon’s coming of age journey takes him to some unexpected places … all the way to a satisfying conclusion … at least for some.

 

From our December 2017 Newsletter:


Staff Pick Logo
Blood Truth Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781608092871
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Oceanview Publishing - December 5th, 2017

This is the fourth in the Rick Cahill P.I. series and, for me, the most emotionally-charged. Rick investigates two cases, both involving loved ones, so already, you know there’s a lot at stake. One case involves Kim, his ex-girlfriend, who hires Rick to confirm her suspicions that her husband is having an affair. The other dredges up Rick’s long-suppressed shame of his deceased father, a disgraced cop, when a safe is discovered in his childhood home. The two storylines weave together flawlessly. Kim’s case takes Rick into shady real estate deals and, eventually, murder. His personal crusade to uncover the truth about his father leads to a 20-year-old cold case. Rick struggles between his need to see justice served and the fear of what he’ll discover about his own flesh and blood. Coyle skillfully breaks up the thrilling action with more introspective moments, resulting in a topnotch read. – Sarah


Staff Pick Logo
The Alice Network Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062654199
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow & Company - June 6th, 2017

This story pulled me in from the very beginning. Lies, betrayal, danger, intrigue—all these pieces of the puzzle unite to tell the tale of Eve Gardiner, an English spy during WW1, and Charlie St. Clair, in 1947 a privileged, pregnant and single American desperate to find her cousin, Rose, who went missing during the last days of WW2. Tediously working through various documents Charlie finds Eve’s name in connection to her cousin. Eve is bitter, a drunk, and less then receptive to Charlie’s request for help in finding Rose.  Persistence eventually pays off and the two set off on a journey that takes them from England to the French countryside. Along the way each woman’s story comes to light. The fiction is peppered with real people, places and events; if you are a history buff you may wish to write down some of the names and places to look up afterwards. – Christine


Staff Pick Logo
The Tea Dragon Society Cover Image
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9781620104415
Availability: Backordered
Published: Oni Press - October 31st, 2017

New Zealand author and illustrator O’Neill’s (Princess Princess Ever After) Tea Dragon Society web comic is now a gentle and beautiful book about appreciating and valuing craft. Greta is following in the career path of her blacksmith mother, but has time to pursue the charming but delicate vocation of caring for tea dragons, who produce tea leaves along with their scales. The patient teamerchant, Hesekiel, along with his spouse, adventurer-cum-gardener Erik, and their mysterious foster daughter, Minette, share their story and care throughout the seasons with Greta. Highly recommended for fantasy and tea fans! – Maryelizabeth


Staff Pick Logo
Sleeping Beauties Cover Image
$32.50
ISBN: 9781501163401
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner Book Company - September 26th, 2017

The Aurora virus sweeps across the world like a sleeping curse of apocalyptic scale, leaving only the men awake to fend for themselves. Strange cocoons enshroud the women struck by the curse, and woe to the man who tries to free them from their pupal state. If disturbed, the infected women attack in savage rage. Evie Black, imprisoned for murder, is immune to the curse, can communicate with animals, and exhale magic moths. Some men view her as a savior, others as witch, who religious zealots cannot suffer to live. Is Evie (the dark Eve) Maleficent or Moses, as she offers women a promised land free of toxic masculinity? A vicious, timely fairy tale that will keep you up at night. – Rob


Staff Pick Logo
The Wrong Stars Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780857667090
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Angry Robot - November 7th, 2017

The crew of the White Raven thought they had a nice bit of salvage until they discovered an occupied cryopod. That occupant, Dr. Elena Oh, wakes to a home system 500 years older than when she left it, and she has one hell of a story to tell: First Freakin’ Contact! Fantastic, to be sure, but it turns out this is old news. Humanity met extraterrestrials a long, long time ago. These aliens, however, have, shall we say, a rather loose grasp on the truth. The Liars, as they are known, gave us many wonderful things including advanced tech and access to many a star system. All in all they’re rather handy to have around, even if they are a bit fond of the odd exaggeration and tall tale. That said, turns out Elena’s extraterrestrials are not Liars, and their truth could just lead to humanity’s end. The galaxy will never be the same again. The Wrong Stars is excellent space opera and great characters and lots of space-faring action and adventure. Especially awesome if you’re a fan of series like James SA Corey’s Expanse. – Guest Reviewer Patrick Heffernan


Staff Pick Logo
The Core: Book Five of the Demon Cycle Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780345531506
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey Books - October 3rd, 2017

Some of our heroes have fallen and the world’s gone to demon shit. All over the lands, the people are in disarray. The Daylight War is in full bloom and without our Deliverers to keep their peoples united, treachery and villainy and chaos reign supreme. And that’s just the human side of the equation. A whole lot of hurt is about to be visited upon the surface from the dark deep below. Swarm! The Mother of All Demons is a-layin’ and all hell’s about to break loose ... literally. Can those above hold out until our alagai-kicking heroes can take it to the core itself and deliver Ala from evil? Inquiring minds want to know!

