Smart Summer Reads in Redondo Beach

08/11/2013 3:00 pm
08/11/2013 5:00 pm

Photo from author's website

Ru Freeman

Author photo from a blog interview

Alison Singh Gee

Photo from the author's Facebook page

Diana Gould

Photo by Nate Bressler

John Dunn

Photo from author's website

M. L. Stedman

Photo supplied by author

Jennie Shortridge

Our second Smart Summer Reads program could not offer a more diverse group of authors! We literally have an author for every reading taste and subject. Four of our authors have traveled around the globe, if not just for our event, then at least in subject matter. To balance the mix, we have two California authors, one is from Northern California and one who is local to us. Finally, we thought we would add a little golf to the mix, and it didn’t hurt that John Dunn is cute and charming as well as being a caddie who has traveled the world with his expertise. Attendees will also have the opportunity to find out what new Random House titles they can look forward to in the fall with Sales Rep Wade Lucas, and get an update about our progress building a library for KIPP Empower 3rd and 4th graders. And of course, be prepared for other surprises. It is all a part of the fun.

On Sal Mal Lane (Hardcover)

$26.00
ISBN-13: 9781555976422
Availability: In Stock - Click title for store location.
Published: Graywolf Press, 5/2013

In the tradition of "In the Time of the Butterflies" and "The Kite Runner," a tender, evocative novel about the years leading up to the Sri Lankan civil war. A beloved sister and her overprotective siblings, and a rejected son and his twin sisters contrast sharply with the petty prejudices of the adults charged with their care.


$25.99
ISBN-13: 9780312378783
Availability: In Stock - Click title for store location.
Published: St. Martin's Press, 2/2013

How far would you travel for love? In her sparkling memoir, journalist Alison Singh Gee learns that love, riches, and a place to call home can be found in the most unexpected places. Alison Singh Gee was a glamorous magazine writer with a serious Jimmy Choo habit, a weakness for five-star Balinese resorts, and a reputation for dating highborn British men. Then she met Ajay, a charming and unassuming Indian journalist, and her world turned upside down. Traveling from her shiny, rapid-fire life in Hong Kong to Ajay's native village, Alison learns that not all is as it seems. Turns out that Ajay is a landed prince (of sorts), but his family palace is falling to pieces. Replete with plumbing issues, strange noises, and intimidating relatives, her new love's ramshackle palace, Mokimpur, is a broken-down relic in desperate need of a makeover. And Alison wonders if she can soldier on for the sake of the man who just might be her soul mate. This modern-day fairytale, WHERE THE PEACOCKS SING, takes readers on a cross-cultural journey from the manicured gardens of Beverly Hills, to the bustling streets of Hong Kong and finally to the rural Indian countryside as Alison comes to terms with her complicated new family, leaves the modern world behind, and learns the true meaning of home.


Coldwater (Paperback)

$17.95
ISBN-13: 9780988931244
Availability: In Stock - Click title for store location.
Published: Vireo Bookedia, 1/2013

Brett Tanager is the writer/producer of a hit TV detective show until the mistakes and bad decisions of one dreadful drug-addled night send her life skidding out of control into a downward spiral that takes her job, family, savings and self-respect.
At her lowest ebb she is approached by Julia, her sixteen-year-old former stepdaughter whose best friend Caleigh has disappeared. Seems Julia's classmates, young daughters of Hollywood's elite, were "partying" with high rollers for a thousand bucks a night, and now Caleigh is missing, her parents are lying, and Julia is terrified. But not as terrified as Brett when Caleigh's naked corpse turns up and Julia goes missing.
Brett's attempt to find Julia plunges her into a dark, disturbing journey through moneyed Hollywood and its seamy undersides. Now she must find resources other than drink to overcome her fears, as she is pitted against cunning of a ruthless killer, and a web of deceit in which the darkest secrets may be her own.
"Coldwater" is "femme noir," a fast-paced Hollywood crime novel with a spiritual undertow, a story of destruction and redemption nestled within a first-rate murder mystery.


