Christine's Choices

Christine (CVS) reads a smidgen of all genres. She states that after joining the MG staff, she has had the great privilege of expanding her appreciation by speaking with other staff members and customers, all of whom are willing to share their enthusiasm for authors new and old. Christine is also our Fearless Book Discussion Group Leader.




ISBN: 9780316220064
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - March 19th, 2013

Speculative Fiction 

Welcome to the Freezone and the fourth book in the
SamuilPetrovitch series. Sam’s adopted daughter Lucy has gone missing in the
Alaskan wilderness. Not content with the US handling of the situation,
Petrovitch travels to America to conduct his own inquiries into her
disappearance. He is hindered along the way by disinformation and stonewalling.
Sam is not always a likeable person. He is at times threatening, manipulating
and violent. He is part Cyborg, a computer genius and right 95% of the time.
The remaining 5% is almost his undoing. You do not have to have read the
previous books, but it will give you a better insight into the characters. I
tore through this novel as I have the previous three in the series. Simon
Morden was awarded the 2011 Philip K. Dick Award for the trilogy.

– Christine

ISBN: 9780312366179
Availability: Special Order
Published: Minotaur Books - December 6th, 2011

The book’s dust jacket will give you the nitty
gritty, but there is so much more to the story than that.

There are many reasons why I recommend this
series (City of Fire, Lost Witness) --
strong, interesting and dysfunctional characters, a good mix of old fashioned
detective work with heart pounding action, and protagonist Lena Gamble, a
Homicide Special detective in the elite Robbery Homicide Division for the city
of Los Angeles.

The character of Lena Gamble as established by
Robert Ellis is a homicide detective without the drawbacks sometimes associated
with female police officers – sexual harassment, not being accepted by other
detectives, etc. Granted, she does seem to have her fair share of run-ins and
stone walling by higher ups but that comes with the territory.

certainly lives up to its title. The homicides actually begin before
the first chapter and continue throughout, each a careful response to a
perceived threat to our villain. The investigation is hampered by the District
Attorney’s office and lost evidence. Just when you think you know the who and
the why, you don’t. Just when you think you know a character (alive or dead),
you’re wrong again.

There is one character in particular who totally
blindsided me and Lena. And the emotional rollercoaster that comes with this
character’s revelation becomes the crux of the last third of the story. The
story does come to a most fitting conclusion with the very last sentence (but
please don’t cheat yourself and read ahead).

If you are looking for a cozy, this is not it.
However, should you favor Michael Connelly or T. Jefferson Parker, you should
enjoy Murder Season.


ISBN: 9780307379191
Availability: Special Order
Published: Pantheon - November 9th, 2010

Andrew Vachss returns with a mesmerizing
novel about a hard-core thief who’s about to embark on a job that will
alter his life forever.

Sugar is that rarest of commodities: an old-school professional
thief, tough and loyal as a pit bull, packing 255 pounds of muscle.
When he’s picked out of a photo array in a vicious rape case, the cops
find his apartment empty. A stakeout catches Sugar when he returns . .
. carrying a loaded pistol. The sex-crime cops get nothing from their
interrogation, but a streetwise detective figures out why Sugar offers
no alibi: at the time of the rape, a holiday-weekend break-in job was
being pulled at a jewelry store. The DA offers Sugar two options: give
up his partners in the jewelry heist and walk, or plead to the rape he
didn’t commit—and he’ll toss in the gun charge. For Sugar, that’s not
two options; he takes the weight.

When Sugar finishes his
time, his money is waiting for him, held by Solly, the mastermind
behind the jewelry heist. But Solly tells Sugar that one of the heist
crew was actually sent by another planner—and that planner has just
died. In Sugar’s world, all loose threads must be cut. He suspects that
there’s more to this job than what Solly is telling him. But nothing he
suspects or imagines can prepare him for what he finds . . .

ISBN: 9780312384715
Availability: Special Order
Published: St. Martin's Press - June 8th, 2010

Homicide detective Adam Garrett is already a rising star in the
Boston police department when he and his cynical partner, Carl
Landauer, catch a horrifying case that could make their careers: the
ritualistic murder of a wealthy college girl that appears to have
Satanic elements. 

The partners make a quick arrest when all evidence points to another
student, a troubled musician in a Goth band who was either dating or
stalking the murdered girl. But Garrett’s case is turned upside down
when beautiful, mysterious Tanith Cabarrus, a practicing witch from
nearby Salem, walks into the homicide bureau and insists that the real
perpetrator is still at large. Tanith claims to have had psychic
visions that the killer has ritually sacrificed other teenagers in his
attempts to summon a powerful, ancient demon.  

All Garrett's beliefs about the nature of reality will be tested as
he is forced to team up with a woman he is fiercely attracted to but
cannot trust, in a race to uncover a psychotic killer before he strikes

ISBN: 9780316035422
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - January 2009

Gerald Dunwoody is a wizard. Just not a
particularly good one. He's blown up a factory, lost his job, and
there's a chance that he's not really a Third Grade wizard after all.
So it's off to New Ottosland to be the new Court Wizard for King Lional.

It's a shame that King Lional isn't the vain, self-centered young
man he appeared to be. With a Princess in danger, a talking bird who
can't stay out of trouble, and a kingdom to save, Gerald soon suspects
that he might be out of his depth. And if he can't keep this job, how
will he ever become the wizard he was destined to be...

THE ACCIDENTAL SORCERER is the first novel in the Rogue Agent trilogy, from one of fantasy's newest stars.

ISBN: 9780547258300
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Graphia Books - September 7th, 2009

Katsa has been able to kill a man with her bare hands since she was
eight—she’s a Graceling, one of the rare people in her land born with
an extreme skill. As niece of the king, she should be able to live a
life of privilege, but Graced as she is with killing, she is forced to
work as the king’s thug.      When she first meets Prince Po, Graced
with combat skills, Katsa has no hint of how her life is about to
change. She never expects to become Po’s friend. She never expects to
learn a new truth about her own Grace—or about a terrible secret that
lies hidden far away . . . a secret that could destroy all seven
kingdoms with words alone.

ISBN: 9780061976261
Availability: Special Order
Published: Harper Voyager - May 1st, 2010

Life sucks, then you die. Period.
Unless you're James Stark, a hitman in Hell for eleven years before escaping back up to Hell-on-earth L.A.—looking for revenge, absolution . . . love, maybe.
But Hell's not through with Stark. Heaven's not either.