I’ve loved this series from the beginning and I loved its conclusion. It took me a while to read The Core, partly because its 800 some-odd pages, sure, but mostly because I didn’t want it to end. Like your last glass of single malt, you have to savor every last sip. I’m going to miss Brett’s world and those who live, and lived, here. That said, ol’ Pete delivered us one hell of an epic sendoff. "Epic" is such a small word for such awesomeness.

And I’ve a feeling that more stories will rise to the surface some day. Master storyteller Brett did drop a seed or two amongst all the happenings and daring do in The Core. I honest word can’t wait until they grow. – Guest Reviewer Patrick Heffernan


Paradox Bound Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780553418330
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown Publishing Group (NY) - September 26th, 2017

Grab your favorite jalopy and hit the road in a timely fashion. You can’t really travel in time, actually, but you can travel through history. Take a trip down memory lane, visit a few sites along Route 66, and then chase that elusive American Dream. You just have to avoid those pesky paradoxes and those faceless buzz-kills who protect history from anomalies (i.e, you). These guys are more likely to hand out bullets than speeding tickets. (Anachronistic) hats off to Clines for juggling people, places, and moments without skidding off into contradiction’s ditch. Paradox Bound is a splendid romp through the hourglass of history and back to the future, all wrapped up in a red, white, and blue Möbius bow. – Guest Reviewer Patrick Heffernan


Staff Pick Logo
Artemis Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780553448122
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown Publishing Group (NY) - November 14th, 2017

The author of The Martian sets his sights on a decidedly different celestial orb, the Moon, and its first city, Artemis. Meet Jazz Bashara, small-time porter and even smaller-time smuggler. She's been here on the Moon since she was, like, six and life here sure is no picnic, what with the nearest fresh air being 400,000 kilometers away, and everything being so god-awful expensive. She is on track to make a cool million slugs though. Only thing is that job isn't what you'd call strictly legal. But when you're living in a coffin and you’ve got bills and debts to pay, you gotta do what you gotta do, right? The Moon's not only a harsh mistress, she can be a downright bitch.

Artemis has many of the elements you loved in The Martian: cool tech, sciencing the shit out of things to not die, and one hell of a protagonist. Jazz Bashara is just as brilliant and irreverent as The Martian's Mark Watney. She's just a bit looser with her morals is all. Just a bit. And like our favorite Martian, Watney, she's in way over her head and in danger of sucking some serious vacuum. Unlike Watney, however, Jazz doesn't have an entire planet rallying to save her sorry ass from certain death. She's gonna have to do that little thing on her own (mostly). All of the awesomeness you'd expect from Weir in a book you may just read in one sitting.  – Guest Reviewer Patrick Heffernan


Staff Pick Logo
An Unkindness of Magicians Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781481451192
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Saga Press - September 26th, 2017

A corrupt system of magic is shaken to its foundations when a young woman with tortured past enters the Duel for magical supremacy. Sydney's bent on vengeance with more than enough personal power to get it. She just never imagines the cost would cut so deep. Kat Howard’s written a quick paced and enchanting tale of a people past due for a reckoning over the corruption at the heart of its magic use.  The writing is crisp, engaging, and addictive. The characters fully formed with an intriguing mix of personality types and the story arcs are compelling. Sydney is an unapologetic, vicious, take no prisoners anti-hero. Through her eyes, this story swiftly builds to an unexpected climax that'll have you begging for more of this Unseen World. –  Guest Reviewer Ro


Halls of Law Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780756409333
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Daw Books - August 1st, 2017

Carrying on a family tradition of military service is the only future Kerida Nast wants. But her psychic abilities put an end to that dream and rip her from her family because Talents “belong” to the Halls. After resisting this new path, Kerida realizes she can to learn to use her skills or face a bleak future. Just as she’s begins to apply herself, the brutal Halians cut a bloody path across the empire hunting “witches” to end “rule of women.” Kerida’s thrust into violence and surrounded by questionable allies. Halls of Law tells the story of this reluctant heroine with rich world-building, uncomfortably recognizable gender-based political issues wrapped up in a prophecy that makes this journeyman's tale stand apart. Escalda pulls the best elements of the genre to anchor her story firmly on the adventurous side. The magic system isn’t unusual, but its application in this world as the Rule of Law is unique and excellently weaves its threads for a unique beginning of a new series. –  Guest Reviewer Ro


The Dark Lake Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781538759905
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - October 3rd, 2017

Detective Sergeant Gemma Woodstock is shocked to learn that Rosalind Ryan, her former high school classmate, has been murdered, found dead floating in Sonny Lake in Smithson, a rural Australian town. Everyone loved the beautiful, if distant, teacher “Rose,” including Gemma who secretly idolized her throughout childhood and adolescence. Gemma and her investigating partner, Felix, are puzzled by Rose’s contradictions. Rose led a meager existence although George Ryan, her father, was very wealthy and powerful; held a job as a small-town teacher when she was a successful educator in Sydney; and was quite popular among her students, despite being very aloof to her fellow teachers. The compelling quest for Rose’s killer brings Gemma to a point of frustration and exhaustion that threatens to expose many secrets – Rose’s, Felix’s, the Ryan family’s and Gemma’s own misjudgments. Wonderfully woven characters and compelling plots introduce a talented new author. – Guest Reviewer Bunny Hand


