Mysterious Galaxy is an independent genre bookstore that is passionate about creating and maintaining a community of readers, authors, and booksellers.

Welcome!

Welcome to Mysterious Galaxy -- books of Martians, Murder, Magic and Mayhem (with occasional Masks, Matchmaking, and Munchkins). We are physically a specialty genre store in Southern California with a focus on SF, Fantasy, Mystery, Suspense, and Horror. Here on the web we offer a whole world of book choices, some physically on our shelves, some immediately available for your ebook reader, and many more available for special order!

Syndicate content

Being a part of your literary community means offering more than just great books. Mysterious Galaxy is committed to regular in-store events with authors, book discussion groups, and other special events and celebrations.

Tue, 02/03/2015 - 10:00am

A selection of books that go on sale this week, most on Tuesday February 3rd.         Check with staff if you have questions.  You can also purchase many of the below in eBook format. Just click the title to see if an eBook is available for that title. (Thanks to Kobo, most ebooks are now available for pre-sale.)          Happy Reading!          Signed titles may arrive later in the month. Contact the staff to reserve a copy. 

Thu, 02/05/2015 - 7:30pm

 Australian thriller and young adult author Matthew Reilly has written more than a dozen novels, multiple titles of which have been best-selling novels in his home country. The Great Zoo of China is perfect for fans of Preston & Child, James Rollins, and Michael Crichton, providing action on a gigantic scale, as the Chinese government prepares to introduce their extraordinary discovery to the world … with drastic results.          

Sat, 02/07/2015 - 12:00pm

Once again, we bring you the local talent of more than a dozen authors who are enthused to share their works with us. We will mingle for a bit, then hear a little about each author’s work, and have some light refreshments to top off the afternoon. There will be a variety of choices ranging from young adult to graphic novels and mystery to fantasy. These fun gatherings are a great opportunity to meet new people and have a chance to support our local authors. You just might be the first to support a future best-selling author of our time! Participants at press time include: Better Hero Army, Sandra Levy Ceren, Susan Chan, Matt Coyle, Tameri...

Tue, 02/10/2015 - 10:00am

A selection of books that go on sale this week, most on Tuesday February 10th.         Check with staff if you have questions.  You can also purchase many of the below in eBook format. Just click the title to see if an eBook is available for that title. (Thanks to Kobo, most ebooks are now available for pre-sale.)          Happy Reading!          Signed titles may arrive later in the month. Contact the staff to reserve a copy. 

Wed, 02/11/2015 - 7:30pm

  In Shadow on the Crown, Patricia Bracewell introduced readers to Emma of Normandy, who was a queen in England and a power behind the throne for nearly four decades. In The Price of Blood, Bracewell returns to 1006 when England’s beleaguered King Æthelred, still haunted by his brother’s ghost, governs with an iron fist and a royal policy that embraces murder. As tensions escalate and enmities solidify, Emma forges alliances to protect her young son from ambitious men — even from the man she loves. In the north there is treachery brewing, and when Viking armies ravage England,...

Our publishers are kind enough to send us Signed First Editions for non-touring authors' works. To see a complete list of Signed First editions, check the menu for signed first editions by genre.

$26.00
ISBN-13: 9781476755670
Availability: Not in stock, but can usually be shipped within the week.
Published: Simon & Schuster, 1/2015
Received in San Diego and on sale January 20th!

See more signed books!


Check out what we (MG staff and friends) have recently read and enjoyed.

Karen Memory (Hardcover)

$25.99
ISBN-13: 9780765375247
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Tor Books, 2/2015

Speculative Fiction

Karen Memery (like memory, but not spelt the same) ain’t your average seamstress. Oh, she sews, sure, (and oh what a sewing machine it is!) but most of her nightly work involves men and is more horizontal-like. When her normal life gets set all asunder by nefarious happenstance, she bucks tradition and takes life by the reins … and no bastard and his mind control machine, nor no murdering psychopath is gonna stop her from protecting hers. Life in Rapid City ain’t easy for a woman, especially one friends with a pants-wearing female liberator, a black marshal and his Indian (Comanche) posse man, and an Indian (from India) girlfriend.

 

Karen Memory (the novel) is quite a fun ride. A sort of Deadwood meets Jack the Ripper in a steam-powered gold rush old west era version of the Parasol Protectorate. And Karen Memery herself is a little piece of colorful awesomeness. – Patrick  


See more new books!