Mysterious Galaxy is an independent genre bookstore that is passionate about creating and maintaining a community of readers, authors, and booksellers.

Welcome!

Welcome to Mysterious Galaxy -- books of Martians, Murder, Magic and Mayhem (with occasional Masks, Matchmaking, and Munchkins). We are physically a specialty genre store in Southern California with a focus on SF, Fantasy, Mystery, Suspense, and Horror. Here on the web we offer a whole world of book choices, some physically on our shelves, some immediately available for your ebook reader, and many more available for special order!

Syndicate content

Being a part of your literary community means offering more than just great books. Mysterious Galaxy is committed to regular in-store events with authors, book discussion groups, and other special events and celebrations.

Tue, 01/27/2015 - 10:00am

A selection of books that go on sale this week, most on Tuesday January 27th.           Check with staff if you have questions.  You can also purchase many of the below in eBook format. Just click the title to see if an eBook is available for that title. (Thanks to Kobo, most ebooks are now available for pre-sale.)            Happy Reading!            Signed titles may arrive later in the month. Contact the staff to reserve a copy. 

Tue, 01/27/2015 - 7:30pm

You’re invited to Mysterious Galaxy’s party for Southern CA native, San Diego author, and former Changing Hands bookseller Greg Van Eekhout, on the publication date for Pacific Fire, the sequel to California Bones, which introduced readers to the darkly fantastic Kingdom of Southern California and Daniel Blackland and golem Sam. (See Patrick’s review here.) And check out Greg’s short electronic story, “As Far As You Can Go,” which previously appeared in Gardner Dozois’ Year’s Best Science Fiction 24th Annual Collection. Greg will discuss writing, snacks, gardening, dogs, and osteomancy...

Wed, 01/28/2015 - 7:00pm

The January 28 discussion focuses on Hannu Rajaniemi's The Quantum Thief.     The San Diego Book Discussion Group is led by Fearless Leader Christine. Participation is open to all readers; readers need not have completed a particular book to attend – it’s the perfect opportunity for readers to branch out and find new favorites!                   Attendees receive 20% off of the current book club selection! 

Tue, 02/03/2015 - 10:00am

A selection of books that go on sale this week, most on Tuesday February 3rd.         Check with staff if you have questions.  You can also purchase many of the below in eBook format. Just click the title to see if an eBook is available for that title. (Thanks to Kobo, most ebooks are now available for pre-sale.)          Happy Reading!          Signed titles may arrive later in the month. Contact the staff to reserve a copy. 

Thu, 02/05/2015 - 7:30pm

 Australian thriller and young adult author Matthew Reilly has written more than a dozen novels, multiple titles of which have been best-selling novels in his home country. The Great Zoo of China is perfect for fans of Preston & Child, James Rollins, and Michael Crichton, providing action on a gigantic scale, as the Chinese government prepares to introduce their extraordinary discovery to the world … with drastic results.          

Our publishers are kind enough to send us Signed First Editions for non-touring authors' works. To see a complete list of Signed First editions, check the menu for signed first editions by genre.

$26.00
ISBN-13: 9781476755670
Availability: Not in stock, but can usually be shipped within the week.
Published: Simon & Schuster, 1/2015
Received in San Diego and on sale January 20th!

See more signed books!


Check out what we (MG staff and friends) have recently read and enjoyed.

Karen Memory (Hardcover)

$25.99
ISBN-13: 9780765375247
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Tor Books, 2/2015

Speculative Fiction

Karen Memery (like memory, but not spelt the same) ain’t your average seamstress. Oh, she sews, sure, (and oh what a sewing machine it is!) but most of her nightly work involves men and is more horizontal-like. When her normal life gets set all asunder by nefarious happenstance, she bucks tradition and takes life by the reins … and no bastard and his mind control machine, nor no murdering psychopath is gonna stop her from protecting hers. Life in Rapid City ain’t easy for a woman, especially one friends with a pants-wearing female liberator, a black marshal and his Indian (Comanche) posse man, and an Indian (from India) girlfriend.

 

Karen Memory (the novel) is quite a fun ride. A sort of Deadwood meets Jack the Ripper in a steam-powered gold rush old west era version of the Parasol Protectorate. And Karen Memery herself is a little piece of colorful awesomeness. – Patrick  


See more new books!