Staff Pick Logo
Displaced Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062484475
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper - November 7th, 2017

If you enjoy an engrossing mystery with intense historical undertones, you will love this tale woven into the World War II era existence. The British occupy Palestine in 1946; Lilya has joined the resistance group to form an independent Jewish state. Her assignment, however much she resents it, takes her to war-ravaged Europe in search of Raphael Lind, a scientist reported to have perished in a concentration camp. There is evidence that he is still alive among the many refugees that the British will not allow to emigrate to Palestine, refugees who are housed in camps throughout Europe. Pretending to be a member of the American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee, an organization to aid Jewish survivors, Lilya’s search brings her to London’s Whitehall, home of the British Secret Intelligence Service, and rubble-strewn Munich and Berlin. Meanwhile, someone is mirroring her journey, desperately seeking the same man, and circumstances become very dangerous but immensely interesting. A fantastic debut novel set in a most intriguing time in world history. – Guest Reviewer Bunny Hand


An Army of One: A John Rossett Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062499875
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow & Company - August 29th, 2017

Set in German-occupied Britain, where the Nazis are struggling to maintain civilian order, contain the Resistance, and combat the corruption and dissent among their own German officers. Liverpool is the epitome of discontent and presents the perfect circumstances for criminals to flourish. A perfect habitat for Captain Karl Bauer, the “Bear,” who is a professional killer funded and protected by the corrupt Nazi regime in Liverpool. He was just hired to kill four people involved in a plot to confiscate a huge amount of missing gold. John Rossett, the highly decorated “British Lion,” wants nothing more than to transcend the disgusting devastation the war has inflicted on every human being, and return to being the respectable policeman he was before this world-wide conflict. The US Consul, the British resistance, and the Nazi colluders all vie for the gold as Rossett makes it his personal goal to capture the merciless “Bear.” A great historical espionage novel. – Guest Reviewer Bunny Hand


Staff Pick Logo
Wonder Valley Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062656353
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ecco Press - November 7th, 2017

Just as in her first novel, Visitation Street, Pochoda has created stories within a larger story, blending and connecting the plots and characters, finalizing in an incredible tale. Set in Southern California from the Pacific Ocean to the slums of Los Angeles to the beauty of the Mojave Desert, this masterpiece of character development includes a menagerie of humankind. Britt is a runaway with a dark secret and Tony is an unhappy lawyer looking for meaning in his boring existence. Ren is just out of juvenile hall searching for his mom, who seems to have abandoned him. Owen and James are discontented teenage twins living in a desert community under the thumb of their father, a self-acclaimed healer of his “disciples.”  Blake is a lifelong drifter trying to stay above the law and hiding from a violent past. Only this talented author could spin this mix of human condition to present another resounding literary success. – Guest Reviewer Bunny Hand


Staff Pick Logo
Two Girls Down Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780385542494
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Doubleday Books - January 9th, 2018

Luna ventures into adult suspense with this extremely engrossing story of two sisters who are abducted from their mother’s car in a K-Mart parking lot in small town in Pennsylvania. The police department is at a minimal force and has no leads, which frustrates Jamie, the girl’s mother, and angers Jamie’s parents; however, her aunt Maggie has the foresight and means to hire private detective Alice Vega, who has a huge success rate in Central California for locating missing children. Arriving in Pennsylvania, Vega is shut out by the local police and hires Max Caplan, a disgraced former policeman from that force who is now a private detective. He still has contacts and favors owed him by his former colleagues. Together Vega and Caplan maneuver through the local police and begin to uncover the lies, misconceptions and secret relationships that have led to this hideous crime, while time is running out to find the girls alive. An intoxicating suspense novel. – Guest Reviewer Bunny Hand


Staff Pick Logo
Anatomy of a Scandal Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501172168
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - January 23rd, 2018

Set in London, mostly in the Inner Temple High Court, this engrossing novel is a scrutiny of deceit and abuse of power. Kate, a criminal barrister, has just been awarded the biggest case of her career as well as an opportunity for revenge, seething since her college days. Sophie is a devoted mother and wife of James who has just admitted to having an affair. James, a junior Home Office minister in London’s government, has a promising career if he could only curb his “indiscretions.”  James’ latest mistake is colossal, and he is being charged with rape. The trial must go on, dragging Sophie into depths of despair and doubt. Kate, who is prosecuting the case, faces challenges and memories almost beyond her capacity. When it seems like justice has failed one must hope that the human spirit will rebound – but will it? – Guest Reviewer Bunny Hand