$25.00
ISBN-13: 9780770437183
Availability: In Stock - Click title for store location.
Published: Crown, 5/2013

"Loopers" is a treasure of a memoir about the uncommon world of the club caddy and the improbable journey it resulted in for one man. It is a perennial account that touches on the animating force of the game itself, reminding us of the reason we continue to tee the ball up, year in and year out.
John Dunn never expected that his summer job as a caddy at the local course in Connecticut might turn into something more. The lifers - as in "caddies for life" - that plied the loops were an ensemble of misfits and degenerates that made the caddy yard look more like an OTB parlor than anything near a country club. But Dunn came of age in those yards and on those courses, and after an eye-opening experience caddying in Aspen during college the magnetism of the game and the lifestyle proved irresistible. One adventure after another kept him coming back summer after summer, until - out of college - he found himself migrating with the seasons, looping at some of the most exquisite and exclusive golf locations in the world; Sherwood, Augusta, Bandon Dunes, Shinnecock, and St. Andrews to name a few. Dunn criss-crossed the country on his own big loop; working inside the privet hedges while camping on the mountains; following the back roads and stumbling across unexpected moments of profound natural beauty; embracing the freedom of what he calls the last vagabond existence in America, all while trying to decide whether to quit the loop and get a real job. Maybe next season...


$16.00
ISBN-13: 9781451681758
Availability: In Stock - Click title for store location.
Published: Scribner, 4/2013

The debut of a stunning new voice in fiction-- a novel both heartbreaking and transcendent

After four harrowing years on the Western Front, Tom Sherbourne returns to Australia and takes a job as the lighthouse keeper on Janus Rock, nearly half a day's journey from the coast. To this isolated island, where the supply boat comes once a season and shore leaves are granted every other year at best, Tom brings a young, bold, and loving wife, Isabel. Years later, after two miscarriages and one stillbirth, the grieving Isabel hears a baby's cries on the wind. A boat has washed up onshore carrying a dead man and a living baby.

 

Tom, whose records as a lighthouse keeper are meticulous and whose moral principles have withstood a horrific war, wants to report the man and infant immediately. But Isabel has taken the tiny baby to her breast. Against Tom's judgment, they claim her as their own and name her Lucy. When she is two, Tom and Isabel return to the mainland and are reminded that there are other people in the world. Their choice has devastated one of them.

 

M. L. Stedman's mesmerizing, beautifully written novel seduces us into accommodating Isabel's decision to keep this "gift from God." And we are swept into a story about extraordinarily compelling characters seeking to find their North Star in a world where there is no right answer, where justice for one person is another's tragic loss.

 

"The Light Between Oceans "is exquisite and unforgettable, a deeply moving novel.


Love Water Memory (Hardcover)

$26.00
ISBN-13: 9781451684834
Availability: In Stock - Click title for store location.
Published: Gallery Books, 4/2013
A bittersweet masterpiece filled with longing and hope, Jennie Shortridge's emotional novel explores the raw, tender complexities of relationships and personal identity.
Who is Lucie Walker? Even Lucie herself can't answer that question after she comes to, confused and up to her knees in the chilly San Francisco Bay. Back home in Seattle, she adjusts to life with amnesia, growing unsettled by the clues she finds to the selfish, carefully guarded person she used to be. Will she ever fall in love with her handsome, kindhearted fiance, Grady? Can he devote himself to the vulnerable, easygoing Lucie 2.0, who is so unlike her controlling former self? When Lucie learns that Grady has been hiding some very painful secrets that could change the course of their relationship, she musters the courage to search for the shocking, long-repressed childhood memories that will finally set her free.

Location: 
Street:
2810 Artesia Boulevard
City:
Redondo Beach
,
Province:
California
Postal Code:
90278
Country:
United States